gordontd Posted June 13, 2018 Report Share Posted June 13, 2018 I think 68D2 is very clear that playing on is an alternative to calling the TD. It says "either a. the TD may (not must) be called; or b. if all 4 plays agree, play may continue. If option b is chosen, the claim is void and not subject to to adjudication, so I don't see how it can be an instruction to the TD on what to do if they play on. You may be thinking of the old Laws, which had an additional 68D3:No I’m not thinking of the old laws. Yes they may call the TD or else play on if they all agree and it is first suggested by the non-claiming side, but IF they do call, the TD is required to apply Law 70. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
blackshoe Posted June 13, 2018 Report Share Posted June 13, 2018 What is problematic concerns the playing on without calling the TD when the of assent of the four players is not gained. Now, that is real mumbo jumbo.One could, I suppose, rule after the fact that if a player actually plays on, he has assented to that, willy-nilly. Or one could rule after the fact that assent was not gained from all four players (I suspect the one who didn't assent here would be dummy) and so the director will investigate what the situation was at the time of the claim and then apply Law 70 to that. If he can't determine that, perhaps he should award an artificial adjusted score (yes, I know that's not normally an available option here). IAC a PP to both sides unless both players of a side didn't assent and play continued anyway. Perhaps it depends on how far play got before a dissenter finally called the director. IAC, I don't think "mumbo-jumbo" is an accurate description of the situation. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
cherdano Posted June 13, 2018 Report Share Posted June 13, 2018 I'm inclined to allow the claim if there is singleton Q. That seems reasonable at first. However, given the lack of a trump lead, it seems fairly clear to play LHO for the Q of trump. Starting with a first round finesse avoids the guess of which suit to use to return to hand when trumps break 4-0, and only loses to the singleton Q off-side and no trump lead from xxx of trumps, which would be very unusual. Sure, the first-round finesse is clearly inferior and a little careless, but surely it is not more irrational than the following: I've moved this thread to the Laws & Rulings forum. There's nothing about it that's specific to offline (versus online) bridge, and it's a question about rulings (I also considered "Simple Rulings").I would allow it if the queen is singleton or doubleton. Since declarer hasn't stated that he's taking any finesses, it suggest that he's playing trumps from the top and expects the queen to drop.I'll bet someone will say that his claim suggests that he doesn't even realize he's missing the queen, so that playing a middle honor on the first trump trick would be "careless, but not irrational". I'm not going to go that far. So Barry, a frequent poster and presumably reader of the Laws Forum makes the following mistakes:He does not realise that this problem is specific to offline bridge (since claims on online bridge=BBO are handled differently by the software).Then, he actually awards the claimer all tricks on a layout where a world class declarer would quite likely go down (xx with opening leader), apparently unaware that "9 Never" is based only on a miniscule percentage difference that should be overruled on even the slightest clue in the actual hand. We could argue that is a completely irrational mistake that could happen to a competent poster only once in a blue moon, and doesn't qualify for "careless or inferior". Yet he isn't even the only poster that got such a basic claim ruling completely wrong... To get slightly more serious, I could see the merit of allowing or disallowing the claim with a singleton Q. But when trumps are 2-2 it seems just so obviously the wrong ruling. Yet when a number of posters with interest in the laws can't even agree on such a basic case, the rules of the game do not seem in an entirely sound state... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
kchatz Posted June 14, 2018 Report Share Posted June 14, 2018 I'd allow the claim if trumps are 2-2 or the Q falls singleton. Declarer isn't allowed to guess which side may be void, even though the K of spades is correct first play. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
pran Posted June 14, 2018 Report Share Posted June 14, 2018 I'd allow the claim if trumps are 2-2 or the Q falls singleton. Declarer isn't allowed to guess which side may be void, even though the K of spades is correct first play.1: Declarer plays a high trump, both follows small.2: Then declarer plays a trump towards the other high trump (Jack towards the King or small towards the Ace) and LHO follows small.3: Declarer suddenly realizes that he must choose between trumps 2-2 and play for the drop or trumps 3-1 and play the finesse. The correct ruling is that declarer selects the unfortunate alternative:The Director shall not accept from claimer any unstated line of play the success of which depends upon finding one opponent rather than the other with a particular card, unless an opponent failed to follow to the suit of that card before the claim was made, or would subsequently fail to follow to that suit on any normal [21] line of play.I am surprised how many will allow the claim with trumps 2-2, how can declarer know that this is the case? 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
