Jump to content

arepo24

Full Members
  • Posts

    108
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Everything posted by arepo24

  1. Maybe I am reading this incorrectly, but I have no problem at all getting 4 players into a table even before they arrive. I do this every night. Let's say we agree on an 8 pm game. I will go in at 7:50 and do the following: 1. I go to "Relaxed Table" 2. I click "Start New Table" 3. I put the user names of all the players in North/South/East/West 4. I click OK. I then wait for the players to show up to click on their invitation and off we go! Easy peasy. (Maybe the difference is being in the Relaxed Room which is kinder to players.)
  2. Ahh! Thank you for that answer. I was worried that if I set up 4 savvy bridge players who are just not familiar with the actual set up, that I would not be able to leave them to their game and get one of my own at another table. My thanks to you. Bid 7 NO TRUMP!!!!!!!!
  3. I understand that perfectly. But once I leave those 4 people to play their game, can I then find a table of my own to play bridge?
  4. Sorry, I missed what you were trying to say. I simply need to know if, once all are in their seats, I can leave that table and go to a different table, or MUST I remain there as a kibitzer?
  5. Must I remain at that table as a kibitzer when I would like to play at another table with other players?
  6. What can be done to save a table when the host is either unable or refuses to bid? Can the table direct another player to become the Host?
  7. Thank you for your response. Particularly because the word "with" should have been "without"
  8. Is it possible for me to set up a table of four players in the relaxed room with playing bridge in the room myself?
  9. Is there anything that can be done in this case or is the table dead?
  10. I am in complete agreement with you. My partner and I don't like transfers in minors because NT is preferable and the minor suit, if a good one, will work well in NT. I believe that transfers are on after interference. It is a partnership agreement and permitted. That stolen bid sure works well for us.
  11. Would it be different if you are playing in the Main Bridge Club with your four buddies? Is skype or 4-way phoning acceptable there too? I should think it also would be. The only time cheating could rear its ugly head would be if they were not all friends in agreement to using the phones.
  12. When four friends choose to play in the relaxed room is it perfectly permissible for them to casually have a 4-way phone conversation while they are playing the hands? Are there any rules to the contrary?
  13. So I guess the simple answer is, yes, it can be okay to include your partner's bid when making a penalty double. Thanks all.
  14. I corrected the above error of mine.
  15. Aha!! You are so correct!! Mea Culpa. (The brain cells are failing me)
  16. I think you misunderstood what I wrote. Only after the dummy player picked up the 6 of C and put it down did I THEN say, "excuse me but didn't you call for the K of C?" Where did I go wrong in asking that? I even offered to have her change it back and she refused.
  17. Playing in a bridge tournament, the dealer had a 6 and a K of clubs in dummy. Dealer calls for the K, but her partner picks up the 6 instead. So I ask the dealer,"didn't you say K?" She says, "oh yes I did but never mind, forget it, just leave it as it is." To which I replied, "well you can take it back" and she said, "no, that's okay. Leave it." Having no clubs, I place down a small heart. Dealer plays an 8 of clubs and my partner plays a 9 of clubs and takes the trick. As my partner starts to play the next card the dealer says, "oh! wait a minute, I thought the 9 was out. Okay, play the King on the board." At this point the director was called. After explaining the situation, the director asks, "what was the first card asked for in dummy?" We all answered the K of Clubs. He said, "then that is the card in play -- the first card called for." We were astounded because my partner and I would have won if the call had not been changed to the K. I have asked other directors and some agree with that answer and others say absolutely not. So what's the definitive answer?
  18. Someone once told me you never double for penalty on your partner's hand. If you think you can set them with your own hand, double. Here is an example: Partner opens with a heart. At this point I assume she has at least 12 points. Anyway, the ops get to 4S quickly and I have a good hand and 2 A, so along with my partner's opening I bid believe we can set them so I double. After it is all over and the ops made their bid, I view my partner's hand. She had 9 points, 6 hearts and 5 diamonds and 1 each in the dark suits. She was annoyed that I doubled by including her hand in the double, which I assumed she had opened with 12 or 13. Did I do wrong?
  19. My partner doesn't always open with 12 or 13 so how can I speculate and include them in to my penalty double? Shouldn't I only double depending on my own hand?
  20. But when you double the opponents for penalty are you doing so strictly on your own hand or are you including what you believe might also be in your partner's hand? That is my question.
  21. Can you make a penalty double when the bidding has completed on what you believe your partner has in his/her hand?
  22. I bid 1S and my partner bid 2NT. I jumped to 4S and became the declarer. I asked my partner (after all bidding was over) "was that a Jacoby 2NT bid?" To which she replied in an angry voice, "You CANNOT ask that question!" Yet in all the sanctioned tournaments I play during the week it seems a common thing to do. Was I really wrong to ask that question?
  23. If my partner plays an A in a suit that has not been played and I have the Q6 of that suit, do I play the Q to show a doubleton or do I play the 6?
  24. Dummy held AQ8 of hearts. My partner played a small H from her hand. Op followed with small heart. Partner instructed dummy (me) by saying "Play!" So dummy started for the 8 when the declarer immediately said, "no, wait! Play the ace!" While she was saying that the op quickly slapped down her H9 and took the trick. The dummy(me)actually had the 8 in hand but never actually placed it down on the table before the op played her 9. Everything thing was done very quickly. What is the ruling and should the defender have called the Director?
×
×
  • Create New...