Jump to content

A new low.


pilowsky

Recommended Posts

[hv=pc=n&s=sj97643h732dk73cj&d=w&v=b&b=4&a=1c1s(One-level%20overcall%20--%205%2B!S%3B%208-17%20etc)d]133|200|This comes from 'not best hand' match.

What does North have?

What should South bid?[/hv]

 

The full deal

 

[hv=https://www.bridgebase.com/tools/handviewer.html?lin=st||pn|pilowsky,~~v3fakebot,~~v3fakebot,~~v3fakebot|md|2SJ97643H732DK73CJ,SQHT654DQ9CAK9764,SAKT2HAJDJ852CQ52,S85HKQ98DAT64CT83|sv|b|rh||ah|Board%204|mb|1C|an|Minor%20suit%20opening%20--%203+%20!C;%2011-21%20HCP;%2012-22%20total%20points|mb|1S|an|One-level%20overcall%20--%205+%20!S;%208-17%20HCP;%209-19%20total%20points|mb|D|an|Negative%20double%20--%204+%20!H;%205+%20HCP;%206+%20total%20points|mb|3S|an|Unbalanced%20--%204+%20!S;%205-7%20total%20points|mb|P|mb|P|mb|P|pc|S8|pc|S3|pc|SQ|pc|SA|pc|SK|pc|S5|pc|S4|pc|C9|pc|C2|pc|C3|pc|CJ|pc|CK|pc|H6|pc|HA|pc|H9|pc|H2|pc|HJ|pc|HQ|pc|H3|pc|H4|pc|HK|pc|H7|pc|H5|pc|S2|pc|D2|pc|D6|pc|DK|pc|D9|pc|D3|pc|DQ|pc|D5|pc|D4|pc|C4|pc|CQ|pc|CT|pc|D7|mc|10|]400|300| I'm assuming that GIB was confused by the '10' and counted it as 2 cards.[/hv]

 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Nothing unusual here - that's just my opinion. If North overcalls 1NT instead of 1 with a 4 card suit which is acceptable, you will still end up in a contract. I would have bid a direct 4 as South to North's 1 call. 4 should not make with correct defense though there are chances of an endplay as the cards lie if the defense take their tricks in the wrong order or play the wrong card.

 

If GIB overcalls 1NT then you are probably going to end up in 2 as opposed to 4. I think overcalling with a 4 card major suit at the one level is acceptable if there is not another obvious bid available. 1NT looks the better bid but GIB decided that 1 was just as good and chose the cheaper bid. Not so much 'a low point' but annoying nevertheless.

  • Upvote 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

While aspects may have changed, 10 years ago, GIB had this rule about overcalling 1X with 1NT:

 

- no singleton (or void)

- no 5 card major (but can have 5 card minor)

 

If 16-18 HCP, stoppers in X must be at least category 2

If 15 HCP, stoppers in X must be category 4:

 

0 no other value

1 Qx or Jxx (partial stop)

2 Kx or Qxx (one likely stop)

3 A, QJx or 5+ HCP in the suit

4 length + HCP in suit at least 8 (two stops)

So with an extra point it would overcall 1NT, but with just 15, it requires a better club suit.

 

Having decided not to overcall 1NT (agree or disagree), 1 seems OK.

  • Upvote 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Nothing unusual here - that's just my opinion. If North overcalls 1NT instead of 1 with a 4 card suit which is acceptable, you will still end up in a contract. I would have bid a direct 4 as South to North's 1 call. 4 should not make with correct defense though there are chances of an endplay as the cards lie if the defense take their tricks in the wrong order or play the wrong card.

 

GIB aside, I agree this is not particularly unusual. Although 1NT at this vulnerability with this strength and stopper shows orange on my radar, I would incline towards 1 (if that is the disclosed agreement, or clearly is not) or a more pacific pass (partner is still there).

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Loading...
×
×
  • Create New...