Jump to content

What is the intention with this bid


thorvald

Recommended Posts

[hv=url=https://www.bridgebase.com/tools/handviewer.html?bbo=y&lin=pn%7CHuman%2CRobot%2CRobot%2CRobot%7Cst%7C%7Cmd%7C4S9HA65DKT86CAKQT6%2CSJT5H943DQJ42CJ82%2CSQ8743HJT2DA75C94%2CSAK62HKQ87D93C753%7Csv%7CN%7Cah%7CBoard%202%7Cmb%7C1C%7Can%7CMinor%20suit%20opening%20--%203%2B%20%21C%3B%2011-21%20HCP%3B%2012-22%20total%20points%7Cmb%7C1D%7Can%7COne-level%20overcall%20--%205%2B%20%21D%3B%208-17%20HCP%3B%209-19%20total%20points%7Cmb%7CP%7Cmb%7C2D%7Can%7C3%2B%20%21D%3B%206-9%20total%20points%7Cmb%7CP%7Cmb%7C2N%7Can%7CInvitational%20to%203NT%20game%20--%205%2B%20%21D%3B%2017%20HCP%3B%2018-19%20total%20points%3B%20likely%20stop%20in%20%21C%7Cmb%7CP%7Cmb%7C3C%7Can%7C3%2B%20%21D%3B%206%2B%20HCP%3B%207-9%20total%20points%3B%20at%20best%20partial%20stop%20in%20%21C%3B%20forcing%20to%203N%7Cmb%7CP%7Cmb%7C3N%7Can%7C5%2B%20%21D%3B%204-%20%21H%3B%204-%20%21S%3B%2017%20HCP%3B%2019%20total%20points%3B%20stop%20in%20%21C%7Cmb%7CP%7Cmb%7CP%7Cmb%7CP%7Cpc%7CC2%7Cpc%7CC4%7Cpc%7CC7%7Cpc%7CCT%7Cpc%7CD6%7Cpc%7CD4%7Cpc%7CD7%7Cpc%7CD9%7Cpc%7CHK%7Cpc%7CHA%7Cpc%7CH3%7Cpc%7CH2%7Cpc%7CH5%7Cpc%7CH9%7Cpc%7CHT%7Cpc%7CHQ%7Cpc%7CSK%7Cpc%7CS9%7Cpc%7CS5%7Cpc%7CS4%7Cpc%7CC5%7Cpc%7CCA%7Cpc%7CC8%7Cpc%7CC9%7Cpc%7CCK%7Cpc%7CCJ%7Cpc%7CS3%7Cpc%7CC3%7Cpc%7CCQ%7Cpc%7CH4%7Cpc%7CS7%7Cpc%7CS2%7Cpc%7CC6%7Cpc%7CST%7Cpc%7CS8%7Cpc%7CS6%7Cpc%7CH6%7Cpc%7CSJ%7Cpc%7CHJ%7Cpc%7CH8%7Cpc%7CDA%7Cpc%7CD3%7Cpc%7CD8%7Cpc%7CD2%7Cpc%7CD5%7Cpc%7CH7%7Cpc%7CDK%7Cpc%7CDQ%7Cpc%7CDT%7Cpc%7CDJ%7Cpc%7CSQ%7Cpc%7CSA%7C]399|300[/hv]

 

South has a problem at first bid, and at the other table East was allowed to play 1. Our hero here bid 1, and North bid a fine 2. South bid an invitational 2N.

 

But the interesting bid is Norths 3, that according to the explanation denies a stopper in , but nothing else as the 2 did limit the hand. 3 is forcing to 3N, but is the bot searching for a major contract?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

2NT is undefined for GIB, since 15-18 with stoppers would have overcalled 1NT, and stronger would have doubled first.

 

The catch-all rule for undefined 2NT bids is that they show exactly (24 - min partner has shown) HCP, so that partner can accept with more than a minimum.

 

Partner has shown 0 HCP to date, only 6-9 total points. So 2NT is considered to show exactly 24 HCP in your own hand.

 

Since 1 already limits you to 17 HCP for the 1 level overcall, the definition merges the contradiction of <= 17 with = 24 to result in = 17, even though it doesn't really mean it.

 

North can't bid 3NT because 17 + 7 < 25.

 

Every other bid is messed up because we're already way into undefined territory; for example, 3 is set to show rebiddable diamonds with exactly 6 total points.

 

So no, it's not trying to find a major fit, it just has no clue what anything means anymore.

 

If you see a 2NT bid show an exact number of HCP, don't bid it.

  • Upvote 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Loading...
×
×
  • Create New...