pran Posted July 18, 2019 Report Share Posted July 18, 2019 The ACBL rules mentioned above do cause a minor problem. A 'slow' player takes out a pass card: the 'fast' player sees it coming and makes a call. The 'slow' player sees this call and puts back the pass card, replacing it with a bid. Does this mean that the call made by the 'fast' player is made at the same time i.e. subsequent to the call by the slow player or before? Anyway - IMHO in the EBU the use of the STOP card is part of the regulations of the RA and so is AI - it is nothing to do with making a call. Indeed the RA is clear that pulling the STOP card out of turn is not per se causing a COOT (although in that case UI is available).If you read the comment I quoted you should see that two calls are never considered simultaneous unless they are clearly independent of each other. The action you describe for the slow player is clearly not independent of the action taken by the fast player (he changes his mind when seeing the coming call by the fast player) so Law 33 can never apply here. (And by the way, to avoid any discussion about the authority of EBL, ACBL and WBF: The commentary was written by Grattan Endicott and Bent Keith Hansen for EBL in full cooperation with WBF.) In my examples the two calls in question are completely independent of each other and shall therefore be handled under Law 33. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
pescetom Posted July 18, 2019 Report Share Posted July 18, 2019 Commentary on the Laws of Duplicate Contract Bridge 1987 issued by EBL in 1992 said: 33.2Obviously no two calls can ever be truly simultaneous in the strict sense of the word. When, however, two calls are made at approximately the same instant, and are clearly independent of each other, the Director should treat them as simultaneous. This Law is not to be used to excuse non-simultaneous actions, even though they may be clearly independent. In close situations the matter of independence and/or possible influence should be considered. If you read the comment I quoted you should see that two calls are never considered simultaneous unless they are clearly independent of each other. The action you describe for the slow player is clearly not independent of the action taken by the fast player (he changes his mind when seeing the coming call by the fast player) so Law 33 can never apply here.I agree that the example of a slow player who takes advantage of a faster call clearly fails the test of independence and should be treated as out of turn. Even if you consider the OP example as a potential candidate for Law 33 (which I would not under my RA regulations), I would argue that it also fails the test of independence in that the faster player may well have seen the Stop card hit the table and taken it for a call, having already decided to pass over any call. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
pran Posted July 18, 2019 Report Share Posted July 18, 2019 Commentary on the Laws of Duplicate Contract Bridge 1987 issued by EBL in 1992 said: 33.2Obviously no two calls can ever be truly simultaneous in the strict sense of the word. When, however, two calls are made at approximately the same instant, and are clearly independent of each other, the Director should treat them as simultaneous. This Law is not to be used to excuse non-simultaneous actions, even though they may be clearly independent. In close situations the matter of independence and/or possible influence should be considered. I agree that the example of a slow player who takes advantage of a faster call clearly fails the test of independence and should be treated as out of turn. Even if you consider the OP example as a potential candidate for Law 33 (which I would not under my RA regulations), I would argue that it also fails the test of independence in that the faster player may well have seen the Stop card hit the table and taken it for a call, having already decided to pass over any call.In that case I would without any doubt rule that his call is subsequent (to the call he mentally registered made by his RHO). I am fully aware of the ACBL regulation about when a call is made and I think this example clearly shows why that regulation is unfortunate (to say the least). Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
blackshoe Posted July 18, 2019 Report Share Posted July 18, 2019 The regulation may be unfortunate, but it is the regulation we have. If the situation described (fast player sees slow player reaching for, or even touching, a pass card, and bids quickly, and now slow player changes his mind and pulls out a bid) were to actually happen (I've never seen it) I think it would be wrong to rule that slow player's bid is out of turn. After all, slow player had not made a bid when fast player made his bid. So either fast player's bid is out of turn, or it is deemed to be subsequent to slow player's bid, in which case it may be insufficient. This may give rise to further complications. For example, fast player's bid may have different meanings depending on whether slow player has passed or bid. But we can't just arbitrarily do whatever we like here - we have to follow the law. All that said, the possibility of giving slow player a procedural penalty exists, even if we rule that he hadn't made a call when fast player called. After all, we are told we should not be touching for (or reaching for?) the bidding box until we have decided what to call (that doesn't change the fact that by regulation a call is not made until the bidding cards are on the table - acknowledging that the regulation doesn't quite say that). Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
barmar Posted July 18, 2019 Report Share Posted July 18, 2019 I agree with blackshoe on this. The slow player is legally allowed to change his bid before it meets the criteria for being "made", but in additional to a possible PP for touching the bidding cards prematurely there may be UI implications from partner having seen his original attempted call. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
