Jump to content

A fortunate inadmissable double


pescetom

Recommended Posts

MP f2f

[hv=d=n&v=b&b=13&a=ppp1hpp(Dbl%20corrected%20to%20Pass)ppp]180|135[/hv]

 

Who never had the urge to double their partner's bid? But it was accidental here, East was brooding over the previous hand and doubled what he thought was an opponent's bid to show his four spades and near-opening values. After a stunned silence at the table, he apologised and reached towards the bidding box again, but South was having none of it: "you must Pass now, or I will have to call Director". East reluctantly complied and South passed.

 

On seeing the dummy West thought ruefully that they had missed game, but it turned out spades and diamonds were both offside. South was not at all happy with -140 rather than +100 as at other tables and now he did call the TD.

 

How should TD rule here?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

MP f2f

[hv=d=n&v=b&b=13&a=ppp1hpp(Dbl%20corrected%20to%20Pass)ppp]180|135[/hv]

 

Who never had the urge to double their partner's bid? But it was accidental here, East was brooding over the previous hand and doubled what he thought was an opponent's bid to show his four spades and near-opening values. After a stunned silence at the table, he apologised and reached towards the bidding box again, but South was having none of it: "you must Pass now, or I will have to call Director". East reluctantly complied and South passed.

 

On seeing the dummy West thought ruefully that they had missed game, but it turned out spades and diamonds were both offside. South was not at all happy with -140 rather than +100 as at other tables and now he did call the TD.

 

How should TD rule here?

.....

B. Offender’s LHO does not Call before Rectification

.....

1. any double or redouble not permitted by Law 19 is cancelled.

2. the offender must substitute a legal call, the auction continues, and the offender’s partner

must pass whenever it is his turn to call.

South is the main culprit here! He should have called TD who would have allowed East to replace his illegal double with any legal call

 

TD should now consider awarding an assigned adjusted score on the ground that East was incorrectly deprived his option to make a legal call. (West must of course pass for the remainder of the auction). However, given the rest of the story it appears to me that TD should let the result stand.

 

However TD should in any case issue a PP on South for 1: failing to call the Director and 2: imposing an incorrect ruling on the situation.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

South is the main culprit here! He should have called TD who would have allowed East to replace his illegal double with any legal call

And West?

 

TD should now consider awarding an assigned adjusted score on the ground that East was incorrectly deprived his option to make a legal call. (West must of course pass for the remainder of the auction). However, given the rest of the story it appears to me that TD should let the result stand.

Stand for both sides?

 

 

However TD should in any case issue a PP on South for 1: failing to call the Director and 2: imposing an incorrect ruling on the situation.

Agreed for the combination of both (#1 alone seems a bit harsh, also given that East and others did the same).

Link to comment
Share on other sites

MP f2f

[hv=d=n&v=b&b=13&a=ppp1hpp(Dbl%20corrected%20to%20Pass)ppp]180|135[/hv]

 

Who never had the urge to double their partner's bid? But it was accidental here, East was brooding over the previous hand and doubled what he thought was an opponent's bid to show his four spades and near-opening values. After a stunned silence at the table, he apologised and reached towards the bidding box again, but South was having none of it: "you must Pass now, or I will have to call Director". East reluctantly complied and South passed.

 

On seeing the dummy West thought ruefully that they had missed game, but it turned out spades and diamonds were both offside. South was not at all happy with -140 rather than +100 as at other tables and now he did call the TD.

 

How should TD rule here?

The auction is over, the play is over. South's last pass condoned the alleged irregularities. result stands L25A5. If the auction ends before it reaches the player’s partner no substitution may occur after the end of the auction period (see Law 17D). L25B1. A substituted call not permitted by A may be accepted by the offender’s LHO. (It is accepted if LHO calls intentionally over it.) The first call is then withdrawn, the second call stands and the auction continues

Link to comment
Share on other sites

The auction is over, the play is over. South's last pass condoned the alleged irregularities. result stands L25A5. If the auction ends before it reaches the player’s partner no substitution may occur after the end of the auction period (see Law 17D). L25B1. A substituted call not permitted by A may be accepted by the offender’s LHO. (It is accepted if LHO calls intentionally over it.) The first call is then withdrawn, the second call stands and the auction continues

East has a case because South illegally prevented him from replacing his illegal double with a legal call.

However, as the game proceeded it appears to me that East/West was not damaged from the irregularity by South.

 

Note that the applicable Law is 36, not 25

Link to comment
Share on other sites

East should have called the director as soon as South opened his mouth and reported South's illegal ruling (and for some of us, violation of Law 74A2 - it really annoys me when opponents attempt to make their own ruling - and annoys me even more when they attempt to intimidate me or my partner).
Link to comment
Share on other sites

"The Director may allow or cancel any enforcement or waiver of a rectification made by the players without instruction." - 10B.

