weejonnie Posted October 4, 2019 Report Share Posted October 4, 2019 I still fail to see how the revoke correcting procedure can leave the offenders with any advantage (other than avoiding the full consequences of an established revoke). Example(s) rather than just theory please.Dummy has QJT9 and declarer has a singleton Ace. Declarer leads the Queen from dummy and declarer discards. LHO now follows with the King. Declarer "Oops! I pulled out the wrong card - I have the Ace, singleton moreover". LHO can change their card of course. Declarer can now try and ruff out the King instead of playing a ruffing finesse - or take another line, perhaps finessing in another suit. (From V Mollo) Of course if the offenders obey the rule of law then they cannot make use of this information but a declarer who would deliberately stoop to such an action is unlikely to be one who would not take advantage of the UI. I am pretty sure there is an example in a TD course where a player revokes and this changes the odds significantly on whether an outstanding honour card will fall. Although this may just count as theory. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
blackshoe Posted October 4, 2019 Report Share Posted October 4, 2019 Of course, the player in question would presumably have had the same reaction whatever the ruling was. Maybe he was hoping you would make an error so he could just collect his A+?No, he was just being a jerk. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
barmar Posted October 4, 2019 Report Share Posted October 4, 2019 If you are absolutely sure that your memory of the law is complete and correct, you're probably wrong.There are a very small number of Laws that I think I know like the back of my hand. This wasn't one of them, so I would always pull out the book. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
barmar Posted October 4, 2019 Report Share Posted October 4, 2019 They trust your memory more than the original source? Bizarre.I think players expect the TD to "know" the Laws, and having to pull out the book makes them seem unsure what they're doing. This is of course ridiculous, but impressions are not always based on rational consideration. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
pran Posted October 4, 2019 Report Share Posted October 4, 2019 Dummy has QJT9 and declarer has a singleton Ace. Declarer leads the Queen from dummy and declarer discards. LHO now follows with the King. Declarer "Oops! I pulled out the wrong card - I have the Ace, singleton moreover". LHO can change their card of course. Declarer can now try and ruff out the King instead of playing a ruffing finesse - or take another line, perhaps finessing in another suit. (From V Mollo) Of course if the offenders obey the rule of law then they cannot make use of this information but a declarer who would deliberately stoop to such an action is unlikely to be one who would not take advantage of the UI. I am pretty sure there is an example in a TD course where a player revokes and this changes the odds significantly on whether an outstanding honour card will fall. Although this may just count as theory.For an offending side, information arising from its own withdrawn action and from withdrawn actions of the non-offending side is unauthorized. A player of an offending side may not choose a call or play that is demonstrably suggested over another by unauthorized information if the other call or play is a logical alternative.So the Director shall adjust the result if an offender attempts this coup.(Whether the offender can claim that the UI did not influence his choice is immaterial unless he can show that the UI really had no impact here) Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vampyr Posted October 4, 2019 Report Share Posted October 4, 2019 I recently had a very uncommon ruling — a person had prematurely corrected an insufficient bid with a sufficient bid in another suit. I was certain that partner was barred, but felt that it didn’t hurt to check in the law book. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
barmar Posted October 7, 2019 Report Share Posted October 7, 2019 I recently had a very uncommon ruling — a person had prematurely corrected an insufficient bid with a sufficient bid in another suit. I was certain that partner was barred, but felt that it didn’t hurt to check in the law book.I always need to check the book to determine whether partner is barred for one round or the rest of the auction (although in practice the difference is usually immaterial, as the opponents should pass to deny the barred player a chance to bid again, and the offending player should assume they'll do this). Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
zenbiddist Posted October 7, 2019 Author Report Share Posted October 7, 2019 If RHO wins the ace, both defenders have a major penalty card. So law 50D2 kicks in. Before RHO leads, declarer gets the normal lead options associated with LHO's penalty card. If their penalty card is compatible with declarer's choice, they must lead that. If not, they lead another card and it remains as a penalty card. Thanks! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
pescetom Posted October 8, 2019 Report Share Posted October 8, 2019 I recently had a very uncommon ruling — a person had prematurely corrected an insufficient bid with a sufficient bid in another suit. I was certain that partner was barred, but felt that it didn’t hurt to check in the law book. I think barred for the whole auction, but I'm not certain and so would definitely check here. It's not a classic like say lead out of turn. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
pran Posted October 8, 2019 Report Share Posted October 8, 2019 I recently had a very uncommon ruling — a person had prematurely corrected an insufficient bid with a sufficient bid in another suit. I was certain that partner was barred, but felt that it didn’t hurt to check in the law book.I think barred for the whole auction, but I'm not certain and so would definitely check here. It's not a classic like say lead out of turn.correct:except as provided in B1 above, if the insufficient bid is corrected by a sufficient bid or by a pass, the offender’s partner must pass whenever it is his turn to call. The lead restrictions in Law 26B may apply, and see Law 72C.The fact that the correction was premature is irrelevant for this ruling If the offender replaces his insufficient bid before the Director has ruled on rectification the substitution, if legal, stands unless the insufficient bid is accepted as A1 allows (but see B3 above). The Director applies the relevant foregoing section to the substitution. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vampyr Posted October 9, 2019 Report Share Posted October 9, 2019 The fact that the correction was premature is irrelevant for this ruling Well, yes, I know this because I read the law at the time but it stands to reason. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Join the conversation
You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.