jerdonald Posted July 25, 2018 Author Report Share Posted July 25, 2018 BBO forum, Thanks for all the replies. It's been pointed out here that the dummy can't participate in the declarer's play of the hand. Also the dummy can prevent declarer from making a mistake if it appears that he is about to. So if the dummy sometimes or often preemptively tells declarer where the next lead should come from is he not participating in the play? Doesn't seem like rules 42 and 43 are explicit enough to make a definite distinction. Leaving it up to the directors means that the ruling will vary from club to club. Jerryd Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
blackshoe Posted July 25, 2018 Report Share Posted July 25, 2018 Club directors, given the option to be "kind" to their players, will generally let them off the hook. It's probably not the best way to run a duplicate game, but they'll do as they please. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
barmar Posted July 26, 2018 Report Share Posted July 26, 2018 Then please clarify exactly how you interpret the laws and rule on:I'm not really sure, it's a conundrum. IWBNI the Laws Commission clarified where the line is. As a player I find the practice annoying, but I've never complained to anyone about it. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Join the conversation
You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.