bixby Posted July 9, 2018 Report Share Posted July 9, 2018 No question for the group, just a possibly amusing story. Playing in a regional ACBL tournament over the weekend, my partner and I got two tops off the Laws. On one board, we were on defense and the declarer, in 4S, ruffed a club in hand at trick 8 and claimed two tricks later for making 5. As he was pushing his cards together I happened to notice a club in his hand. We got two penalty tricks, even though without the revoke declarer would have made 4. +100 was tied for top. In the second session of the same event, my partner opened 3C as dealer and I held xxx / KJx / AQxx / Axx. I took a chance and bid 3NT, figuring that on any lead but a spade I would probably have nine tricks. The opening lead was a spade . . . from the wrong side! I called the Director more quickly and loudly than I think I ever have before, and exercised the option to require the correct defender to lead and to prohibit the lead of a spade. My LHO harrumphed for a while and finally led a diamond. Partner had xx / xx / Kx / KQxxxxx. +630 was a clear top. Stay alert to the Laws! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
steve2005 Posted July 9, 2018 Report Share Posted July 9, 2018 As he was pushing his cards together I happened to notice a club in his hand. We got two penalty tricks, Are you saying he never showed his hand when claiming? Very bad if so. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
bixby Posted July 9, 2018 Author Report Share Posted July 9, 2018 Good question. I don't fully remember, but I believe his claim was that dummy was good, so no one was focused on the cards in his hand. Declarer showed his hand, but only as part of the process of scooping his cards together. It wasn't anything nefarious. He was very surprised to learn that he had revoked. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
barmar Posted July 9, 2018 Report Share Posted July 9, 2018 Second hand is a counter-example to the old adage that you should usually accept a lead out of turn -- if they don't know whose lead it is, they probably don't know the correct lead. It also shows why the prohibition persists as long as the player holds the lead -- they couldn't just cash the ♥A and then switch to a spade. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weejonnie Posted July 9, 2018 Report Share Posted July 9, 2018 "I called the Director more quickly and loudly than I think I ever have before" Just to remind you that calling the director in an inappropriate manner is a breach of etiquette. This could lead on to a breach of law 74A (failing to maintain an courteous attitude at all times). Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
barmar Posted July 9, 2018 Report Share Posted July 9, 2018 I'm sure he just means he was very excited. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
bixby Posted July 9, 2018 Author Report Share Posted July 9, 2018 Yes, exactly. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
chrism Posted July 10, 2018 Report Share Posted July 10, 2018 I was directing a Regional last weekend and was called to the table: West was declarer, and South had just tabled an opening lead of a diamond. After listening to his options, declarer chose not to accept the LOOT and to forbid a diamond lead. South duly picked up his diamond ... and led a club. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weejonnie Posted July 11, 2018 Report Share Posted July 11, 2018 I was directing a Regional last weekend and was called to the table: West was declarer, and South had just tabled an opening lead of a diamond. After listening to his options, declarer chose not to accept the LOOT and to forbid a diamond lead. South duly picked up his diamond ... and led a club.Could be interesting if declarer forbids the club, and then a diamond, and then a heart! - if South persists. (Actually I can't think off-hand anywhere that would stop this - the cards are no longer penalty cards. I mean - if you demand a suit is led and it can't be then the penalty lapses and if you forbid a suit from being led and the defender only has the suit then the penalty lapses, but not under the above circumstances.) Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
pran Posted July 11, 2018 Report Share Posted July 11, 2018 I was directing a Regional last weekend and was called to the table: West was declarer, and South had just tabled an opening lead of a diamond. After listening to his options, declarer chose not to accept the LOOT and to forbid a diamond lead. South duly picked up his diamond ... and led a club.Could be interesting if declarer forbids the club, and then a diamond, and then a heart! - if South persists. (Actually I can't think off-hand anywhere that would stop this - the cards are no longer penalty cards. I mean - if you demand a suit is led and it can't be then the penalty lapses and if you forbid a suit from being led and the defender only has the suit then the penalty lapses, but not under the above circumstances.)What surprised me was that the Director apparently left the table without verifying that a proper rectification was executed. When declarer had made his choice the Director ought to 1: Order South to pick up his diamond and 2: Order North to lead a card other than a diamond. Only when these actions are completed should the Director leave the table (it shouldn't take that many seconds). Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
barmar Posted July 11, 2018 Report Share Posted July 11, 2018 What surprised me was that the Director apparently left the table without verifying that a proper rectification was executed.Chris's post doesn't say that, I don't think it even suggests it. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
pran Posted July 11, 2018 Report Share Posted July 11, 2018 Chris's post doesn't say that, I don't think it even suggests it.No, he doesn't say.But the facts given in the story speaks for itself.Even a mediocre director would (if still present) have prevented the continued irregularities by South. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
gordontd Posted July 11, 2018 Report Share Posted July 11, 2018 No, he doesn't say.But the facts given in the story speaks for itself.Even a mediocre director would (if still present) have prevented the continued irregularities by South.How precisely? Dive on the table to cover up the card? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
pran Posted July 11, 2018 Report Share Posted July 11, 2018 How precisely? Dive on the table to cover up the card?I am really surprised over these comments. How do you actually educate your directors? We are trained that a director's main duty is to get the play back on tracks as best as possible after an irregularity (See Law 82A). His job is not completed just by giving a ruling, he must also see to it that no more irregularities follow (for instance because of ignorance) as a direct consequence of the original irregularity. Therefore the Director should preferably remain at the table, ready to give further instructions to the players until the situation is cleared up. Apparently that was not done here? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
axman Posted July 11, 2018 Report Share Posted July 11, 2018 No, he doesn't say.But the facts given in the story speaks for itself.Even a mediocre director would (if still present) have prevented the continued irregularities by South. You ought to be cognizant of the connotations attached to ACBL tournament, particularly ACBL TDs. In my earliest years Spider gave the following MI ruling: 'I'm backing up the auction.' 1S-P-4C-P4S-P Upon which I doubled 4C. Rather than 'backing up the auction' the correct ruling was to cancel the last pass and have the auction proceed from there. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
