jules101
Full Members-
Posts
164 -
Joined
-
Last visited
Content Type
Profiles
Forums
Events
Everything posted by jules101
-
[hv=pc=n&w=sat852hat843dq87c&d=n&v=e&b=9&a=3c3np]133|200[/hv] 3N shows a fair hand with stoppers, could be a good 16+, or maybe a bit more. It's likely to deny length in both majors, otherwise a double may have been fetched out of the bidding box as alternative bid. Would 4♣ suggest? 5-5 in majors? 4-4 in majors? or just general force? Once you've defined 4♣ what do you fancy now? Pass or something else?
-
[hv=pc=n&s=saj862hq87dqt62c2&n=shaj9432dkj8ckj84&d=w&v=e&b=16&a=p1h2s(Weak%20but%20not%20suicidal%20when%20vuln%20opposite%20passed%20pard)p(Asks%20and%20passes)pdppp]266|200[/hv] WJOs are generally 6-9/10ish, but likely to be max when vulnerable opposite a passed partner. Do you sanction reopening X after South's "ask and pass"?
-
[hv=pc=n&s=sth742dkqt982cj76&d=s&v=e&b=3&a=2d(GF%2C%20alerted%20by%20N)p(Asks)2h(Relay)pp]133|200[/hv] Basic systems are pre announced. NS state they play Benjamised Acol, so 2♣ is 8-playing tricks (or some NT strength), and 2♦ is considered GF (usually 9+ PT, and even bigger NT). 1st board (15 secs after pre annoucement) - South opens a weak 2♦ presumably forgetting they are playing Benji. North alerts, West asks (perhaps slightly bemused given their hand). North explains "It's our biggest bid", and West passes. North bids 2♥. This is a relay over 2♦ awaiting developments. It does not necessarily show a bust, but denies a 5-card suit with HHxxx (min). South passes - having been woken up to their OWN misbid by partner's alert and explanation. If you are called to the table now what next? Do you sanction pass by South? Or do you review their methods over weak 2s in the majors? For example if say 2♥ [P] 2♠ is F1, would the same apply here? Over to you....!
-
I had feeling that cue bid in protect seat is GF, or certainly pretty close to it. Not sure this hand qualifies?
-
[hv=pc=n&n=s4ha9752dk8642cak&d=e&v=0&b=14&a=1spp]133|200[/hv] What's your plan? And what do you do?
-
[hv=pc=n&n=shak9dkq7654caj53&d=n&v=n&b=5&a=1d4spp]133|200[/hv] 1) is double from North for take out, or penalties? 2) what do you choose to bid when 4S is returned to you?
-
[hv=pc=n&s=sj873haktdt84ckj3&n=sq42hj8da97caq952]133|200[/hv] Declarer ducked opening ♦ lead and won his ace at trick 3. Trick 4 declarer ran J♥ to his AKT. [i've written this slightly wrong in original post - from memory I thought he had AKJ in hand cos they were start of statement but I've just checked the hand records.] Then declarer started to claim, saying "OK, I have, A♦, AKJ♥, (tabling AK♥) and.... oh I'm not sure - I should play it out". This back step was that he realised East might hold 5 card ♣ suit. This wasn't the case, so the claim when it was eventually made was good! Declarer had nine tricks and was content to concede the others. But that's not really the point........... I'm trying to get to grips with the principle here. Once declarer has tabled a couple of their cards and started to make a claim statement are they allowed to continue to play out the hand? It made no absolutely no difference to this hand, but it may do on some future occasion, so I'd like to know the answer to my question - "when is a claim a claim?"
-
[hv=pc=n&n=sj96hakqt7dakq93c&d=w&v=0&b=8&a=3c]133|200[/hv] Whenever I pick up a hand like this someone always seems to get into the bidding before me! You know your RHO and suspect 3C could be "very unconstructive" and could be 6-card suit. You have no agreements with pardner re non leaping michaels. What bid do you choose?
-
[hv=pc=n&s=sakq94hkjdajt963c&d=n&v=0&b=1&a=pp1d3c3h5c]133|200[/hv] Ugh! What's your rebid?
-
So... ... when declarer is part way through playing a hand she is NOT entitled to ask the defenders to repeat the full auction sequence for her (if there were competing bids)? and likewise.... ... defenders, when part way through defending a hand, may NOT ask declarer or dummy repeat the full auction for their benefit at this stage?
-
Declarer takes a couple of tricks. Then says, "OK, I'll take these" and tables AKJ of a suit... .... and then says "Oh I'm not sure - I should play it out", and picks up the cards he tabled. Does play now cease because declarer has started to state a claim? Or may declarer continue to play out the hand? I was looking at Law 48B, but this make it clear whether facing some - rather than all - of declarer's cards constitutes a claim!
