-
Posts
2,553 -
Joined
-
Last visited
-
Days Won
5
Content Type
Profiles
Forums
Events
Everything posted by mr1303
-
[hv=pc=n&w=saj92ha4d87432ck4&e=sqt875h752dqjca53&d=s&v=e&b=3&a=2dp2h2sp3sppp]266|200[/hv] 2D was a multi, and 2H was pass/correct. 3S made 9 tricks, for + 140. The West hand had asked some questions over the 2D bid and there was an agreed break in tempo. Director ruled that 2S was inadmissable and adjusted to 2H N/S, making for +110. EW appealed, saying that if 2H was passed back to West, he would double and they'd get to a spade contract that way. What say you?
-
Sorry, 3C was a Bergen style raise. My apologies for not including that in the OP, now amended.
-
[hv=pc=n&s=skqhtdaj9654cakjt&d=e&v=e&b=6&a=1hd3cp3h]133|200[/hv] 3C was a Bergen style raise, showing 6-9 and 4 card support. 3 questions: 1) Do you agree with the first double? 2) What do you say now? 3) If you bid 2D first time round, the auction would proceed (1H) 2D (3H) P (P) ? Do you double this time round?
-
It would be nice if one player had the option to be able to see the EW cards when controlling opponents bidding - particularly when dealing with competitive auctions.
-
Apparently I explained partner's 2D as a transfer to hearts. That sounds fairly blatant to me.
-
I double. I think I pass 2H and correct 2D to 2S.
-
It is possible to rule result stands, but to give NS a procedural penalty for blatant disregard of the UI laws?
-
2C. If partner questions my choice of bid I shall explain that I didn't see the opening.
-
Out of the choices given, I call 3D. I would prefer to have 3S as an option.
-
South describes himself as a militant atheist :-)
-
Apparently it's a google chrome thing that covers it up. I found the small x that I can press now to get rid of it.
-
I think 4D looks a good call no matter what it shows. If partner passes it, I go to e-bridge-partners.com If partner bid 3C slowly, I don't really see what it suggests.
-
I couldn't move forward from one page to another. I'm using Google Chrome if it helps.
-
Opposite a learning beginner pass is automatic. Even if the slam makes partner is playing it, and might well go off. Better to make a plus score.
-
[hv=pc=n&s=st62hqj2dkqcaq832&w=sakq983htdaj64ck9&n=s7h9854d982ct7654&e=sj54hak763dt753cj&d=n&v=n&b=5&a=pp1cd1s2h2sp3c3hp4hppp]399|300[/hv] I was North. Director ruled green psyche, no adjustment (EBU land). My comment was more about the opponents attitude. They had been playing for many years, but proceeded to lecture me as to how unethical it was to psyche on a club night. It is attitudes like this that make me dislike playing club bridge.
-
4th seat, strong hearts
mr1303 replied to billw55's topic in Intermediate and Advanced Bridge Discussion
2C is revolting. 4H is revolting. 1H is automatic. (I could JUST about live with 2H strong and forcing). -
[hv=pc=n&s=skq64hq63dk64ckj3&w=saj92hkt752djca84&n=st75ha4da7532c752&e=s83hj98dqt98cqt96&d=s&v=0&b=11&a=1n2d(Not%20alerted)ppp]399|300[/hv] 1NT was 15-17 (ahem), 2D was not alerted but was meant to be spades and another suit. The convention card says Asptro. Neither East nor West said anything about the misunderstanding. At trick 6, North calls the director and says that there has been misinformation. Director comes over and after making some enquiries, states that 2D should have been explained and that he should be called back at the end of the hand if further rectification is required. Table result was 2D - 3, NS +150 (which was 100% of the matchpoints for NS). Director comes back and South says that he is happy with the table result. West calls the director back and says he wishes to appeal the ruling, stating that he doesn't see why he should have to announce to the table that he doesn't have any diamonds and that NS have behaved unethically by stating that there has been misinformation mid hand. South (the more experienced member of the partnership) tells West that it was obvious to anyone who has been playing the game for more than 5 minutes that he didn't have diamonds. Director goes off to get an appeals form, during which time West carries on about the unethical statement. South tells West that if he wasn't happy with the director's ruling he has the right to take it to appeals committee if he wanted to. If he wasn't going to do that, he should shut up. How do you sort this one out?
-
Assume the following auction: 2S (P) X (P) Played with screens, South (playing with screens for the first time) thought erroneously that his RHO had opened 2S and so decided to make a take-out double. West, with a bad hand who had had a few too many beers the night before, passed. Is the double believed to be accepted? If so, if the auction proceeds with 3 passes, does the contract become 2S X?
-
So this can be a rabbit defence when a diamond switch (from a holding that you would be extremely unlikely to find which just happens to work)?
-
In a 3NT contract, declarer leads a club, LHO discards a diamond, dummy follows and RHO discards a heart. At this point, LHO announces he has a club and plays it, winning the trick. Does the diamond HAVE to be played at this point? Can a diamond be prohibited if declarer so desires?
-
[hv=pc=n&n=skt3hakq652d72c63&d=e&v=n&b=2&a=pp1d2hd3h4d]133|200[/hv] 2H by your agreements is an intermediate jump overcall at these colours. Before making the negative double, East asks and is told that the jump overcall is weak. The director ruled that 4H was suggested by the UI and as a result adjusted to 4D making. I was asked to stay behind on the possibility of an appeal. Assuming no new evidence is brought other than those suggested by the facts given, what would you do as the AC?
-
[hv=pc=n&s=sq92hakq965da87c6&n=s63hj3dkq953cj832&d=s&v=b&b=7&a=1hp1n2c3hp4hppdppp]266|200[/hv] You get the K of spades lead on your left (count), with RHO showing what appears to be an odd number. LHO follows with a club switch. RHO plays two top club honours, LHO playing high low. You safely ruff and play the 6 of hearts, LHO following with the 2. LHO is a solid player, RHO is a known "operator". You are known to both the opponents who respect your bidding and play. What'll it be? Are trumps 5-0 offside?
-
Well RHO did have JTx and when I finessed the 8, I was off. Indeed after a third diamond back I was 2 off :-(
-
Begging Your Indulgence...
mr1303 replied to daveharty's topic in Intermediate and Advanced Bridge Discussion
3S looks about right at either form. Been down before... -
[hv=pc=n&s=skq972hk643d8cj62&n=sa83hj52dk63cakq4&d=s&v=0&b=11&a=2hp2np3sp4sppp]266|200[/hv] 2H was Ekren (weak with both majors) and 3S showed 5-4 shape with a non-minimum. You get the Q of diamonds lead, which holds and West follows up with Jack. You ruff and cash the K of spades (agree?) East plays the Jack. How do you continue?