 

Otherwise known as "Nobody seemed to have an issue with the ruling made at the table without me around when they thought it would be to their advantage. I don't see any reason to disagree just because it wasn't. Play on, and call me next time if you want the *correct* ruling."

 

Of course, I use the other half of 10B if it turns out the people trying to game something through actually were advantaged, but that tends not to trigger a call later - at the time, or way too late (in the bar, after they tell the story and the other players say "what? Why didn't you call the director?").

Link to comment
Share on other sites

"The Director may allow or cancel any enforcement or waiver of a rectification made by the players without instruction." - 10B.

 

Otherwise known as "Nobody seemed to have an issue with the ruling made at the table without me around when they thought it would be to their advantage. I don't see any reason to disagree just because it wasn't. Play on, and call me next time if you want the *correct* ruling."

 

Of course, I use the other half of 10B if it turns out the people trying to game something through actually were advantaged, but that tends not to trigger a call later - at the time, or way too late (in the bar, after they tell the story and the other players say "what? Why didn't you call the director?").

 

And how about the "new" 11A ?

"Action by Non-Offending Side

The right to rectification of an irregularity may be forfeited if either member of the non-offending side takes any action before summoning the Director. If a side has gained through subsequent action taken by an opponent in ignorance of the relevant provisions of the law, the Director adjusts only that side’s score by taking away any accrued advantage. The other side retains the score achieved at the table."

 

East may have been intimidated by South, but he committed the original infraction and then took an action without summoning the Director. It looks as if his side may have gained through subsequent action taken by the opponent, although whether South was ignorant of the relevant provisions of the law seems doubtful here (or does it mean that he ignored them).

Link to comment
Share on other sites

East has a case because South illegally prevented him from replacing his illegal double with a legal call.

However, as the game proceeded it appears to me that East/West was not damaged from the irregularity by South.

 

Note that the applicable Law is 36, not 25

First, there is nothing aesthetically bad about an opponent condoning as legal a double of a bid less than 8. Additionally, it solves a lot of problems satisfactorily that the laws do badly at best. That means that L36 is stupid. Had to get that off my chest.

 

An observation I make in this case is that after East X 1H he withdrew the X and then passed. According to L25, S at that point could object (call the TD) who would rule via L25. Instead of calling the TD what did happen was S passed. In accordance with L25 the pass was a change of call, or a correction of call without penalty, which S condoned.

 

 

Whatever conflict you feel that L36 has with the other passages which resolve the facts better I am at a loss to identify. My opening comment, was it not, was that L36 is stupid.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

How should TD rule here?

I think the elements have all been mentioned above, but I don't think the director has any rights to change the table score for E-W. We have a legal auction and a result gained through play, so that should stand. You point out that Law 11A explicitly allows the director to adjust the score for N-S only, but they have not received any advantage.

 

This law may seem harsh on E-W (if they had a biddable game, for example), but E-W have some culpability here. East committed the initial infraction, and then neither called the director when attention was brought to the irregularity.

 

So, table result stands. I will point out to N-S that South's actions risked an adjustment had they obtained a good table score.

 

Now we have to consider the players' actions outside the auction itself. Everyone should have called the director when attention was drawn to the irregularity (Law 9B), and it's worth pointing out this is both a right and an obligation for everyone. South clearly should not have tried to make up laws at the table, so Law 90A gives me the right to penalise the player. I'm going to use it and penalise N-S some amount of matchpoints - probably 1/4 board but could easily be convinced to double that penalty, particularly if South is experienced and E-W are beginners. There are circumstances where this could be obvious bullying tactics, and I'm happy to stop that in its tracks.

 

Next time E-W might be confident enough to call the director and South might follow correct procedure.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

First, there is nothing aesthetically bad about an opponent condoning as legal a double of a bid less than 8.

Curious comment:

A player may double only the last preceding bid. That bid must have been made by an opponent; calls other than pass must not have intervened.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Curious comment:

I don't find this particular part of axman's argument unreasonable: LHO may condone an (illegal) insufficient bid by making a legal call, why not an (illegal) inadmissible double or redouble too?

That still doesn't make the rest of law 36 silly of course. And we would now have to decide if LHO may redouble ;)

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Law 11A absolutely applies. The director "may" do this. But also, note "side gains...opponent in ignorance of the Law". South almost certainly knew very well that he "should" call the director and get him to resolve the issue. He decided to try to convince East to do something else instead and succeeded. If East gains, South isn't in ignorance of the law, and this doesn't apply.

 

When I'm in this situation, I rule in whichever way will stop this from happening again. And if it's South intimidating E/W with "we know the law" rather than "let's call the director and let him rule" then if magically it turns out that South is both wrong and disadvantaged, "you made your own ruling, looks okay to me, carry on" seems appropriate. With a "the director should be called, you know, that's what I'm here for", as necessary, so that E/W know better next time.

