alokjoshi Posted February 27, 2021 Report Share Posted February 27, 2021 Dear Forum members, I am trying to read up to become a Club Director and while reading up on Law 29 a question came to mind. I will explain my question with an example. If N opens bidding with say 1C and before E and S are able to call, W bids 1D and N bids 2C then according to Law 29A the non-offending side has forfeited the Right to Rectification. However what happens to E and S?Have they lost there opportunity to bid in the first rotation or am I missing something(some rule) that takes care of this situation? Thanks. Alok Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
blackshoe Posted February 27, 2021 Report Share Posted February 27, 2021 Yes, they've lost the opportunity to bid before west on the first round. The legal auction is now 1♣ by N, 1♦ by W, 2♣ by N, East is up. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
alokjoshi Posted February 27, 2021 Author Report Share Posted February 27, 2021 Thank you sir for your clear and quick response. Greatly appreciate. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
sfi Posted February 27, 2021 Report Share Posted February 27, 2021 The only situation that may unwind accepted calls out of rotation is when there have been three consecutive passes, but at least one was out of rotation. Law 17D3 addresses what to do if someone was deprived of the right to call. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
sanst Posted February 28, 2021 Report Share Posted February 28, 2021 The only situation that may unwind accepted calls out of rotation is when there have been three consecutive passes, but at least one was out of rotation. Law 17D3 addresses what to do if someone was deprived of the right to call.This is a perfect illustration of the complexity of the Laws. What is a seemingly straightforward situation, as Blackshoe explained, quite often has some exception. Luckily, the situation sfi mentions, is probably quite rare. In the example you gave, S would have to pass again before E makes a call, W and N also pass and no one draws attention to the infringements.Don’t spend to much time considering these regulations, but concentrate on the most common irregularities. In F2F bridge these are calls and play out of turn, especially the open lead OOT, revokes, restoring hands where a card of one player has accidentally been moved to another hand - always time consuming if there’s no hand diagram -, missing cards - you’ll usually will find these on the floor, in an other board that’s on the table or in the hand of another player - disagreements about tricks made and lost, misinformation, including non alerting, use of unauthorized information and contested claims, These last three are far more difficult to handle than the others, which you usually can solve by following the laws book, but these don’t occur in online bridge :) Good luck! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
sfi Posted February 28, 2021 Report Share Posted February 28, 2021 This is a perfect illustration of the complexity of the Laws. What is a seemingly straightforward situation, as Blackshoe explained, quite often has some exception. Luckily, the situation sfi mentions, is probably quite rare.It's rare enough that I only remembered the basic concept - a player can't be skipped entirely by passes out of turn. I had to look up the details, but that's ok as long as I know there's something to look up if it ever arises at the table. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
mycroft Posted February 28, 2021 Report Share Posted February 28, 2021 I think I've only actually ruled it once. The situation it comes up (as a chance) is something like forcing auction to 3NT, and both defenders pass without giving the partner a chance to call. Now, if 3NT bidder passes, we roll back the auction to her partner, to ensure he didn't want to bid 4M or 6NT or something. Alternatively, a long noncompetitive auction to somewhere by South, West doubles, p by North and pass by South having "seen" East's pass (was it 5 or 6 passes in that packet?) Again, now if West accepts and passes, we return the auction to East. The trigger should be (and will frequently be raised by the table) "hey, if we pass it out, it isn't fair that one player didn't get to bid." And sure enough, it isn't fair, and the Laws handle that. As sfi says (and commonly with directing), the key is not to know the Law, it's to know this situation has a Law. When - or if - it comes up, you look it up in the LB and follow instructions. Silly sequence in spoiler One year in my crazy bridge game, the rule was "the first infraction you commit on this hand carries no penalty. If you play the entire hand without committing an infraction, you are penalized two tricks for the revoke. Note: ethics infractions don't count." After an opening bid out of turn, an inadmissible double out of turn, an overcall out of turn and a raise to 4♠, it was now dealer's turn to call...we took a picture, but I lost it last phone ago. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Join the conversation
You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.