Jump to content

vigfus

Full Members
  • Posts

    73
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Everything posted by vigfus

  1. In Iceland If I understand this right. Break in tempo. 4S-1 50% 4S-2 50%
  2. I have serious problems creating this diagram - Can someone help me?
  3. Misinformation, wrong explaination = Yes. Damage... well - I am not sure Pairs E/W wulnerable. Dealer South. South - West - North are advanced+ East is Expert. N/S is a regular parthership. E/W are not. South - West - North - East 2c 2S 3D(1) 4S 5C pass 5D(2) Pass(3) Pass(4) Double Pass Pass 5H(5) Pass Pass(6) Double All pass 11 tricks made. 750 NS 95% score to N/S 10 KQ9432 987654 --- West ---East KJ653 ---AQ982 75 ---86 KJ3 ---AQ2 A105 ---743 74 AJ10 10 KQJ9862 ------------------------------------------------------------------------------ 2C = precision 1) = Transfer to Hearts. Explained as non forcing bid of diamonds. 2) = I have diamonds also. 3) = Partner. your decision. 5spades or double. 4) = Agreed heasitation. 5) = South remembers now about the transfer. But gives no explaination. 6) = North thinks the auction is over and explains that he has Hearts and Diamonds. TD is called at the end of the auction. ------------------------------------------------------------------------------- a) East will always bid 4♠, not matter about the MI. b) In case of (3). Would east pass as forcing with right explainaton ? if having the correct meaning? Not sure, but likely. b2) And if West had known about ♥and ♦, would have doubled the 5♦ bid ? = Yes likely c) In case of (5). Would west have bid 5♠ with correct explaination ? - I do not think so. E/W wanted to play in 5♦ undoubled. 9 tricks. 90% score to E/W Well - My ruling was... no damage. Table Score stands. Perhaps I am totally wrong. When there are so many quiestions with no clear answers, I should have adjusted score to 40/60, or tried to find some weighted score. Greetings from Iceland Vigfus Palsson
  4. Hello Gordon Let's play Bridge. Table score stands. Maybe South miscouted his HCP at first. I give South all my benefits of doubt. I would always bid 3NT here. But I am not sure if I would have Passed the 1H bid. It depends of the parthership agreement or if I trust my partner to keep on bidding if I pass.
  5. PASS is certanly an LA E/W were misinformed, but were not damaged. North was honest to bid 2♠, that gave E/W extra chance to gain on that board.
  6. 1 club opening bid can be 16-17 balanced. Partners hand can easily be that. I will never PASS with my holding.
  7. I completly agree here. MI = Yes. Damage? = NO. So, no adjustment.
  8. Pass is certanly an LA here. I rule the 4♣ bid out. Play 3♦. Made 4 for both sides. Defence error is not serious here.
  9. I would only give East 12 tricks. I would never force East to revoke on the 3rd diamond trick. I would not allow him to try to check if heart queen was coming by ruffing small heart. I would not allow him to "SEE" the heart queen come under the king. His mind is buisy throwing his clubs on winners in dummy.
  10. Hello David I like your idea about cases of over-revoking. The laws are not fair for the second revoker. If fact the first revoker walks away with no damage. The second revoker is punished heavily. My simpathy is all with him.
  11. Never allow this crockodile coup. Law 16D2 and 23 If readers feel that this case is not covered by the laws, then just use common sense. ( which is not so common :rolleyes: )
  12. Nordic Team championship 2013 Screens are in use South is declarer and opens 2 clubs. West Pass and the tray is moved to the N/E side. When it arrives to the N/E side, the bidding is... West has Passed. and North is next to bid. The fact is that South did not put his 2 club bid into the bidding tray. He had placed his 2 clubs bid on the table. North makes an opening bid of 1 spade and East Pass. The tray is moved to the S/W side. Now South wakes up, and informs all the players at the table that he had opened 2 clubs. TD !!!!
  13. There is UI here. What it is, noone exactly knows, but it is no doubt that LHO wanted to do something else than PASS. RHO's hand is not good enough to enter the auction. But having the knowledge of partners unconvinence, makes it much less risk enter the auction. I rule 4♥, undobled, but how many tricks I do not know.
  14. Yes - I am 1 day to late. But HAPPY birthday David, and thank you for all your help you have given me. Greetings from Iceland Vigfús Pálsson
  15. There is a lot of LA's. But PASS is NOT one of them.
  16. The last board of the evening. All players are in a hurry to finish. Also tired. On the second last board, North was declarer in 1♠. He did not put the 1♠ card back into the bidding box. Now the last board starts. West pass. North pass (The 1♠ bid is still on the table) East doubles the 1♠ bid and South redouble. West is the only one awake at the table and calls Tournament Director !!! :D
  17. In Iceland, at club level, penalties for late play is seldom given. In Regional and national, the condition of contest is clear about time limits. In IMP's, TD announces usually when 15 minutes are left of time, but not required to do so. When I enter late table in teams, I tell the playeres that there is VP penalty for late play. That is all. Players usually speed up after having such warning. They know I am watching the time limits.