 

If I think East or West did anything intending to bypass the rules to their advantage, then I'll put that in my ruling, and it might trigger 11A. I'm certainly more willing to give "double bad" rulings than my colleagues. But in my experience, this is 80% a strong pair trying to bully the newer players, 10% a bullied pair "knowing the ruling" because a strong pair did this to them earlier, and 8% a pair that had this done to them earlier, but it was a different situation, or they missed the "partner must pass" rather than "infractor must pass". And in all of those cases, "if you had called me at the time, I would have ruled [X], and what happens, happens. You decided to make your own ruling, and I see no reason to change it just because it turned out badly for you. Next time call me. \_`@_/" seems both equitable and sufficient to stop this behaviour next time (and might give N/S the courage to not get this kind of stuff pulled on them next time, too).

 

If it turns out I've read the table wrong, well, it's not the worst ruling I've given, and I'm sure there are worse yet in my future. It's not *wrong*, and I've even made worse *correct* rulings. And definitely not the ruling that I will hear "you know, if you could play bridge, you would"/"surely everybody would realize"/"we're allowed to think, you know"/"you're restricting judgement" from the bar later.

 

But I don't have to punish every player who commits an infraction, even when I have the option to. I'm allowed my own judgement :-). Again, "[t]hey are designed not to punish irregularities but rather to rectify situations where non-offenders may otherwise be damaged."

Link to comment
Share on other sites

I think the elements have all been mentioned above, but I don't think the director has any rights to change the table score for E-W. We have a legal auction and a result gained through play, so that should stand. You point out that Law 11A explicitly allows the director to adjust the score for N-S only, but they have not received any advantage.

 

This law may seem harsh on E-W (if they had a biddable game, for example), but E-W have some culpability here. East committed the initial infraction, and then neither called the director when attention was brought to the irregularity.

 

So, table result stands.

I agree with the rest of your reply but I'm not convinced either of us have 11A pinned down, which is why I expressed doubt above and a good part of why I made this post. This law changed significantly in 2017 and I suspect you may be thinking about the previous version.

 

LAW 11 - FORFEITURE OF THE RIGHT TO RECTIFICATION

A. Action by Non-Offending Side

The right to rectification of an irregularity may be forfeited if either member of the non-offending side takes any action before summoning the

Director. The Director does so rule, for example, when the non-offending side may have gained through subsequent action taken by an opponent in

ignorance of the relevant provisions of the law.

 

LAW 11 - FORFEITURE OF THE RIGHT TO RECTIFICATION

A. Action by Non-Offending Side

The right to rectification of an irregularity may be forfeited if either member of the non-offending side takes any action before summoning the

Director. If a side has gained through subsequent action taken by an opponent in ignorance of the relevant provisions of the law, the Director

adjusts only that side’s score by taking away any accrued advantage. The other side retains the score achieved at the table.

 

Law 11 deals with players who don’t call the Director when there is an irregularity. If the nonoffenders

act before calling the TD, the Law has said for years they may forfeit their right to

rectification of that irregularity. Law 11A has been changed in the 2017 code. The Director is

now empowered to award a split score (both sides losing) when either side gains (previously he

would only remove the advantage from non-offenders). Now the Director takes away whatever

advantage was gained by the side who did not call the TD in time (such as by causing a player to

get a second penalty card through ignorance of the obligation to play the first one), but the TD

still applies the Law to the side who committed the irregularity.

 

The commentary also gives an example where South invents his own ruling but then calls TD when East hits lucky because of it.

N/S keep their table result: three out of the last six tricks. E/W do not keep their advantage.

Had the TD been called in time E/W would have won one of the last six tricks and that becomes the

adjusted score for E/W.

 

Now that looks very similar to the situation in this post: so based on this, TD should rule that N/S will keep their table result (-140, a bottom) and E/W do not keep their advantage and get -100 like all other E/W (3NT and 4 were equally possible final contracts but both go down 1).

 

The fly in the ointment is that the law doesn't say what the commentary says it does, or at least not clearly. The first (older) sentence is fine, but the second (newer) one reads like it was translated from Spanish by a Canadian :). In particular the phrase "gained through subsequent action taken by an opponent in ignorance of the relevant provisions of the law". Action subsequent to what? Why (only) by an opponent? What if the gain accrued to one side through the series of actions by all players following the initial failure to call TD? Does "in ignorance of" mean not knowing or does it mean ignoring?

 

Now if it said something like the humble suggestion below, I would be happy awarding the split score as above:

If at the end of play one side has gained from the fact that Director was not summoned following an infraction, then the Director adjusts only that side’s score by taking away any accrued advantage. The other side retains the score achieved at the table.