-
May one (declarer or opps) ALSO ask for a review of the bidding DURING the play? If so, which rule? If not, which rule.
-
Dealer opens 4D vulnerable - your bid
jules101 replied to jules101's topic in Intermediate and Advanced Bridge Discussion
Ah well - no consensus it seems....... [hv=pc=n&s=st86hakq73dcakq62&w=sq9h95dakj75432ct&n=sakj32h642d96cj97&e=s754hjt8dqt8c8543&d=w&v=b&b=4&a=4dpp4hppp]399|300[/hv] You make 13 tricks in ♥, ♠, ♣ on any lead. You are faced with fab dummy, but still expecting the ♥ suit to break badly, but all goes a bit too well. If East and North hand were switched tho, then you would be congratulating yourself for perfect bid of 4♥. All but one West elected to open 4♦, and this was a winning action. Only one in MP tourney reached slam after 4♦ was passed round to South. Most settled for 4♥+3, but a few collected +800 for 5♦X-3 after East raised! One West opened 1♦ North found a ♠ overcall, and South drove to 6♠. As Adam said, "preempts - especially those at 4-level - sometimes work....." So another lesson from this hand is that opening 1♦ with West hand isn't a winning action? DISCUSS! -
Dealer opens 4D vulnerable - your bid
jules101 replied to jules101's topic in Intermediate and Advanced Bridge Discussion
Yes - no changes to original post! -
After [1C] X [XX] - what's your choice?
jules101 replied to jules101's topic in Intermediate and Advanced Bridge Discussion
[hv=pc=n&s=saqj42hkt9732d96c&w=skt85hqj8da832cj2&n=s9763h6dq754ck764&e=sha54dkjtcaqt9853&d=n&v=b&b=13&a=p1cdr1s3c4sdppp]399|300[/hv] Here are the full hands and auction for completeness. Not sure what was wrong with Michaels with South hand given difference in suit quality, but hey I'm the beginner and pard is the expert! Thanks for your thoughts on advice on action after the XX. -
[hv=pc=n&s=s6432ha732dacaq83&w=st85hkt9d843cj764&n=sakq7hj85dkqj976c&e=sj9hq64dt52ckt952&d=w&v=0&b=8&a=p1dp1hp1sp3nppp]399|300[/hv] These are the hands. Partner made 13 tricks on a club lead. I wasn't happy about passing 3N, but it looked like pard had values in clubs, and would he have A♦? Maybe 3N is best spot. At teams with regular pard I think I try 4♦ over 3N and if we play in 5♦rather than slam then so be it! I like to think regular pard wouldn't have bid 3N here tho... My guess is that auction would start.... [hv=d=w&v=0&b=8&a=p1dp1hp1sp2c(FTG)p2dp2s(too%20strong%20for%204S%20over%201S)p]133|100[/hv] 2♣ is FTG, and 4th suit then supporting pard shows a hand too strong to just jump to 4♠, so with luck we're off to the races! If as many of you suggest I had jump shifted 2♠ rather than rebidding 1♠ then we'd have been off to the races as well! Many thanks to all for their advice.
-
LAW 45C4{b} "Until his partner has played a card, a player may change an unintended designation if he does so without pause for thought. If an opponent has, in turn, played a card that was legal before the change in designation, that opponent may withdraw the card so played, return it to his hand, and substitute another (see Laws 47D and 16D1)." Could someone explain further? From my reading it looks like: * I can lead a card, say C9, LHO plays a card and I can now change my card to another higher or lower club? or * Declarer plays a card from dummy, I play a card, declarer follows and I change my mind? Is this what 45C4(b) says? If not - what does it mean?
-
[hv=pc=n&n=sjha973dakq653c74&d=e&v=b&b=10&a=1s2h2s3s(Good%20raise%20in%20H)4s5c(What%20is%205C%3F)p]133|200[/hv] You are North. 3S was intended to be "full value raise to 4H" (or maybe more!) What does 5C mean for you? What does 5C show, and what do you bid now?
-
After [1C] X [XX] - what's your choice?
jules101 replied to jules101's topic in Intermediate and Advanced Bridge Discussion
Thanks all. My choice was also 1♠. I thought I'd bid my major, and if pard happened to double again I could always show him my lovely ♦ suit. :rolleyes: My much more experienced pard suggested I should have passed, because bidding showed a 5+ card suit. I have to say I'd not heard that before. On the contrary I've been advised in the past that it is important to show preference if I have any rather than leave pard in the dark. I just wanted to check out whether my action here was flawed. [i suffered from much flawed thinking!] Thanks again for your thoughts and you explanations for your choices. -
Regional qualifier for National Pairs