  18. Sorry all readers. I made a mistake when entering the hand yesterday. E/W hands were incorrect. The hands are now correct
  19. [hv=pc=n&s=sj9hdjt85432cq932&w=s873hj3dk76ck8654&n=st542hkqt97d9caj7&e=sakq6ha86542daqct&d=w&v=0&b=8&a=pp1c3cdp4hppp]399|300[/hv] 1♣ = Precision 3♣ = Diamonds or Majors Double = 5-7. With 6+ West would bid 3SHD with decent 5+ suit pass by N = Clubs East calls me after opening lead of ♣3. North says to South. Pd. This does not promise ♣. (perhaps not exact wording, but close to it - I had not appeared at the table at that time) When I was present, There was no argument that South had explained that North's Pass meant ♣. East's argument is that If he had known that North did not promise clubs, he would have bid PASS to listen to what kind of hand South had. I ruled... I believe that East seriously considered to make a Pass bid. That is sure a LA. South has automatic Pass bid on 3♣, holding Qxxx in pd's suit. Result. 3♣ doubled 7 tricks. 300 EW N/S appealed. Passing on East's hand is impossible bid. Appeals committie's ruling... We feel that 3♣ is impossible result. South gave logical but wrong explaination. East will bid 3♥ if South gives right explaination and east will wait and hear South bid 3♦. There after, the bidding sequence will probably be pass - pass, and East will be in the same situation as before. and they ended in the best contract, and have no Game contract, and therefore they were not damaged. Table result re-installed. 4H -2 Footnote by me. ( it did not appear at the appeal ) Pree emtive bidding agains strong club systems, are ment to be PREE EMTIVE. Nothing wrong with that. But when there is additional misinformation, then the pree emtive side has no simpathy in my opinion.
  20. Pass is by no doubt an LA here. Vulnerable against not. Law 16B I rule 3♠ not doubled. 7 tricks to E/W.
  21. When this case came to us, - the two TD's at the tournament, we saw of course the misunderstanding between E/W. Clearly West took the 2NT bid as natural, and doubled the final contract based on heart values in East's hand. (and of course club ruff values). This is of course one of those cases where partnership does not get bad score based on their own misunderstanding. Where partnership gets bad score because of their own misunderstanding, the TD almost never hears of it. We decided to let table score stand. Let's continue to play bridge.
  22. Here is the Appeal committie ruling... The Committee decided that the difference between West's description of the redouble "A decent hand", and east's reason for the dedouble "prepared to compete further", constituted misinformation. While South was convinced thet he would have passed with the correct information, the committee was not so sure. They also felt that West might bid 2NT over the redouble, being unsure of spade support. Accordingly the committee adjusted the score for both sides to... 25% of 2♠ redoubled West -2 = NS + 600 25% of 3♦ doubled E/W -1 = NS + 100 50% of 3NT South -1 = NS -100 The score in the other room was NS -100, so this turned out to be flat board.
  23. You are absolutly right. Naming the players is a big mistake by me. It will not happen again.
  24. I should not have put this board here on BBO yesterday night, when I was very tired after the tournament. But here comes better description of what happened at the table. This board was life on BBO. Hundreds of spectators were watching. That is why I name the players involved. East's description of the redouble was "decent hand". After the play was over, west's meaning was "prepared to compete further", and a lot of argumet between Zia and E/W. When the opening lead of Jack of diamonds was still faced, and I arrived at the table, Zia stated that he bid 2NT because he did not like playing in 2♠ redoubled, if parther was short there, as the bidding sounded. If he would have passed, it would be likely that partner would have read him with values for defending 2♠. ( Of course did north also have the explaination, no screens ) If he had correct explaination of the redouble, he would have passed 2NT. Waiting to see what happened. After having discussed this hand with the other TD, and another expert, I ruled 2 spades redoubled East, down 2. 600 NS. The other TD was not sure if this was the right ruling, but I reasoned that it would be better that E/W would appeal. The athompshere at the table was very tense after this happening. 1 minute later, Zia called again, complaining about "break in tempo" in very competetive bidding action. But that matter was not serious.
  25. Misinformation is the issue here. When Dummy came down, Zia saw that there must be misinformation on this hand. "Decent hand", is sure a matter of style and personal evaluation, but I am not sure that majority of players value east's hand as "decent". It was informed that the redouble was not SOS. Also that East had a 2NT bid for asking partner to bid his minor suit.
×
×
  • Create New...