-
Posts
3,726 -
Joined
-
Last visited
Content Type
Profiles
Forums
Events
Everything posted by skjaeran
-
Since everyone else is advocating 3♦, I'll give my vote to...... 3♦. Seriously, what else can you bid?
-
Basically we'd have the same sequence, except we'd transfer with 1♥, and the raise to 2♠ would guarantee 4-card support and 13-14 (which the hand is worth in support of spades).
-
What does partner promise
skjaeran replied to mtvesuvius's topic in Intermediate and Advanced Bridge Discussion
Agree. -
The right support?
skjaeran replied to mtvesuvius's topic in Intermediate and Advanced Bridge Discussion
That won't look like a signoff? No. 4♥ would be a sign off, 4♠ is a forwardgoing cuebid. I think it's a very good bid, promising a spade honour and a club control and inviting slam. It's easier for partner to evaluate, looking at his spade suit that's got to be a source of tricks in a slam. -
Both sides are equally responsible for calling the TD after an irregularity. To get the correct ruling and protect themselves from doing other mistakes. I know it's been pretty normal for TDs to tell players to take up a "penalty card" lying on a table when (s)he hasn't been called. But that's just ridiculous. When you arrive at a table with a defenders card lying there, you obviously have to rule that it's a penalty card from this moment. So the interesting point is whether the premature lead from penalty card holder's partner will be allowed to stand, become a penalty card or not. And that's just not obvious. Personally I tend to rule on a case_to_case basis here. Normally ruling in favour of the less experienced side. And have a real problem when both sides are equally experienced and when I don't know (I "always" know in Norway, and i very seldom direct abroad).
-
I don't thing a spade lead is right when partner couldn't double. So I'll lead a red suit. Normally a heart, but with my previous partner a diamond is automatic! :)
-
The right support?
skjaeran replied to mtvesuvius's topic in Intermediate and Advanced Bridge Discussion
No hurry. I'm supporting hearts now, want to see if partner can cuebid a minor. Over the expected 3♠ I bid 3NT. -
Diamonds and lots of them
skjaeran replied to jillybean's topic in Intermediate and Advanced Bridge Discussion
I like USP (Useful Space Principle), and thus prefer 2♣ transfer. Not playing that, I'd go with 2♦, constructive, but NF. 3/4♦ is fitted, and I won't commit to 5♦ right here. -
Standard here is void. But some play it as natural. Actually, I've got a good story here. The swedish laws guru, Hallén once played a tournament with a new partner. And of course this auction came up. Without any agreement. This was a long time ago, so natural was pretty normal. Hallén looked at his own hand to find a clue to what partner held. Looking at a void, he thought it was odds on that his partner had hearts, and passed. Becoming dummy in the 0-0 fit!
-
4♠ with my regular and recent partners, expecting to make. Unless I find partner with ♣xxx.
-
After Michael's...
skjaeran replied to Hanoi5's topic in General Bridge Discussion (not BBO-specific)
Double. You need pretty much from partner to make 5♥, suits don't rate to break nicely. ♦KQ are a total waste offencively. -
1♠ - 3♦ (Bergen) 3♥ - 4♥ (natural, honor cue) 4NT - 5♣ 5♦ - 6♠ 7♠
-
Me too.
-
This hand just has too much potential for 2♥. Write me down for 3♥.
-
Ehh, as a passed hand, I can't hold this hand....
-
Problem after aggr. 4D
skjaeran replied to MFA's topic in General Bridge Discussion (not BBO-specific)
I've never encountered a partner who have long spades after passing, unless he's got a heart side suit. Which opps bidding clearly tells me he hasn't. So to me it's obvious that partner has spades and great diamond support. Pass is no LA to me, and I'm pulling to 6♦. I don't know any high level TDs (myself included) who would disallow 6♦. -
Another Slam Hand
skjaeran replied to rogerclee's topic in General Bridge Discussion (not BBO-specific)
I'm passing now. I accept another try from partner, pass a double and lead my trump. I also pass 5♥. -
It is. But the fact that partner is obliged to pass in the first round of bidding is authorized information. So the out_of_turn-passers partner does legally know that he in practice has to guess the final contract now. (Unless opps bid.)
-
Actually, with my recent partner, we played (1♣) 2♣ as natural. In combination with 2♦ showing a weak hand with either major and 2♥/2♠ showing weak/strong Michaels hands.
-
This is close for me. But I think I'll go with 5NT - pick a slam. If LHO has something like JTxxx KQx Axx xx and partner AKxx JTx QJTx Jx I want to be in 6NT by partner, to avoid the killing heart lead. If partner has AJxx Kx QJxx JTx, I want to be in 6♣. Partner should get this right. But I'm very close to just raising to 4NT.
-
I'm going to bid 4♥ now. I dare not pass.
-
Well, that depends on circumstances... Sometimes you splinter to decide between a small and a grand slam, thus plan to be captain yourself. That's not the case here, so passing 4♠ is obvious, IMO.
-
Playing UDCA, the club ten is more or less automatic at trick one - signal as clearly as possible.
-
very well, let's take this one What would be the purpose of such a futile discussion? We've got absolutely no information about anything prior to the big bang. And we won't have in our lifetime, most probably not in the lifetime of humankind.
-
This is an impossible problem. If you didn't know how to proceed over partners reply to 4NT, you shouldn't have bid 4NT in the first place, but rather found some other bid that might help partner decide.