gordontd Posted July 11, 2018 Report Share Posted July 11, 2018 I am really surprised over these comments. How do you actually educate your directors? We are trained that a director's main duty is to get the play back on tracks as best as possible after an irregularity (See Law 82A). His job is not completed just by giving a ruling, he must also see to it that no more irregularities follow (for instance because of ignorance) as a direct consequence of the original irregularity. Therefore the Director should preferably remain at the table, ready to give further instructions to the players until the situation is cleared up. Apparently that was not done here?My reading of it is that the director was there, had given appropriate instructions, yet the player still made a second lead out of turn. I've seen that happen. How do you propose to stop it? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
pran Posted July 11, 2018 Report Share Posted July 11, 2018 My reading of it is that the director was there, had given appropriate instructions, yet the player still made a second lead out of turn. I've seen that happen. How do you propose to stop it?I fail to see how the director can have given appropriate and sufficient instructions.When declarer had made his choice the Director ought to 1: Order South to pick up his diamond and 2: Order North to lead a card other than a diamond.However, if he indeed has done so then the second LOOT by South is a severe violation of Law 90B8 and as such subject to a substantial procedure penalty (more than just a warning). Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
gordontd Posted July 11, 2018 Report Share Posted July 11, 2018 I fail to see how the director can have given appropriate and sufficient instructions. However, if he indeed has done so then the second LOOT by South is a severe violation of Law 90B8 and as such subject to a substantial procedure penalty (more than just a warning).In the case I saw, he was just confused. Creating a second penalty card was all that was required. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
barmar Posted July 11, 2018 Report Share Posted July 11, 2018 My reading of it is that the director was there, had given appropriate instructions, yet the player still made a second lead out of turn. I've seen that happen. How do you propose to stop it?That's how I interpreted it as well. The LOOTer simply misunderstood, and thought that the lead prohibition applied to himself, not his partner. Yeah, there are poor directors out there, but there are also players who don't listen carefully. It should also be noted that the director in question was the poster of the message here. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weejonnie Posted July 11, 2018 Report Share Posted July 11, 2018 That's how I interpreted it as well. The LOOTer simply misunderstood, and thought that the lead prohibition applied to himself, not his partner. Yeah, there are poor directors out there, but there are also players who don't listen carefully. It should also be noted that the director in question was the poster of the message here.Last Tuesday I had a case where a player passed after his partner had called. I explained that the call could be accepted, in which case the auction would continue without further rectification (but if his LHO and partner passed then the calls would be cancelled to allow his RHO to call) or, if rejected he would have to repeat his pass. The call was accepted and as I left the table I noticed that his RHO (not LHO) had made the next call! By the time I turned, however, the player had passed again (legitimising the COOT). Having explained the reason for my return, I allowed the auction to continue without further rectification. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
pran Posted July 12, 2018 Report Share Posted July 12, 2018 Last Tuesday I had a case where a player passed after his partner had called. I explained that the call could be accepted, in which case the auction would continue without further rectification (but if his LHO and partner passed then the calls would be cancelled to allow his RHO to call) or, if rejected he would have to repeat his pass. The call was accepted and as I left the table I noticed that his RHO (not LHO) had made the next call! By the time I turned, however, the player had passed again (legitimising the COOT). Having explained the reason for my return, I allowed the auction to continue without further rectification.The best procedure for you (in this case) would of course have been to hear offender's LHO accepting the COOT, then instruct him to make his call and finally remain at the table to handle Law 17D3 (three consecutive passes of which at least one is out of turn) if this law should kick in. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
barmar Posted July 12, 2018 Report Share Posted July 12, 2018 The best procedure for you (in this case) would of course have been to hear offender's LHO accepting the COOT, then instruct him to make his call and finally remain at the table to handle Law 17D3 (three consecutive passes of which at least one is out of turn) if this law should kick in.Yeah, the takeaway from this is that if there's anything more to deal with, don't leave the table until it's all been resolved. The only common exception is when the remaining issues are not likely to be until the end of the hand. E.g. I don't think anyone sticks around after explaining how many tricks to transfer after a revoke, or after "Call me back at the end of the hand if you feel you've been damaged." (Strictly speaking, the "if you feel you've been damaged" qualifier probably shouldn't be there, as the players might not realize that they were damaged, but I think few directors worry about this.) Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
pran Posted July 12, 2018 Report Share Posted July 12, 2018 Yeah, the takeaway from this is that if there's anything more to deal with, don't leave the table until it's all been resolved. The only common exception is when the remaining issues are not likely to be until the end of the hand. E.g. I don't think anyone sticks around after explaining how many tricks to transfer after a revoke, or after "Call me back at the end of the hand if you feel you've been damaged." (Strictly speaking, the "if you feel you've been damaged" qualifier probably shouldn't be there, as the players might not realize that they were damaged, but I think few directors worry about this.)You grasped it! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
chrism Posted July 14, 2018 Report Share Posted July 14, 2018 No, he doesn't say.But the facts given in the story speaks for itself.Even a mediocre director would (if still present) have prevented the continued irregularities by South.I was still standing right there, telling North not to lead a diamond. The club hit the table very fast; perhaps it's old age, but my reaction time just wasn't good enough. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
blackshoe Posted July 14, 2018 Report Share Posted July 14, 2018 I think Sven owes you an apology, Chris. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Join the conversation
You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.