Jump to content

OLOOT and a hasty dummy


sanst

Recommended Posts

May I draw attention to my post #8 (and also #12)?

 

I still think that the simplest way to avoid this nonsense (other than just ignoring it) is to rephrase the preamble in Law 54 to read:

When an opening lead out of turn is faced* then:

.....

*if offender’s partner leads face down, the director requires the face down lead to be retracted.

 

Rephrasing the law has merits. Rephrasing that way manifests a different nonsense.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Five possibilities:

 

1. Putative declarer's LHO leads face down, while putative declarer's RHO also leads face down.

2 Putative declarer's LHO leads face up, while putative declarer's RHO also leads face up.

3. Putative declarer's LHO leads face down, while putative declarer's RHO leads face up.

4. Putative declarer's LHO leads face up, while putative declarer's RHO leads face down.

5. Putative declarer's LHO makes no lead, while putative declarer's RHO leads face up.

 

Which law applies, or which laws apply, to each of these situations?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Five possibilities:

 

1. Putative declarer's LHO leads face down, while putative declarer's RHO also leads face down.

2 Putative declarer's LHO leads face up, while putative declarer's RHO also leads face up.

3. Putative declarer's LHO leads face down, while putative declarer's RHO leads face up.

4. Putative declarer's LHO leads face up, while putative declarer's RHO leads face down.

5. Putative declarer's LHO makes no lead, while putative declarer's RHO leads face up.

 

Which law applies, or which laws apply, to each of these situations?

1: 16B and 41A - The attempted lead by RHO is simply restored to his hand without being faced

2: 58A and 41C

3: 54

4: 16B and 41C - The attempted lead by RHO is simply restored to his hand without being faced

5: 54 - That is what this thread is all about, isn't it?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

I infer that you think that in cases 1 and 4 LHO has UI. What is the nature of this I? What does it imply?

The fact that RHO attempted OLOOT is UI to LHO. What could be inferred from this UI is not obvious.

 

(Maybe for instance the auction as such could give some clue?)

Link to comment
Share on other sites

The fact that RHO attempted OLOOT is UI to LHO. What could be inferred from this UI is not obvious.

You might suspect that they have a honding they're really eager to lead from, such as a singleton against a suit contract, or a nice honor sequence.

 

I think this is often the case when I attempt to OLOOT. Luckily I'm religious about making the OL face down, so we almost always catch it before it's faced.

 

I can't recall ever hearing of a TD being called to rule on the UI from a potential OLOOT that was not actually faced. Your turn, Lamford. :)

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Loading...
×
×
  • Create New...