rrrrrrrt Posted January 16, 2020 Report Share Posted January 16, 2020 I, as south, opened 1 spade, west overcalled 2 diamonds, my partner Niorth bid 3 spades.West then asked whether I should be alerting this. I do niot believe that west should have been asking as it was not his turn and also as far as I knew it was not an announceable bid. He seemed to think it was if it was a weak jump bid.Firstly surely he should not be asking as it was not his bid and secondly it was nit a bid at new suite but at my my spade suite. Was he also given information to his parttner by asking? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
tonyuk Posted January 16, 2020 Report Share Posted January 16, 2020 West was wrong in asking. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
pescetom Posted January 16, 2020 Report Share Posted January 16, 2020 West cannot ask anything out of turn, nor can he ask at his own turn a question solely for the benefit of his partner.Asking whether a call should be alerted is also improper - if he really needs to know now, it would be better to ask for an explanation of the auction so far, or at least of the 3♠ bid (at risk of giving UI to partner).The 3♠ bid might be alertable - this depends upon your agreements and upon the regulations of your RA (it would usually not be alertable if it shows fit and invitational strength). Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xgasman Posted January 16, 2020 Report Share Posted January 16, 2020 If N/S have an agreement that a non-preemptive raise is shown by other means (3♢s?) then 3♠ is surely alertable. BBO asks that N should pre-alert himself.I've recently been persuaded (see thread in "Suggestions for the software") that this is reasonable and even desirable. And W cannot then convey UI by asking out of turn! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
pescetom Posted January 16, 2020 Report Share Posted January 16, 2020 If N/S have an agreement that a non-preemptive raise is shown by other means (3♢s?) then 3♠ is surely alertable.In most RAs, yes. No obvious reason for opponents to assume that is the case when there is no alert, though. BBO asks that N should pre-alert himself.This forum is usually about I/A bridge in general, not specific to BBO, or law issues come to that.'Simple Rulings' is a good place for such a discussion. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
smerriman Posted January 16, 2020 Report Share Posted January 16, 2020 it would usually not be alertable if it shows fit and invitational strengthI think you mean the opposite. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts