Jump to content

bidding under pressure


your call  

37 members have voted

  1. 1. your call

    • 3NT
      3
    • 4[DI]
      32
    • other
      2


Recommended Posts

[hv=d=s&v=n&s=s7hkjt54dkqj94cj4]133|100|Scoring: MP

1 (3) 3 (P) ?

Playing Acol, and 3 is forcing.

Opponents intermediate ; LHO slightly aggressive, RHO more conservative.[/hv]

I think I may have made a bad decision. What do people think of the 3NT and 4 bids?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

3NT is a matchpoint kind of bid. Stopper? Who needs a stopper. In the long run, this might work out ok, but it is not for me. Pass, is of course, also eliminated. When you discard the obvious, whatever esle that is left, must be right. 4 - unimaginative, dull, but so be it....
Link to comment
Share on other sites

mike: presumably with five spades and a club stopper partner could try a double, and then pull 3/3 to 3NT?
Link to comment
Share on other sites

A wise sage once said to me, "don't make unusual bids that partner can criticize."

 

Actually it was my older brother (an extremely good player) who also threatened to kick me butt at the time.

But, the idea of trying to not make a bid that is so inconsistent with your hand is a good guiding principle.

lololol, That was 30+ years ago. He's older but I'm bigger.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Dealer: South
Vul: N/S
Scoring: MP
7
KJT54
KQJ94
J4
  1 (3) 3 (P) ?

Playing Acol, and 3 is forcing.

Opponents intermediate ; LHO slightly aggressive, RHO more conservative.

I think I may have made a bad decision. What do people think of the 3NT and 4 bids?

4 because

1 U don't have even a partial stopper in so prefer not to bid 3NT

2 U don't have a rebiddable suit

3 U don't have support

4 U are NOT allowed to pass a forcing bid

;) :blink: :P B)

Link to comment
Share on other sites

4D for me, I just bid my hand. Usually works well. Pard would be careful of endplaying me with a 3S bid anyways if his hand was more NT oriented.

4D and I agree with Justin !

 

If his hand is NT oriented, partner has to bid NT knowing there is no more room !

 

Alain

Link to comment
Share on other sites

4D.

 

Hard, feels wrong, but I will follow ben, who cites Sherlock Holmes,

if you eliminate the impossible, whats left has to be the thing, even

if it is terrible.

 

With kind regards

Marlowe

 

PS: I would have liked to write "change system", but I rembered in time,

my partnership changed the system several weeks ago, making 3S forcing ;) ...

Link to comment
Share on other sites

4, no other option. Bidding 3NT is gambling, and that's a completely different ballgame. I have hearts and diamonds, so when my partner forces me to bid again, I will show him my second suit.

 

If 3NT is the spot, responder should have thought a litle longer before he bid 3.

 

Roland

Link to comment
Share on other sites

4D. People might well be hesitant to open 3C with a solid suit, but to overcall 3C people wouldn't have any problems with it at all. Hence the chances of them cashing the top 6/7 club tricks is a genuine danger.
Link to comment
Share on other sites

As I imagine most of you have guessed, I chanced a 3nt bid, which didn't work out very well.

 

On the actual hand, partner had:

KQJ943

A63

AT7

7

with which I maintained that he should have taken some action over 3nt (not that it excuses the 3nt bid). Is that reasonable?

 

For the record, LHO had AKTxxx and RHO had Qxxx (and the A).

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Hi,

 

your partner should probably bid 4S over 3NT,

because his spades are not running.

To make 3NT you will need the spades, i.e. if

you have only one stopper in club and not the Ace

of spades, 3NT will probably go down, so yes he

should have bid 4S, but this is no excuse for

the 3NT.

 

Lead partner to a deep hole and be not surprised,

if he partner falls for it, and jumbs head over heels

into the hole.

 

With kind regards

Marlowe

Link to comment
Share on other sites

I think you both took a position. I wouldn't bid 3NT with your hand, nor would I pass it with your partner's. There's no reason for him to think 3NT, even if it makes, will score more matchpoints than a contract. A slam is not out of the question if you have one of the black aces.
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Guest Jlall
As I imagine most of you have guessed, I chanced a 3nt bid, which didn't work out very well.

 

On the actual hand, partner had:

KQJ943

A63

AT7

7

with which I maintained that he should have taken some action over 3nt (not that it excuses the 3nt bid). Is that reasonable?

 

For the record, LHO had AKTxxx and RHO had Qxxx (and the A).

yes passing 3N is really absurd

Link to comment
Share on other sites

I maintained that he should have taken some action over 3nt
yes passing 3N is really absurd
Alert! Transfer (of fault). As far as pard knows, you have made the best bid you can so he respects your judgement..........poor deluded child.....lol. Better bids make better post-mortems at least.
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Guest Jlall

3N is not the final bid of the auction. It is (supposedly) a suggestion to play 3n, basically shows a stopper and no 3 card spade support. All you have shown on this hand so far is some minimal game force with 5+ spades.

 

you have KQJ9xx of spades, a suit playable opposite a stiff. You have Axx in support of partners major which you havent shown so a sure 8 card fit here. You have a stiff club and a very prime, suit oriented hand with definite slam interest. This is not a case of "respecting partners judgement." How can he make a judgement when you havent come close to describing your hand?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Hey, no problem here, 3S shows an opening bid (since it is forcing that means at least 3NT) and pard can expect no C help so a 3NT bid would be void or stiff S with a DOUBLE stop in C. The sensible and accurate bid of 4D to show his actual hand always gets you to the H game, so ....why set a trap for pard when he is looking for help from you.....
Link to comment
Share on other sites

I agree, in retrospect I should probably have taken 3n out, but looking at it at the time, it never occured to me that partner wouldn't have a stop and I just thought "maybe the hearts wil run, maybe the spades will run, and if his stop's something like KQx or such, my singleton may well be useless" ie maybe we're making as many tricks here as anywhere else. Also, although it is true that I knew we had a major fit, I wasn't sure which 1 we had, and was afraid 4 hearts or 4 spades could easily put us into a 7-card fit (it has since been pointed out that 4 clubs would have avoided this problem nicely, but it didn't occur to me at the time)
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Loading...
×
×
  • Create New...