Jump to content

Question about dummy touching Cards


Recommended Posts

While playing in an unsanctioned local club duplicate game, the play emptied two of dummy's suits. During a pause, dummy reached and separated the two remaining suits as they had become slightly ragged. Opponent at that time took exception and reached over pushing the suits back together and insinuated dummy was trying to confuse the opponents as to what trump was. Further, dummy was not aware of their mis-action, if any. Opponent accused dummy of purposely trying to gain some advantage by subterfuge. This created a stir, so I came home and googled the ACBL rules but can find no offending reference to dummy's actions. Beginning with rule 41 on dummy is laid out but no mention is made. I can see everyone's point of view in retrospect but i would like to know the rule if anyone can help. Thanking you in advance. Slohand12
Link to comment
Share on other sites

45 F Dummy Indicates Card

After dummy's hand is faced, dummy may not

touch or indicate any card (except for purpose of

arrangement) without instruction from declarer.

 

Rules didnt say can only arrange dummy at beginning of play. Sanity surely should prevail. Who hasn't rearrange dummy when it becomes messy?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Why would straightening out the cards confuse anyone about which suit is trump? As long as the trump suit is still on dummy's right, there shouldn't be any problem.

 

Perhaps if dummy no longer has trumps and the adjacent suit is moved right... but even so opponents still missed a good chance to keep quiet.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Steve and Peter are both right.

 

As declarer, I would have called the director. As director I would have ruled that dummy has done nothing wrong and that the defender has violated Law 7B3 and Law 74A2. The former rates a procedural penalty. If the Zero Tolerance policy is in effect, the insinuation is a ZT violation which requires a disciplinary penalty. So the defense rates to lose half a board in penalties. That may seem harsh, but I'll bet that defender won't make those mistakes again.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Loading...
×
×
  • Create New...