VixTD Posted June 6, 2018 Report Share Posted June 6, 2018 Club game, matchpoints: [hv=pc=n&s=sj83hq5da954ca632&w=sak974hj9dj6ckt94&n=s6hakt643dkq8cq85&e=sqt52h872dt732cj7]399|300[/hv]North was declarer in 3♥. West had bid spades, and East led queen and another. Declarer ruffed and drew three rounds of trumps, then played king, queen and another diamond. Dummy placed the ace unbidden in the played position, and West discarded a spade. At this point, North said, "Not the ace, I wanted to play the nine.". EW scoffed: "Of course you do now!" The director was called. How would you rule? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
pran Posted June 6, 2018 Report Share Posted June 6, 2018 Club game, matchpoints: [hv=pc=n&s=sj83hq5da954ca632&w=sak974hj9dj6ckt94&n=s6hakt643dkq8cq85&e=sqt52h872dt732cj7]399|300[/hv]North was declarer in 3♥. West had bid spades, and East led queen and another. Declarer ruffed and drew three rounds of trumps, then played king, queen and another diamond. Dummy placed the ace unbidden in the played position, and West discarded a spade. At this point, North said, "Not the ace, I wanted to play the nine.". EW scoffed: "Of course you do now!" The director was called. How would you rule?Law 45D1 is clear and unconditional. The nine is played and West (but not East) may change his card played to that trick. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
gordontd Posted June 6, 2018 Report Share Posted June 6, 2018 I find it hard to see why Law 72C should not apply. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cyberyeti Posted June 6, 2018 Report Share Posted June 6, 2018 Law 45D1 is clear and unconditional. The nine is played and West (but not East) may change his card played to that trick. Is there not a blanket provision that covers dummy committing an irregularity that he should know could benefit his side ? I think Gordon just posted it while I was typing Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
pran Posted June 6, 2018 Report Share Posted June 6, 2018 Is there not a blanket provision that covers dummy committing an irregularity that he should know could benefit his side ? I think Gordon just posted it while I was typingThis is a question of involving Law 12A1 (justified by Law 72C) However, I have a feeling that Law 12B2 inhibits this possibility here. (An alert West would delay his own play to the trick until Declarer actually called a card from Dummy) Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cyberyeti Posted June 6, 2018 Report Share Posted June 6, 2018 This is a question of involving Law 12A1 (justified by Law 72C) However, I have a feeling that Law 12B2 inhibits this possibility here. (An alert West would delay his own play to the trick until Declarer actually called a card from Dummy) I think it's reasonable that when dummy plays a card W would assume he merely missed a call or gesture from declarer, denying redress for that reason alone would be silly. There is no restitution in the laws, 45D1 gives the procedure, but I would NOT describe what it says as restitution, 72C should apply. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
steve2005 Posted June 7, 2018 Report Share Posted June 7, 2018 Is the death penalty still in force? <sarcasm> Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vampyr Posted June 7, 2018 Report Share Posted June 7, 2018 I think it's reasonable that when dummy plays a card W would assume he merely missed a call or gesture from declarer, denying redress for that reason alone would be silly. Yes, and some declarers will sometimes designate a card via finger gesture as well. This could not be a clearer Alcatraz Coup. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
VixTD Posted June 7, 2018 Author Report Share Posted June 7, 2018 I allowed North to change dummy's card, and West to change theirs if they wanted to, and warned the table that I may have to award an adjusted score at the end of play if any damage ensued from dummy's action. North finished with eleven tricks, and I couldn't really see that the infraction had caused any damage, as there was no way for East to regain the lead to make the diamond, so I didn't adjust the score. (If there had been a small chance of a third defensive trick, I could of course have awarded a weighted score.) A procedural penalty may well have been appropriate, especially as South wasn't particularly contrite at causing all this kerfuffle. ("He should have waited until my partner called for a card" and "I thought it was OK because I hadn't let go of the card"), but South is a very inexperienced player, and I'll content myself with a warning. It did occur to me that this was a version of the Alcatraz Coup by dummy. I'm glad Vampyr agrees. When I mention it it may help to make it a memorable learning experience. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
pescetom Posted June 7, 2018 Report Share Posted June 7, 2018 This is a question of involving Law 12A1 (justified by Law 72C)This is clear to me. However, I have a feeling that Law 12B2 inhibits this possibility here. (An alert West would delay his own play to the trick until Declarer actually called a card from Dummy)This is not, please could you explain further?I agree that an alert West should delay his own play, but I don't see the relevance of 12B2:2. The Director may not award an adjusted score on the grounds that the rectification provided in these Laws is either unduly severe or advantageous to either side. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