  • Upvote 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Are you suggesting a change in the laws? Currently Law 36A would prevent this.

 

I am agreeing that it would be a logical change, as it is coherent with what happens after lead out of turn and insufficient bid.

It's not my own proposal and I haven't thought it through, so there may be some good reason why the current 36A prevents it.

One issue that springs to mind is redouble by LHO, but the simplest solution would be to just allow that.

Another is that we would still need something like 36A if there was no previous bid to double.

 

It's off topic of this post, however.

My suggested change of the laws is to make 11A clearer.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

I am agreeing that it would be a logical change, as it is coherent with what happens after lead out of turn and insufficient bid.

It's not my own proposal and I haven't thought it through, so there may be some good reason why the current 36A prevents it.

One issue that springs to mind is redouble by LHO, but the simplest solution would be to just allow that.

Another is that we would still need something like 36A if there was no previous bid to double.

 

It's off topic of this post, however.

My suggested change of the laws is to make 11A clearer.

One single question on the effect of your suggestion:

Given the auction:

North: 1

East: PASS

South: X

West: PASS

North: PASS

East: XX

all pass.

 

Which contract is now to be played (I assume 1 XX with North as declarer) and who makes the opening lead?

East who redoubled and probavly has no problem selecting his opening lead???

Link to comment
Share on other sites

I agree with the rest of your reply but I'm not convinced either of us have 11A pinned down, which is why I expressed doubt above and a good part of why I made this post.

I think I get what you're querying now. There are actually two potential applications of 11A in the example hand:

 

1 - when N-S are the non-offending side after the initial double

2 - when E-W are the non-offending side after South makes up bridge laws

 

You're right that E-W maybe should have their score adjusted, and now I'd want to know the various skill levels of the players before making a ruling. But for sure South is getting hit with a procedural penalty.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

One single question on the effect of your suggestion:

Given the auction:

North: 1

East: PASS

South: X

West: PASS

North: PASS

East: XX

all pass.

 

Which contract is now to be played (I assume 1 XX with North as declarer) and who makes the opening lead?

East who redoubled and probavly has no problem selecting his opening lead???

 

It was not my suggestion but axman's.

As I already said, I think his point was logical and worthy of consideration, but whether it is a viable and useful alternative to the existing 36A needs analysis.

 

Taking it as a hypothesis, South's X of his partner's 1 is illegal but West's subsequent PASS would condone and accept it.

East's redouble of the opponent's 1 may be illegal (I would suggest yes) but South's subsequent PASS would condone and accept it.

After another two passes the contract to be played is 1 XX with North as declarer, East makes the opening lead.

Both North and West have information from their partner's illegal bid, but presumably any such law would authorize that.

 

Maybe this hypothesis deserves a separate post, as this one is more about failure to call Director and the consequences.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

I think I get what you're querying now. There are actually two potential applications of 11A in the example hand:

 

1 - when N-S are the non-offending side after the initial double

2 - when E-W are the non-offending side after South makes up bridge laws

 

You're right that E-W maybe should have their score adjusted, and now I'd want to know the various skill levels of the players before making a ruling. But for sure South is getting hit with a procedural penalty.

 

Almost:

1 - yes

2 - when either side hits lucky after South makes up bridge laws (both sides offended in various ways).

 

But I think that now you, I and the guy who wrote the commentary are on the same wavelength.

NS deserve their bottom and EW do not deserve their top.

I just wish that the law expressed all that more clearly.

 

NS are very experienced. EW less so and rather remissive, but not beginners.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Interesting. Yes, that sounds like there's something to this. But what are you going to say was East's result if they do the right thing and call the director?

 

The Law actually says two things:

  • Law 25B1: a substituted intentional change of call can be accepted by LHO. East corrects his "mistaken bid" to pass, South accepts it, everything's legal. Okay, this may not apply because the "mistaken bid" was an inadmissible double, but still.
  • Law 36B2: East must replace the double with "a legal call", and partner must pass at every opportunity. We don't have East's hand, but in that auction - the one we're going to have if everybody isn't stupid and they call the director - what is East going to shoot out blind? It won't be 4, which they might have found after a 1 call. It's probably one of the default 2, 1NT and 3NT. Possibly even pass. Maybe 3. But it's blind.

If you treat this as a L25 case (albeit influenced by South), then score stands - the ruling leads to the same auction.

If you treat it as a L36 case, then sure, assign E-W some combination of 1+x, 1NT+x, 3NT-x, and anything else that might fly. Depending on the values of x and the percentages you end up giving to the various calls, you might find that that score is *better than* 100% of the table score - in which case, "no damage". But in no circumstances does "the other results" matter - E-W wasn't having a "normal auction" at this table, so what happened at other tables with normal auctions are even less relevant than usual.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Loading...
×
×
  • Create New...