BudH Posted September 26, 2019 Report Share Posted September 26, 2019 [hv=pc=n&s=skt7hkqtdt9ckqj83&w=sj62h84dq7cat7654&n=sa95ha97dakj854c9&e=sq843hj6532d632c2&d=n&v=e&b=9&a=1dp3np6nppp]399|300[/hv] Against 6NT, the ♣A is led followed by a spade switch to the 5, Q, and K. At trick 3, declarer leads the ♦10 and passes it, followed by the ♦9, Q, A, 3. Now declarer claims, saying, "throwing a spade loser on the king of diamonds, heart to my hand, and my clubs are good". "Director, please!" This happened in a moderate size club game with slightly below average quality players. The declarer in this case is a reasonable Flight B type player, better than the average player at this club. What would be your ruling on how many tricks you allow declarer to score? And why? If it matters, also describe if your ruling would change if the player was an expert or "near expert". Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cyberyeti Posted September 26, 2019 Report Share Posted September 26, 2019 I don't think he makes it, and this is where I think the claim law is an ass. According to the claim law and his stated line he cashes 3 diamonds then is assumed to cash all the major suit winners leaving him with KQJ8♣ and loses the final trick when if he played it out he'd try the clubs first then go back to the diamonds. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
pescetom Posted September 26, 2019 Report Share Posted September 26, 2019 I think the ass is the claimant here and I would rule against him whatever his level. We've all been there and done the same thing, but his claim as expressed is temerarious and no way does he deserve a chance to understand why and claim or play differently. 3 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
blackshoe Posted September 26, 2019 Report Share Posted September 26, 2019 I'm with Tom. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ahydra Posted September 27, 2019 Report Share Posted September 27, 2019 Down 2 - simply follow the claim statement. Declarer plays DK throwing a spade, heart to K, then ♣KQJ8. West will beat the C8 with the C10 and cash a long club. Whatever West returns, declarer has the rest. Notes: - normally suits are considered to be played top-down, though your RA's view on this may vary- one could try to argue for more down via e.g. discarding the SA on the clubs but I don't think that is equitable nor "normal". Indeed the "spade loser" part of the claim statement is consistent with declarer knowing he needs the SA to cover a round of spades.- why on earth did declarer not just run diamonds after successfully finessing? :/- my ruling is the same regardless of the skill level of the player. The claim statement is simply incorrect. ahydra Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
gordontd Posted September 27, 2019 Report Share Posted September 27, 2019 I don't think he makes it, and this is where I think the claim law is an ass. According to the claim law and his stated line he cashes 3 diamonds then is assumed to cash all the major suit winners leaving him with KQJ8♣ and loses the final trick when if he played it out he'd try the clubs first then go back to the diamonds.If he would have tested the clubs first, he would have made a different claim statement. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cyberyeti Posted September 27, 2019 Report Share Posted September 27, 2019 If he would have tested the clubs first, he would have made a different claim statement. Actually he just said "heart to hand" not cashing all of them, in practice I think he wakes up when E discards on the next club, but the claim law doesn't allow that. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tramticket Posted September 27, 2019 Report Share Posted September 27, 2019 Actually he just said "heart to hand" not cashing all of them, in practice I think he wakes up when E discards on the next club, but the claim law doesn't allow that. I agree that declarer wakes up. But ... This was probably not played in England, but under EBU guidance (WB: 8.70.9): "--- The interpretation/implementation of Law 70 in the EBU remains that it is careless, and therefore “normal”, for the claimer not to pay attention to cards played by the other side, and that claimer will continue with the original line until presumed winners are not winning." I would be pretty cheesed-off if my claim were disallowed in these circumstanced, but I think that the EBU guidance is clear. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cyberyeti Posted September 27, 2019 Report Share Posted September 27, 2019 I agree that declarer wakes up. But ... This was probably not played in England, but under EBU guidance (WB: 8.70.9): "--- The interpretation/implementation of Law 70 in the EBU remains that it is careless, and therefore “normal”, for the claimer not to pay attention to cards played by the other side, and that claimer will continue with the original line until presumed winners are not winning." I would be pretty cheesed-off if my claim were disallowed in these circumstanced, but I think that the EBU guidance is clear. I absolutely agree, the stupid thing is if he claims without a line he probably gets away with it due to the diamonds. This is a law/guidance I've fundamentally disagreed with for a long time. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
blackshoe Posted September 27, 2019 Report Share Posted September 27, 2019 I absolutely agree, the stupid thing is if he claims without a line he probably gets away with it due to the diamonds.He shouldn't, of course. if he does, the director has made an error. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cyberyeti Posted September 27, 2019 Report Share Posted September 27, 2019 He shouldn't, of course. if he does, the director has made an error. Why not, you have about 14 of the last 12 tricks with no entry issues 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
barmar Posted September 27, 2019 Report Share Posted September 27, 2019 I'm with Tom.Me, too, but first I had to look up "temerarious". Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
