Jump to content

Contested claim - 6NT contract


BudH

Recommended Posts

When you have a poll, you don’t ask the players about the Laws, but about their bid or play in a given situation. So, I don’t understand your point.

Exactly.

And that is why I wouldn't dream of making a poll in a claim case like this.

The Laws are clear, the claimer has made his claim statement, any doubtful points shall be ruled to his disadvantage - end of story.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Exactly.

And that is why I wouldn't dream of making a poll in a claim case like this.

The Laws are clear, the claimer has made his claim statement, any doubtful points shall be ruled to his disadvantage - end of story.

Right. But that does not mean that he is forced to make a ridiculous play, even if that is his claim statement. The laws allow the declarer to replace an abnormal claim statement with the worst normal one:

 

70D1 The Director shall not accept from claimer any successful line of play not embraced in the original clarification statement if there is an alternative normal line of play that would be less successful.

 

So, if he states: "Play ace, king, and another heart and whoever wins is endplayed to lead a diamond", and he meant "Play ace, king, and another diamond and whoever wins is endplayed to lead a heart", he is allowed to say that he "misspoke" and change it, if the former line is legal but ridiculous. For example, the hearts are AJ2 opposite KT3 and the diamonds are AK2 opposite 543, and the other card for declarer is a trump in each hand, trumps having been drawn.

 

And this example is two down I think. Declarer loses two clubs, as it is "normal" but inferior to cash the clubs before the hearts.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Right. But that does not mean that he is forced to make a ridiculous play, even if that is his claim statement. The laws allow the declarer to replace an abnormal claim statement with the worst normal one:

 

70D1 The Director shall not accept from claimer any successful line of play not embraced in the original clarification statement if there is an alternative normal line of play that would be less successful

{.......}

If you want to be technical:

The laws do not distinguish between "normal" and "abnormal" claim statements.

 

A player is bound by his claim statement however "abnormal" it might be judged in a later analysis. The qualification "normal" is only relevant when considering alternative lines of play all embraced within the original claim statement.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

No, it doesn't. It allows claimer to amplify on his original line of play statement, if in fact he made one, so long as he stays within the bounds of the stated line. If he strays outside of those bounds, the director will allow that only if there is no normal alternative line that would be less successful.
Link to comment
Share on other sites

No, it doesn't. It allows claimer to amplify on his original line of play statement, if in fact he made one, so long as he stays within the bounds of the stated line. If he strays outside of those bounds, the director will allow that only if there is no normal alternative line that would be less successful.

Including the originally stated line of play.

Note that while Law 70D explicitly requires an alternative line to be "normal" there is no such requirement for the originally stated line of play.

The fact that it was stated by the claimer automatically qualifies that line to be "normal" within the context of the laws.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

No, it doesn't. It allows claimer to amplify on his original line of play statement, if in fact he made one, so long as he stays within the bounds of the stated line. If he strays outside of those bounds, the director will allow that only if there is no normal alternative line that would be less successful.

It doesn't say that. Nothing about amplifying. Nothing about staying within the bounds of the stated line. Nothing about straying outside those bounds. It says:

1. The Director shall not accept from claimer any successful line of play not embraced in the original clarification statement if there is an alternative normal line of play that would be less successful.

 

The corollary of that is that the TD WILL accept a successful line of play not embraced in the original clarification statement if there is no alternative normal line of play that would be less successful. Nothing in this Law suggests or implies that the successful line of play will be "trumped" by the original clarification statement.

 

If you force declarer to abide by a claim statement that is not normal, then RR should always claim silently.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

The fact that it was stated by the claimer automatically qualifies that line to be "normal" within the context of the laws.

Again nothing in the Laws states that. If declarer says "drawing trumps from the bottom up", and the only normal line is "drawing trumps from the top down", then the declarer is allowed to replace his ridiculous "misspoken" claim with the only normal line. If he had said "drawing trumps", he would have been given the contract. It is a complete myth that the declarer is bound by his clarification statement or that his clarification statement is necessarily a normal line.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Loading...
×
×
  • Create New...