Jump to content

Unestablished revoke continuation


zenbiddist

Recommended Posts

I still fail to see how the revoke correcting procedure can leave the offenders with any advantage (other than avoiding the full consequences of an established revoke).

 

Example(s) rather than just theory please.

Dummy has QJT9 and declarer has a singleton Ace.

 

Declarer leads the Queen from dummy and declarer discards. LHO now follows with the King.

 

Declarer "Oops! I pulled out the wrong card - I have the Ace, singleton moreover". LHO can change their card of course.

 

Declarer can now try and ruff out the King instead of playing a ruffing finesse - or take another line, perhaps finessing in another suit. (From V Mollo)

 

Of course if the offenders obey the rule of law then they cannot make use of this information but a declarer who would deliberately stoop to such an action is unlikely to be one who would not take advantage of the UI.

 

I am pretty sure there is an example in a TD course where a player revokes and this changes the odds significantly on whether an outstanding honour card will fall. Although this may just count as theory.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

They trust your memory more than the original source? Bizarre.

I think players expect the TD to "know" the Laws, and having to pull out the book makes them seem unsure what they're doing.

 

This is of course ridiculous, but impressions are not always based on rational consideration.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Dummy has QJT9 and declarer has a singleton Ace.

 

Declarer leads the Queen from dummy and declarer discards. LHO now follows with the King.

 

Declarer "Oops! I pulled out the wrong card - I have the Ace, singleton moreover". LHO can change their card of course.

 

Declarer can now try and ruff out the King instead of playing a ruffing finesse - or take another line, perhaps finessing in another suit. (From V Mollo)

 

Of course if the offenders obey the rule of law then they cannot make use of this information but a declarer who would deliberately stoop to such an action is unlikely to be one who would not take advantage of the UI.

 

I am pretty sure there is an example in a TD course where a player revokes and this changes the odds significantly on whether an outstanding honour card will fall. Although this may just count as theory.

For an offending side, information arising from its own withdrawn action and from withdrawn actions of the non-offending side is unauthorized. A player of an offending side may not choose a call or play that is demonstrably suggested over another by unauthorized information if the other call or play is a logical alternative.

So the Director shall adjust the result if an offender attempts this coup.

(Whether the offender can claim that the UI did not influence his choice is immaterial unless he can show that the UI really had no impact here)

Link to comment
Share on other sites

I recently had a very uncommon ruling — a person had prematurely corrected an insufficient bid with a sufficient bid in another suit. I was certain that partner was barred, but felt that it didn’t hurt to check in the law book.

I always need to check the book to determine whether partner is barred for one round or the rest of the auction (although in practice the difference is usually immaterial, as the opponents should pass to deny the barred player a chance to bid again, and the offending player should assume they'll do this).

Link to comment
Share on other sites

If RHO wins the ace, both defenders have a major penalty card. So law 50D2 kicks in. Before RHO leads, declarer gets the normal lead options associated with LHO's penalty card. If their penalty card is compatible with declarer's choice, they must lead that. If not, they lead another card and it remains as a penalty card.

 

Thanks!

Link to comment
Share on other sites

I recently had a very uncommon ruling — a person had prematurely corrected an insufficient bid with a sufficient bid in another suit. I was certain that partner was barred, but felt that it didn’t hurt to check in the law book.

 

I think barred for the whole auction, but I'm not certain and so would definitely check here. It's not a classic like say lead out of turn.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

I recently had a very uncommon ruling — a person had prematurely corrected an insufficient bid with a sufficient bid in another suit. I was certain that partner was barred, but felt that it didn’t hurt to check in the law book.

I think barred for the whole auction, but I'm not certain and so would definitely check here. It's not a classic like say lead out of turn.

correct:

except as provided in B1 above, if the insufficient bid is corrected by a sufficient bid or by a pass, the offender’s partner must pass whenever it is his turn to call. The lead restrictions in Law 26B may apply, and see Law 72C.

The fact that the correction was premature is irrelevant for this ruling

If the offender replaces his insufficient bid before the Director has ruled on rectification the substitution, if legal, stands unless the insufficient bid is accepted as A1 allows (but see B3 above). The Director applies the relevant foregoing section to the substitution.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Loading...
×
×
  • Create New...