Jump to content

What's the rule of 17 for supporting partner's preempts?


Recommended Posts

And just as a final bit of interest here is a hand that I played in defence (North) at the local club today. I opened with a weak 2 which ops overcalled in and then raised to 4 which I doubled since there seemed to be an unfortunate trump split. I was a little concerned when the hand came down showing 15 HCP in dummy and support: enjoy. Double-dummy on pianola, and BBO, has it as 4-1 with the 9, lead which is what happened. As it turns out my RHO had 5 so this is probably not a great hand to look at.

Still, here it is:

[hv=pc=n&s=s4h5dakj982c65432&w=skt653hqdq54ckj87&n=sqj92hkt8762dt6c9&e=sa87haj943d73caqt&d=n&v=0&b=1&a=2hdp2sp4sppdppp]399|300[/hv]

I am at a loss to see the point of posting this hand unless the purpose was to highlight bad bidding.

responds 2 to a takeout double with an 11 count (Q may be wasted, but heart singleton should be very useful) and a decent 5 card spade suit. 2 could have been a 3/4 card suit and 0 count.

 

East make a "penalty double"??? of 2 and then raises 2 to game with only 3 card trump support and nothing close to having a 4 bid.

 

North opens a weak 2 with a side 4 card major which some players refuse to do, and makes a very speculative double that gets a little lucky to find partner with 2 tricks and East having very poor trumps for the bidding.. Of course, double dummy, 3NT is unbeatable.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Loading...
×
×
  • Create New...