Al_U_Card Posted August 11, 2005 Report Share Posted August 11, 2005 [hv=d=w&v=e&s=skjxhxxxdxxxxxxcx]133|100|Scoring: MPBidding1NT-2♦-4♦!-4♥-p-p-DBL-p-p-???[/hv] Basically, 2D shows 4+ Diamonds and a longer major suit. 4D was alerted (Texas Transfer) and 4H was bid for correction to S (unless the alert was incorrect.....) Before the NT bidders final pass, he was informed that the 4H bid showed a long H suit........just another bridge story, I guess. Judgements required thanks. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
inquiry Posted August 11, 2005 Report Share Posted August 11, 2005 Let me see if I understand. Some holding the hand shown overcalled 1NT at not vulnerability (as is often said, not vulnerable doesn't mean invunerable) with 2♦ showing for or more diamonds and either five or more spades or five or more hearts (despite being 3-3 in the majors)? Assuming that is right, the next player bid 4♦, which, in theory would have been TEXAS transfer showing a heart suit? The diamond overcaller now "cue-bid" 4H which the overcaller passed. Ok, confusion and (excuse me), wackness reigned here. I assume if the bidding had been 1NT - 2D - Pass - 4H 4H would be pass/correct showing fit for either major, even a 2H or 3H bid would be the same. The question becomes after the 4♦ transfer to 4H does it make sense that 4H is still pass/correct? There seems to be confusion over this issue. IF you are going to play this stuff, make sure you get past page one with the convention (BTW, page one probably told you when you promised a five card major, it is good to ahve at least four of them). Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Al_U_Card Posted August 12, 2005 Author Report Share Posted August 12, 2005 Sorry for the wackiness. The hand shown was advancer`s. The bid was an attempt to cater to the 4D bid being an error or psyche (either major perhaps) and attempting to show pard that a major suit fit existed for an eventual sac. Can it be interpreted so or should a bid of 4S be made (wise or not) expecting pard`s 5+ major to be spades? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
mcphee Posted August 12, 2005 Report Share Posted August 12, 2005 If you play in S you will encounter a ruff of a D for sure, and it's not likely you will suffer that if D are trumps, although I suppose it is possible. Back to the question which seems to be, would I pass 4H dbled expecting partner to pull to S in case my opp made a trasnfer error. No. I think I would have bid 4S and pull to 5D when that gets doubled as a lead directional call in case the opps bid 5H. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Join the conversation
You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.