bixby Posted July 4, 2018 Report Share Posted July 4, 2018 [hv=pc=n&s=s95haj8752dk4cak9&w=sq42h94daqjt6ct83&n=skjt83hktd32cj752&e=sa76hq63d9875cq64&d=s&v=0&b=11&a=1hp1sp3hp4hppp]399|300[/hv] The opening lead of the C10 went to the Jack, Queen, and Ace. Declarer crossed to the HK and successfully ran the H10. Declarer led a diamond toward his King, which was taken by West's Ace. West returned the Queen and then the Jack of diamonds, the latter ruffed in hand by delcarer as dummy discarded a small spade. Declarer drew the last trump with the Ace; West discarded the D6 and dummy the S8. Declarer then cashed the CK and C9. Declarer was now down to the S95 HJ8 in hand and SKJ10 C7 in dummy. Faced with the crucial guess, declarer led the S9 toward dummy. West hesitated for a long time before playing the S2. Inferring that West held the SA (as he could hardly be thinking of covering with the SQ given that dummy had the King, Jack, and Ten), declarer called for the King, and therefore went down one. Is declarer entitled to any redress? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tramticket Posted July 4, 2018 Report Share Posted July 4, 2018 This is covered by: 73.D Variations in Tempo or Manner1. It is desirable, though not always required, for players to maintain steady tempo and unvarying manner. However, players should be particularly careful when variations may work to the benefit of their side. From the facts supplied, I would assess that West has failed to maintain a steady tempo in a situation where he/she knew or should have known that it may work to their benefit. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
BudH Posted July 4, 2018 Report Share Posted July 4, 2018 This is covered by: 73.D Variations in Tempo or Manner1. It is desirable, though not always required, for players to maintain steady tempo and unvarying manner. However, players should be particularly careful when variations may work to the benefit of their side. From the facts supplied, I would assess that West has failed to maintain a steady tempo in a situation where he/she knew or should have known that it may work to their benefit.Agree completely - and unfortunately is something I see in my local club far too frequently. But in those cases, the pause is just short enough that they won't get nailed for it. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
steve2005 Posted July 4, 2018 Report Share Posted July 4, 2018 I am not sure a hesitation on this hand indicates anything other than not a good bridge player.Is clear you have to guess spade and don't have a singleton so will always duck. Except maybe with A&Q. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
steve2005 Posted July 4, 2018 Report Share Posted July 4, 2018 I have a partner who thought for a long time before ducking.Opps had made a mild slam try and ended up in 4♥.Partner had AJx spades A and some small diamonds.Board had Kxx diamonds.Declarer led T diamondsPartner thought for a very long time before ducking.Incredible declarer didnt even have JD there wasn't even a guess but if there was he just gave it to him,Cashing the two aces would have been a top, IMHO cashing the two aces was possible as the 1st two tricks. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
pescetom Posted July 5, 2018 Report Share Posted July 5, 2018 Is declarer entitled to any redress? No answer from the TDs here? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
gordontd Posted July 5, 2018 Report Share Posted July 5, 2018 No answer from the TDs here?I thought the first two replies were clear. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
pescetom Posted July 5, 2018 Report Share Posted July 5, 2018 I thought the first two replies were clear. So if the pause is long enough to constitute a clear violation of 73D they will not get away with it?What redress will the TD concede? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
blackshoe Posted July 5, 2018 Report Share Posted July 5, 2018 The answer to the question is "yes". B-) Given the facts as reported in the OP, Law 73D applies, as Tramticket said. So does Law 73E, and 73E2 says "If the Director determines that an innocent player has drawn a false inference from a question, remark, manner, tempo or the like, of an opponent who has no demonstrable bridge reason for the action, and who could have been aware, at the time of the action, that it could work to his benefit, the Director shall award an adjusted score" so I would adjust the score to 4♥ making 4. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cyberyeti Posted July 5, 2018 Report Share Posted July 5, 2018 This case is pretty clear as others have said. You have to be careful however with holdings like Kx/AJxxxxx where you cash the K, lead the second one and the next hand plays low slowly. I've not got the ruling when this turns out to be a singleton and partner finessed, on the grounds that whether second hand had x/Qx there is nothing to hesitate about, so partner should have ignored it. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
pescetom Posted July 5, 2018 Report Share Posted July 5, 2018 The answer to the question is "yes". B-) Given the facts as reported in the OP, Law 73D applies, as Tramticket said. So does Law 73E, and 73E2 says "If the Director determines that an innocent player has drawn a false inference from a question, remark, manner, tempo or the like, of an opponent who has no demonstrable bridge reason for the action, and who could have been aware, at the time of the action, that it could work to his benefit, the Director shall award an adjusted score" so I would adjust the score to 4♥ making 4. Thanks, that's exactly what I wanted to know. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
barmar Posted July 6, 2018 Report Share Posted July 6, 2018 This case is pretty clear as others have said. You have to be careful however with holdings like Kx/AJxxxxx where you cash the K, lead the second one and the next hand plays low slowly. I've not got the ruling when this turns out to be a singleton and partner finessed, on the grounds that whether second hand had x/Qx there is nothing to hesitate about, so partner should have ignored it.While a player shouldn't have anything to think about in either case, he obviously has less to think about when there isn't even a choice, compared to the case where one of the choices is just silly. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Join the conversation
You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.