slohand Posted February 17, 2019 Report Share Posted February 17, 2019 While playing in an unsanctioned local club duplicate game, the play emptied two of dummy's suits. During a pause, dummy reached and separated the two remaining suits as they had become slightly ragged. Opponent at that time took exception and reached over pushing the suits back together and insinuated dummy was trying to confuse the opponents as to what trump was. Further, dummy was not aware of their mis-action, if any. Opponent accused dummy of purposely trying to gain some advantage by subterfuge. This created a stir, so I came home and googled the ACBL rules but can find no offending reference to dummy's actions. Beginning with rule 41 on dummy is laid out but no mention is made. I can see everyone's point of view in retrospect but i would like to know the rule if anyone can help. Thanking you in advance. Slohand12 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
steve2005 Posted February 18, 2019 Report Share Posted February 18, 2019 45 F Dummy Indicates CardAfter dummy's hand is faced, dummy may nottouch or indicate any card (except for purpose ofarrangement) without instruction from declarer. Rules didnt say can only arrange dummy at beginning of play. Sanity surely should prevail. Who hasn't rearrange dummy when it becomes messy? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
barmar Posted February 19, 2019 Report Share Posted February 19, 2019 Why would straightening out the cards confuse anyone about which suit is trump? As long as the trump suit is still on dummy's right, there shouldn't be any problem. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
slohand Posted February 19, 2019 Author Report Share Posted February 19, 2019 Thanks for your logical answers. I am now better educated. Slohand Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
pescetom Posted February 19, 2019 Report Share Posted February 19, 2019 Why would straightening out the cards confuse anyone about which suit is trump? As long as the trump suit is still on dummy's right, there shouldn't be any problem. Perhaps if dummy no longer has trumps and the adjacent suit is moved right... but even so opponents still missed a good chance to keep quiet. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
PeterAlan Posted February 20, 2019 Report Share Posted February 20, 2019 One matter that is clear is that an opponent touching dummy's cards without permission is in violation of Law 7B3. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
blackshoe Posted February 23, 2019 Report Share Posted February 23, 2019 Steve and Peter are both right. As declarer, I would have called the director. As director I would have ruled that dummy has done nothing wrong and that the defender has violated Law 7B3 and Law 74A2. The former rates a procedural penalty. If the Zero Tolerance policy is in effect, the insinuation is a ZT violation which requires a disciplinary penalty. So the defense rates to lose half a board in penalties. That may seem harsh, but I'll bet that defender won't make those mistakes again. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Join the conversation
You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.