StevenG Posted June 14, 2018 Report Share Posted June 14, 2018 The correct ruling is that declarer selects the unfortunate alternative: I am surprised how many will allow the claim with trumps 2-2, how can declarer know that this is the case?I don't. But banging out the top two trumps is the only line consistent with the claim statement. The law says "In ruling on a contested claim or concession, the Directoradjudicates the result of the board as equitably as possible to both sides, but any doubtful point as to a claim shall be resolved against the claimer." I do not understand how "as equitably as possible to both sides" turns into "we must fabricate lines, however unlikely, and however inconsistent with the claim statemaent, so as to guarantee that the claim fails". Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
lamford Posted June 14, 2018 Report Share Posted June 14, 2018 We don't know what declarer was thinking when she claimed. Two possibilities are that she thought she had the queen of spades, or she thought she had ten trumps, but in both cases there was still a possible trump loser. It also seems possible that she thought she had AQJTx opposite Kxxx. If it had been played out, she would not have taken a first round finesse, but might have finessed on the second round. This would certainly be a normal line, and might even be best depending on the inferences from the carding at tick one. So, I would allow the claim only when there is a singleton queen of spades, as to take a first round finesse is worse than careless even for a beginner. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
pran Posted June 14, 2018 Report Share Posted June 14, 2018 I don't. But banging out the top two trumps is the only line consistent with the claim statement. The law says "In ruling on a contested claim or concession, the Directoradjudicates the result of the board as equitably as possible to both sides, but any doubtful point as to a claim shall be resolved against the claimer." I do not understand how "as equitably as possible to both sides" turns into "we must fabricate lines, however unlikely, and however inconsistent with the claim statemaent, so as to guarantee that the claim fails".So you will unconditionally hold declarer to his statement to the effect that even if he cashes the King and RHO shows out he may still not be allowed to take the now obvious finesse over LHO's remaining Qxx but (blindly) draw trumps (from the top)? Please do read Law 70E1 again and understand it. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
StevenG Posted June 14, 2018 Report Share Posted June 14, 2018 So you will unconditionally hold declarer to his statement to the effect that even if he cashes the King and RHO shows out he may still not be allowed to take the now obvious finesse over LHO's remaining Qxx but (blindly) draw trumps (from the top)? Please do read Law 70E1 again and understand it.I have read 70E1 again. It explicitly allows the 4-0 trump case, but only as an exception to the generalised rule. That will, of course, only work here if declarer has played the correct top honour on trick one, and we cannot say which top honour declarer will play first, so I think it a red herring. Otherwise, "The Director shall not accept from claimer any unstated line of play the success of which depends upon finding one opponent rather than the other with a particular card". Declarer has not stated such a line, so I do not see why you think it relevant. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
barmar Posted June 14, 2018 Report Share Posted June 14, 2018 If one notes history, the view was that it was good policy to not resume play once a claim has occurred. I can name one compelling reason- the claim must resolve without issue, and once a dispute is raised then claimer has been alerted to the likelihood that he had not been careful enough and from such inferences he is in a position to get the alternatives 'right' so to speak, but in an unfair manner.This is why the request to play on has to be made by the non-claiming side, and assent is required from all players. You should not ask or agree to play on if you think there's a chance declarer will make a correct inference from the dispute of the claim. This clause assumes the players know what they're doing. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
RMB1 Posted June 14, 2018 Report Share Posted June 14, 2018 This clause assumes the players know what they're doing. This clause doesn't assume that the players know what they're doing - but the laws wash their hands of what happens, regardless. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
barmar Posted June 15, 2018 Report Share Posted June 15, 2018 This clause doesn't assume that the players know what they're doing - but the laws wash their hands of what happens, regardless.I guess what I meant was that the lawgivers assumed that when they added the clause. Similar to other laws that give players options after irregularities, like require/prohibit a lead when partner of a penalty card gets on lead. If your choice turns out badly, you have no recourse. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Join the conversation
You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.