pran Posted July 18, 2019 Report Share Posted July 18, 2019 Here are some extracts from the relevant Norwegian regulations: (I have reason to believe that these conform completely with the corresponding EBL regulations.) Bid boxes:A call is considered made if the bid card is removed from the bid box with the clear intention of making that call (See exception when screens are used). Law 25A applies if the card removed from the bid box is not the desired call. STOP:When STOP is announced (verbally or by removing the STOP card from the bid box) the next player in turn to call is forbidden from making any call until the player who signaled STOP indicates the end of the STOP period (by retracting the STOP card or saying words to the effect of "continue"). It appears to me that the "problems" possible with the ACBL regulation(s) simply cannot occur with our regulations? The fact that ACBL has abandoned the use of STOP seems completely irrelevant in this context. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vampyr Posted July 18, 2019 Report Share Posted July 18, 2019 In that case I would without any doubt rule that his call is subsequent (to the call he mentally registered made by his RHO). This is nonsense. How can a call be subsequent to no call? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
pran Posted July 18, 2019 Report Share Posted July 18, 2019 This is nonsense. How can a call be subsequent to no call?Which means that he has just called out of turn. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
barmar Posted July 19, 2019 Report Share Posted July 19, 2019 This is nonsense. How can a call be subsequent to no call?It's not "no call". Pran was talking about the situation where player A is making a call slowly, and while this is in progress (but before it meets the criteria for a call) player B makes a call, then player A backs up and makes a different call. Pran claims that B's call is subsequent to A's real call. This makes sense to me. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
pran Posted July 19, 2019 Report Share Posted July 19, 2019 It's not "no call". Pran was talking about the situation where player A is making a call slowly, and while this is in progress (but before it meets the criteria for a call) player B makes a call, then player A backs up and makes a different call. Pran claims that B's call is subsequent to A's real call. This makes sense to me.Careful, now! With ACBL regulations A has not yet made any call at the moment B makes his call. B has therefore called out of turn and A has then called. Whether A makes the call he originally intended or changes his mind when seeing the call out of turn by B is immaterial.The applicable law is now B. Call by Correct Player Cancelling Call Out of RotationA call is considered to be in rotation when made by a player whose turn it was to call before rectification has been assessed for a call out of rotation by an opponent. Making such a callforfeits the right to rectification for the call out of rotation. The auction proceeds as though the opponent had not called at that turn. Law 26 does not apply, but see Law 16C2. Regardless of jurisdiction: If A when seeing the "intervening" call by B "backs up and makes a different call" from what he originally intended, his new call is not independent of B's call and can therefore not be considered simultaneous with this. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vampyr Posted July 19, 2019 Report Share Posted July 19, 2019 Careful, now! With ACBL regulations A has not yet made any call at the moment B makes his call. B has therefore called out of turn and A has then called. Whether A makes the call he originally intended or changes his mind when seeing the call out of turn by B is immaterial.The applicable law is now Regardless of jurisdiction: If A when seeing the "intervening" call by B "backs up and makes a different call" from what he originally intended, his new call is not independent of B's call and can therefore not be considered simultaneous with this. As always, there is little point discussing ACBL regulations, because thankfully most of us do not have to deal with them.p Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
blackshoe Posted July 20, 2019 Report Share Posted July 20, 2019 As always, there is little point discussing ACBL regulations, because thankfully most of us do not have to deal with them.pYeah, well, some of us do, so yes, there's a point to discussing them. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
pran Posted July 20, 2019 Report Share Posted July 20, 2019 Yeah, well, some of us do, so yes, there's a point to discussing them.There is one specific situation for which I would like to learn the ACBL ruling: A player (in turn to call) removes a card from the bid box with the apparent intention of making that call and the card becomes visible to the other players at the table.However, rather than making the call (ACBL rules) he changes his mind, restores the selected card to the bid box and makes his call with a different card from the bid box. In Norway this is a clear cut case for Law 25, what about ACBL? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
blackshoe Posted July 20, 2019 Report Share Posted July 20, 2019 There is one specific situation for which I would like to learn the ACBL ruling: A player (in turn to call) removes a card from the bid box with the apparent intention of making that call and the card becomes visible to the other players at the table.However, rather than making the call (ACBL rules) he changes his mind, restores the selected card to the bid box and makes his call with a different card from the bid box. In Norway this is a clear cut case for Law 25, what about ACBL?Call's not made yet, so Law 25 doesn't apply. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
pran Posted July 20, 2019 Report Share Posted July 20, 2019 There is one specific situation for which I would like to learn the ACBL ruling: A player (in turn to call) removes a card from the bid box with the apparent intention of making that call and the card becomes visible to the other players at the table.However, rather than making the call (ACBL rules) he changes his mind, restores the selected card to the bid box and makes his call with a different card from the bid box. In Norway this is a clear cut case for Law 25, what about ACBL?Call's not made yet, so Law 25 doesn't apply.Does that mean that you rule "no irregularity"? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
blackshoe Posted July 20, 2019 Report Share Posted July 20, 2019 No. But the irregularity is providing UI to partner, so Law 16B applies. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
pran Posted July 21, 2019 Report Share Posted July 21, 2019 No. But the irregularity is providing UI to partner, so Law 16B applies.Good.Frankly, I was surprised when you didn't mention (at least) Law 16. :unsure: Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Join the conversation
You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.