Jump to content

Two Laws Tops


bixby

Recommended Posts

I was still standing right there, telling North not to lead a diamond. The club hit the table very fast; perhaps it's old age, but my reaction time just wasn't good enough.

I think Sven owes you an apology, Chris.

 

Taking for granted that chrism gave sufficient instructions at the table (and I do not dispute this) then:

 

the second LOOT by South is a severe violation of Law 90B8 and as such subject to a substantial procedure penalty (more than just a warning).

Link to comment
Share on other sites

the second LOOT by South is a severe violation of Law 90B8 and as such subject to a substantial procedure penalty (more than just a warning).

In principle I agree; however, this South is a fading shadow of a once fine player, who now has difficulty concentrating and is subject to frequent lapses. A PP would be pointless, serving only to punish the partners who make it possible for him to continue to enjoy the game. I shall know next time that I need to watch more closely.

 

Incidentally, the ruling is not 100% clear to me. The diamond had already ceased to be a penalty card, and a D lead was prohibited, at the point that the club was led OOT. I ruled that the prohibition remained in place, that the club was now a penalty card, and that the declarer could additionally require or forbid a club lead. An alternative would have been to let him forbid a club OR require a club OR forbid a diamond, with the club remaining a PC in the third case only. This seems to be one of those cases of double infraction that the Laws don't quite address, though of course I may be missing something.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

In principle I agree; however, this South is a fading shadow of a once fine player, who now has difficulty concentrating and is subject to frequent lapses. A PP would be pointless, serving only to punish the partners who make it possible for him to continue to enjoy the game. I shall know next time that I need to watch more closely.

That, of course, calls for leniency.

Incidentally, the ruling is not 100% clear to me. The diamond had already ceased to be a penalty card, and a D lead was prohibited, at the point that the club was led OOT. I ruled that the prohibition remained in place, that the club was now a penalty card, and that the declarer could additionally require or forbid a club lead. An alternative would have been to let him forbid a club OR require a club OR forbid a diamond, with the club remaining a PC in the third case only. This seems to be one of those cases of double infraction that the Laws don't quite address, though of course I may be missing something.

There is no doubt in the laws here and your ruling was as far as I understand quite correct: The prohibition against a diamond lead by North remains in force until a different player has had the lead, and in addition South now has an exposed club to be handled according to Law 50D (single major penalty card).

Link to comment
Share on other sites

However, if he indeed has done so then the second LOOT by South is a severe violation of Law 90B8 and as such subject to a substantial procedure penalty (more than just a warning).

I think 90B8 is about intentionally refusing to comply, not about misunderstanding or having a senior moment.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

I think 90B8 is about intentionally refusing to comply, not about misunderstanding or having a senior moment.

 

Having "a senior moment" might be excusable, misunderstanding a clear instruction from the Director is not (because it implies paying insufficient attention to the game - Law 74B1).

Law 90B8 says "failure". This law is violated also when the failure is unintended or when an instruction is just ignored.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Loading...
×
×
  • Create New...