Jump to content

gordontd

Advanced Members
  • Posts

    4,470
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Days Won

    74

Everything posted by gordontd

  1. The proper form for a pass seems to me to have been specified in exactly the same (minimal) manner as that for a double or a redouble in L18A. L20A and L74C1 also seem to be relevant. To answer your initial question, I think I would say "maybe, it depends on the circumstances". It's not uncommon to accept violations of proper form when spoken bidding is used: "No bid" "No" "Four hartleberries" "Three of the house" I would put the onus on the caller to ensure that it's not misunderstood and doesn't pass UI. Otherwise, sanctions may be appropriate. Edit: Having looked further, it seems you were referring to L19 and there you are correct. However, I wonder if that might have been deliberate to allow Brits to say "No bid" rather than "Pass", as the Orange Book permits (without reference to the Laws) in 7C2: "a player can use “pass” or “no bid” but should not change from one to the other during a session".
  2. I saw a player make an exclusion call with ♠Kxxxx ♥AKxxxx ♦xx ♣-- After 1♥ - 1♠ - but he did it by rebidding 5♦, and thereby got the club lead he wanted.
  3. I think that playing this method if you rebid 4♥ after, say 3♠, it is likely to be interpreted as a cue-bid in support of spades.
  4. I play them as constructive but not forcing. To force, one has first to cue-bid. At the one-level and the three-level I'd play them as forcing. A jump in a new suit would be a fit-bid.
  5. Shouldn't that read: "to ensure we don't score our queen, though perhaps we'll get a ruff instead"?
  6. I'd like to ask NS a bit more about their methods, but it does occur to me that if North has chosen to make a natural forcing 3♦ bid, rather than a 2NT enquiry, he isn't interested in South's suit and only wants to know whether or not South has diamond support.
  7. Take a class can be used in both senses in English, though I think it's more often used by students in USA than in UK.
  8. In the UK CRO is a system of two-suited overcalls where the cue-bid shows the same Colour, 2NT shows the same Rank, and 3C shows the Other two. So, over a minor-suit opening 2NT shows the majors; over a major-suit opening 2NT shows the minors.
  9. I remember playing CRO about twelve years ago, and forgot that the 2NT overcall doesn't show the lower unbid suits - in the case in point when they had opened 1♦ it showed the majors. I bid it holding hearts and clubs, and partner bid a swift 4♠. The opponents bid on to 6♦+1 for a cold bottom - everyone else was making 7NT. Even if they had doubled us in 4♠ they would have got a zero. Their requests to the director got them nowhere, because we had two identically completed convention cards indicating that they had been correctly informed and my partner had clearly not fielded it. Ironically the loudest opposing player was the person with the most extensive record in the EBU of psyching - and he didn't help his cause by starting with "Director, I don't like the way you approach the table"!
  10. What makes you think they were playing in Germany?
  11. How did East come to be a director?
  12. So, you aren't strong enough to reverse, but you're strong enough to force to the three-level when partner hasn't shown anything extra?
  13. They might lead a trump picking up their partner's doubleton??? :lol:
  14. The regulation says "second best suit break" not second most common division. How do you calculate it as being 50% that you can make 6♣?
  15. Maybe it happened some time ago? The regulations changed a couple of years ago.
  16. Even if I think I've shown more than I have, I don't pull partner's penalty doubles in this sort of situation. I just prepare to defend carefully, and apologise if it makes. A far easier apology to offer than if I pull and partner has the contract off in his own hand. (I should say that this ruling involved the team that I was in, but not at my table, and I didn't hear about it until the next day).
  17. Nonsense deleted. Maybe it's better if I don't muse aloud on a keyboard when in a post-migraine haze. B)
  18. Appointing a substitute player was, in the 1997 laws, one of the things that the director could do if correctly informed about the presence of UI. It's not in the 2007 laws, but the director can adjust positions at the table if that helps, and can allow play to continue and decide later whether an adjustment is called for.
  19. Yes - I had to check four times to be sure I hadn't misread it. Did you like your short hearts, or did you think you were too strong for 1NT? :P
×
×
  • Create New...