
dickiegera
Full Members-
Posts
561 -
Joined
-
Last visited
Content Type
Profiles
Forums
Events
Everything posted by dickiegera
-
Is muti 2 ♦ bid legal ACBL club games?
-
Playing Bergen raises Are they on after interference? 1. After Overcall 2. After Double We have played on after a double however we have no agreement over an overcall. Thank you
-
If you play A and then small to Q North plays 9 and South plays 7&J. Do play Q or duck? No bidding by N/S West opened 1NT and stayman got to a 4 HEART contract [hv=pc=n&s=shdc&w=shq653dc&n=shdc&e=sha842dc]399|300|Hearts are Trump[/hv]
-
I believe that in ACBL it is illegal to open 1NT with 9 Pts. This is for pairs that play a 10-12 pt NT or maybe 10-13 NT. Am I correct? Illegal as opposed to being a psych. I believe that playing strong 15-17 NT it would be a psych. If so what are the ramifications of bidding a 9 pt NT? Thank you
-
[hv=pc=n&w=sj92hk6dak842ca74&e=sat53haqjdjt9753c&d=e&v=0&b=14&a=1dp]266|200[/hv] West now bids 1♦. Being told it is an insufficient bid he looks puzzled and it is pointed out that his partner opened 1♦. He now says he meant to bid 2♦. I was East and we play inverted minors so I alerted explaining bid shows 4+ diamonds and 10+ pts and denies a 4 card Major. My question is " May West bid 2♦ being that it does not have the same meaning as an opening 1♦bid?" Also if I had opened 1♥,1♠ or 1NT, 2♦ would have different meanings. Would a correction of 1♦ to 2♦ be allowed? Thank you
-
[hv=pc=n&w=skqt84hkj8752dk2c&e=sjhaqt963da64c763&d=e&v=0&b=14&a=1hp4cp4dp5h]266|200[/hv] Partner and I differ on what 5♥ bid should mean How good is your heart suit implying a void in Clubs OR Do you have a control in Spades? Either way we get to 6♥ Thank you
-
You are in a 6♦ contract and you need to play the diamond suit for no losers. You hold AKJxxx dummy with entries hols 10xx. Do you #! finease #2 play for drop #3 play honor first and return to dummy before big decision? WHY?[hv=pc=n&s=shk2dakj953ckq954&n=sq9865haq94dt82cj&d=w&v=e&b=16&a=ppp2cp2hp3dp3sp4cp4hp5dp6dppp]266|200|WE play controls so 2Hearts shows 1 Ace or 2 Kings. 2 Spade bid and 3 Heart bids are natural[/hv]
-
You know, for those devices holding the cards for a player, is there a protocol, such that no space in between the cards is allowed? It could be so easy among partners to read distribution and the likes? I asked our director and there is no protocol that she knows of. Thank you
-
On club lead will be down 4. I will overruff a 2nd club and cash my 2 good spades.
-
With 6 cards to play Hearts are Trump Declarer held None,3,AQxx,6 I held Q9,9,xx,x Declarer claimed saying he has to give us a club trick [my partner held the Ace of clubs] However I held the high Trump so he had to give us another trick. Also after calling directer I stated if declarer leads a trump ♥ before cashing good diamonds that I would be able to cash 2 Spades and he would be down more [four] Director said it would be not be logical for declare to play the cards that way. Is that correct?
-
[hv=pc=n&n=s9865hak3da87cqt5&d=e&v=0&b=14&a=2hpp]133|200[/hv] What is your bid?
-
South was just quick to pass and North was not aware of South pass. Maybe 3 seconds or so time difference. [West took time to make sure who was the dealer]. I East did not not notice any delay on North's part. I was aware that North was the dealer and knew that I was going to pass no matter what North did. Don't recall what South bid after I passed , however we got to 4♥ EW making 4.
-
Dealer is North South opens with a pass and before West can draw attention [did start to say something] North bids 1♦ and East [ME] passes. I did not see South pass and knew North was dealer and was waiting for his bid. I knew that my bid was going to be Pass no matter what North did. Director was called and ruled that my pass was an acceptance of North's bid and we should just continue as if South had never bid. WAS THIS CORRECT? WE ended up in 4♥ making 4. I believe the pass out of turn had any effect on the outcome. Thank you
-
We play Weak Jump Shifts in Comp 1♣ 1♦ 2♥ and I believe this needs no alert. We play Weak Jump Shifts not in Comp 1♣ Pass 2♥ and we alert this We play Jump Overcalls Weak if partner has yet to bid 1♦ 2♥ no alert My question is what if partner has passed in the bidding. P 1♦ 3♥[or 2♥] I would like to play this as undefined. I am bidding what I believe I can make, or what might make it helpful to our side, anywhere from 8 - 13pts. DOES NEED AN ALERT or can partner if asked explain as undefined 8-13pts?
-
Declarer is in a 5 diamond contract. I am on lead and take the first 3 tricks [Ace,King Hearts & Ace of Spades] While pulling trump I revoke on 3rd trump. Later I trump a club having only 1 club. Dummy immediately points it out and after 6 or so seconds calls the director. The way I understand the rules is that if dummy calls attention to an irregularity during play Declarer will be advised that should he gain on the board , a procedural will at least offset the gain will be assessed against his side. Does this mean that declarer is down 2? Or just down 1 Or making 5 diamonds? No other tricks for defense are possible after 1st 3 tricks. Thank you
-
May declarer ask dummy during the play of the hand [7 or 8 tricks] "how many tricks have I won" And is dummy allowed to answer? Thank you
-
Spades or Hearts?
dickiegera replied to dickiegera's topic in Intermediate and Advanced Bridge Discussion
exactly what happened -
Spades or Hearts?
dickiegera replied to dickiegera's topic in Intermediate and Advanced Bridge Discussion
Spades were 4-1 however it is possible to pull trump and then set up clubs while not losing control of the hands -
[hv=pc=n&w=saqt52ht7643d7cqt&e=skj6ha52da54ckj73&d=n&v=0&b=1&a=2d2n3d]266|200[/hv] Hearts split 4-1 wirh South holding KJ98. With repeated Diamond leads South gets 3 Trump tricks Spades plays Ok losing only a club and 2 Hearts West bid 4 diamonds which East understood to be a Texas transfer to Hearts. Is there anyway to get to 4 Spades?
-
north : x...Q10x...Axx...J98xxx south : J98x...Axxx...KQxx...x
-
-
[hv=pc=n&w=st742h75djt8762cq&e=sakq5hkjt4dcakt74]266|100[/hv] East is dealer Do you open 2♣ or 1♣? If you open 2♣ how should bidding continue? If you open 1♣ South will double & how should bidding continue? N/S is 1-4 in spades and 6-1 in clubs 4 spades will make
-
[hv=pc=n&w=s943hj3d43cak9863&d=e&v=0&b=14&a=1dd]133|200[/hv] What do you bid here. Would 2♣ be forcing? If your clubs were AKQ986 what would your bid be? Thank you
-
[hv=pc=n&e=sa5ha74dqjt85c643&d=w&v=0&b=8&a=1c1s2d2s3dp]133|200[/hv] I was East and I did not wish to bid 3NT with just Ax so I bid 3♠ intending that to be asking West to bid 3NT if she had a Spade stopper. Partner believed that I was showing a Spade stopper and was asking if she had Hearts stopped Who is correct here? Thank you