BudH Posted September 27, 2019 Author Report Share Posted September 27, 2019 I admit after some significant thought that I allowed 12 tricks to be claimed. I thought this was a close decision and the club split plus not seeing the ♣10 plus the fortunate dummy entry still available were factors in my decision. Can someone point me to a source for either EBU or especially ACBL guidance about whether declarer is allowed to notice when either defender shows out on the line of play he describes, and using that information. (I do seem to remember a claimer is allowed to notice an opponent showing out of a suit making a finesse a certainty through the other opponent.) Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
pran Posted September 27, 2019 Report Share Posted September 27, 2019 I admit after some significant thought that I allowed 12 tricks to be claimed. I thought this was a close decision and the club split plus not seeing the ♣10 plus the fortunate dummy entry still available were factors in my decision. Can someone point me to a source for either EBU or especially ACBL guidance about whether declarer is allowed to notice when either defender shows out on the line of play he describes, and using that information. (I do seem to remember a claimer is allowed to notice an opponent showing out of a suit making a finesse a certainty through the other opponent.)A claimer is allowed to "notice" a show-out if it must appear before the claimer needs this information in order to change his stated line of play (Law 70E1). It appears to me that taken literally the stated line of play in this case will have cut off the access to the Diamond tricks in dummy at the time the claimer discovers that his Clubs do not break? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
BudH Posted September 27, 2019 Author Report Share Posted September 27, 2019 A claimer is allowed to "notice" a show-out if it must appear before the claimer needs this information in order to change his stated line of play (Law 70E1). It appears to me that taken literally the stated line of play in this case will have cut off the access to the Diamond tricks in dummy at the time the claimer discovers that his Clubs do not break? He has both a ♠A and a ♥A entry to dummy after leading low to his ♥K and then starting his club plays from the top. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
PeterAlan Posted September 27, 2019 Report Share Posted September 27, 2019 Can someone point me to a source for either EBU or especially ACBL guidance about whether declarer is allowed to notice when either defender shows out on the line of play he describes, and using that information. (I do seem to remember a claimer is allowed to notice an opponent showing out of a suit making a finesse a certainty through the other opponent.)The EBU White Book gives the following guidance: [Edit: I see that Tramticket has already posted the last paragraph above.] 8.70.9 Claim can be seen to break down – when can claimer change line? Suppose it is explicit or implicit in declarer’s claim that a long suit will be good (if played from the top) but in fact the suit is breaking badly and the long cards in the suit are not good. Is it normal for declarer to continue to play the suit, when the bad break has come to light, or in adjudicating the claim, can declarer be assumed to try a different suit for the tricks they need? The L&EC is aware that different attitudes to this question are sometimes expressed, in both rulings and TD training. Some would allow claimer the benefit of noticing that the suit has broken badly (for instance) and to depart from their original line. This attitude may have been more noticeable since the new laws in 2017, although there was no real change to Law 70. The interpretation/implementation of Law 70 in the EBU remains that it is careless, and therefore “normal”, for the claimer not to pay attention to cards played by the other side, and that claimer will continue with the original line until presumed winners are not winning.In this case, declarer finds that the presumed ♣8 'winner' is not in fact winning when W takes ♣10 and, presumably, another, so the result on the basis of the last paragraph would be -2. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weejonnie Posted September 27, 2019 Report Share Posted September 27, 2019 The EBU White Book gives the following guidance: In this case, declarer finds that the presumed ♣8 'winner' is not in fact winning when W takes ♣10 and, presumably, another, so the result on the basis of the last paragraph would be -2.The law says: "In ruling on a contested claim or concession, the Director adjudicates the result of the board asequitably as possible to both sides, but any doubtful point as to a claim shall be resolved againstthe claimer. The Director proceeds as follows." It is very hard to have to rule that 6NT is going off when the declarer has 6 diamonds, 3 hearts, 2 spades and 3 clubs to cash. Is that equitable???? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cyberyeti Posted September 27, 2019 Report Share Posted September 27, 2019 The law says: "In ruling on a contested claim or concession, the Director adjudicates the result of the board asequitably as possible to both sides, but any doubtful point as to a claim shall be resolved againstthe claimer. The Director proceeds as follows." It is very hard to have to rule that 6NT is going off when the declarer has 6 diamonds, 3 hearts, 2 spades and 3 clubs to cash. Is that equitable???? Well he has specifically stated that he thinks the clubs are all good, so his stated line is to cash them all. This is why I said had he stated no line he gets away with it, but here he doesn't, he possibly misremembered E's club as the 10 which is all that's required for this to be a correct claim. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
PeterAlan Posted September 28, 2019 Report Share Posted September 28, 2019 The law says: "In ruling on a contested claim or concession, the Director adjudicates the result of the board asequitably as possible to both sides, but any doubtful point as to a claim shall be resolved againstthe claimer. The Director proceeds as follows." It is very hard to have to rule that 6NT is going off when the declarer has 6 diamonds, 3 hearts, 2 spades and 3 clubs to cash. Is that equitable????Of course it's equitable: we have a declarer who's careless enough not to realise (or at least to mention) that all his ♦s are good, and instead bases a claim on making all 4 further ♣ tricks when they don't all cash, presumably because he's also careless enough not to realise that the ♣10 is still out. It must be a 'doubtful point' that he would wake up to that latter point, and I see no conflict with the law in resolving it against him. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
sanst Posted September 28, 2019 Report Share Posted September 28, 2019 The declarer should have noticed that he had 5 clubs and the dummy just one. That makes it rather likely that the clubs are not “good” already when the dummy is tabled. The declarer obviously didn’t notice that, or thought that both the nine and ten had been played in the first trick. On top of that he didn’t notice that the diamonds were good. At the moment of the claim he had 14 potential tricks, but made a wrong and rather stupid claim. Whether he would notice the bad break of the clubs is irrelevant, but a claim that is faulty, is relevant and therefore you should decide against him. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
blackshoe Posted September 28, 2019 Report Share Posted September 28, 2019 Suppose we took a poll, and fifty two pollees say claimer should make his contract, because after all looking at the hand, he has fourteen top tricks. The director says "but he stated a line of play which results in him losing a trick he claimed, so he's down one". So... "fifty two ayes, and one no. The noes have it." The fifty two may think that's harsh, but it's the law. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
pran Posted September 28, 2019 Report Share Posted September 28, 2019 Suppose we took a poll, and fifty two pollees say claimer should make his contract, because after all looking at the hand, he has fourteen top tricks. The director says "but he stated a line of play which results in him losing a trick he claimed, so he's down one". So... "fifty two ayes, and one no. The noes have it." The fifty two may think that's harsh, but it's the law.I never dare try a poll among the players when I am the Director, I know very well that those "who best know the rules" have probably never even opened a law book - they just know. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weejonnie Posted September 30, 2019 Report Share Posted September 30, 2019 I didn't say I wouldn't rule -1: I said it was a very hard thing to do - since the law does say that the TD has to be equitable to both sides. This is the effect of the 'any doubtful point', (similar to the dreaded 'could have known' law 72C (which I applied yesterday and might have resulterd in a change of the winners of an event)), rather than 'any reasonably doubtful point'. In forums (here and elsewhere) TDs and players delight in trying to concoct the most unlikely plays that result in declarer making the least tricks. And the worst point - we cannot use discretion to award a weighted decision. We decide how the hand WOULD have been played out, rather than how the hand MIGHT have been played out. With the laws now encouraging weighted decisions in judgement cases arising from UI and MI, should they now extend it to claims? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
PeterAlan Posted September 30, 2019 Report Share Posted September 30, 2019 I didn't say I wouldn't rule -1: I said it was a very hard thing to do - since the law does say that the TD has to be equitable to both sides.I hope you wouldn't rule -1, since it's either making or -2 (W has a long ♣ as well as the 10). This is the effect of the 'any doubtful point', … rather than 'any reasonably doubtful point'. That change of wording wouldn't change my view of this particular case in your and my [EBU] jurisdiction, unless EBU's guidance changed in a way that clearly made it necessary. Remember, it's not really that declarer can be thinking that his ♣s must be running through length, and will wake up to E showing out: he must be thinking that ♣8 is winning by force. What reason do you have for thinking that declarer would depart from the line of his claim statement? In forums (here and elsewhere) TDs and players delight in trying to concoct the most unlikely plays that result in declarer making the least tricks.That's a real overbid in this case: as has been made clear, declarer's claim statement ignores several realities that he should be aware of, and it's hardly unreasonable to hold him to it. As soon as he loses the ♣8 he's -2, and I haven't seen anyone 'concocting' any other 'unlikely play' to increase the damage. And the worst point - we cannot use discretion to award a weighted decision. We decide how the hand WOULD have been played out, rather than how the hand MIGHT have been played out. With the laws now encouraging weighted decisions in judgement cases arising from UI and MI, should they now extend it to claims?I think this would be a mistake: it's tantamount to deciding on an a priori probability that the player would have independently woken up to the deficiencies in a claim statement had the hand been played out, and I prefer the current single choice based on the requisite balance of the circumstances in each case. In virtually every contentious contested claim the contest is only over whether the player would or would not have done some specific thing at a particular point, and is a purely binary decision; this is not the general position in other judgment cases to which weighted scores apply, when there are frequently several possible outcomes to be considered and assessed. 2 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
sanst Posted October 1, 2019 Report Share Posted October 1, 2019 I never dare try a poll among the players when I am the Director, I know very well that those "who best know the rules" have probably never even opened a law book - they just know.When you have a poll, you don’t ask the players about the Laws, but about their bid or play in a given situation. So, I don’t understand your point. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Join the conversation
You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.