pescetom Posted June 7, 2018 Report Share Posted June 7, 2018 South is a very inexperienced player, and I'll content myself with a warning. It looks like he obtained his own punishment in the bidding anyway. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
barmar Posted June 7, 2018 Report Share Posted June 7, 2018 If the ♣K were offside this would be a more difficult problem. But since declarer takes 11 tricks with or without the diamond finesse, the irregularity had no impact on the result and caused no damage, and your ruling was fine. With any luck the warning to South will stick with him, although an actual penalty might have been necessary to make this a real teachable moment. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
blackshoe Posted June 7, 2018 Report Share Posted June 7, 2018 With any luck the warning to South will stick with him, although an actual penalty might have been necessary to make this a real teachable moment.If he does it again, the "actual penalty" ought to be the first thing the director gives. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
barmar Posted June 8, 2018 Report Share Posted June 8, 2018 If he does it again, the "actual penalty" ought to be the first thing the director gives.The problem with "warning on first offense" is that even idiots won't do it again right away (or if he does, it will probably not be in a situation where it matters and someone calls the TD). "Again" is likely to be months away, and the TD may not remember that he's already been warned (if it's even the same TD). This isn't like when cops give you a warning for a minor traffic offense -- I assume the warning goes into a computer somewhere, so the next cop who pulls you over will see it and know to give you a real ticket. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
blackshoe Posted June 8, 2018 Report Share Posted June 8, 2018 It's not hard these days to put together a small database that would allow the TD to search by name and see if so-and-so ever got a warning. Or how many penalties he's already had. I do recognize that most directors won't make the effort. Perhaps that's a tool the RA should provide. Nah. Never happen. Nobody cares. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
pran Posted June 8, 2018 Report Share Posted June 8, 2018 It's not hard these days to put together a small database that would allow the TD to search by name and see if so-and-so ever got a warning. Or how many penalties he's already had. I do recognize that most directors won't make the effort. Perhaps that's a tool the RA should provide. Nah. Never happen. Nobody cares.Anyway, I think this will be illegal under the new General Data Protection Regulation coming into force (at least within EU) now. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
blackshoe Posted June 8, 2018 Report Share Posted June 8, 2018 Probably. But I'm not in the EU, so I don't care. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
pran Posted June 9, 2018 Report Share Posted June 9, 2018 Probably. But I'm not in the EU, so I don't care.No, but network providers with customers in Europe will quite likely have to care if they want to continue serving Europe. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
gordontd Posted June 9, 2018 Report Share Posted June 9, 2018 Anyway, I think this will be illegal under the new General Data Protection Regulation coming into force (at least within EU) now.I don't see why, as long as you are clear that it is done and give the data subjects access to their record to correct if necessary. It strikes me as coming under "legitimate interests" for an organisation running a competitive mind sport. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weejonnie Posted June 9, 2018 Report Share Posted June 9, 2018 I don't see why, as long as you are clear that it is done and give the data subjects access to their record to correct if necessary. It strikes me as coming under "legitimate interests" for an organisation running a competitive mind sport.That is my 1st impression as well - the GDPR doesn't prevent usage of data, only that there must be awareness by the data subject of how the data is used and be willing to apply their rights to have the data sent to them, corrected and, in some cases, removed. "Legitimate Interests as a bridge RA", would almost certainly include the right to record things such as psyches (which the EBU, and many clubs, do anyway) and activities subject to penalties at the bridge table. What it wouldn't include would be selling the database of members to,say, an insurance company, for marketing purposes (without the active consent of the members whose details are in the database), as that would be an unusual action. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
sanst Posted June 9, 2018 Report Share Posted June 9, 2018 Probably. But I'm not in the EU, so I don't care.Maybe you should.As the legal form of the GDPR is that of an EU regulation, the Ministry of Justice and Public Security has proposed that it should be incorporated into Norwegian law via a reference clause (c.f. EØS-notat, 24 March 2017). In effect, this means that a clause in the main text of the law will incorporate the GDPR into Norwegian law, with the GDPR text being then reproduced as an appendix to such law. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
pran Posted June 9, 2018 Report Share Posted June 9, 2018 I don't see why, as long as you are clear that it is done and give the data subjects access to their record to correct if necessary. It strikes me as coming under "legitimate interests" for an organisation running a competitive mind sport.That is my 1st impression as well - the GDPR doesn't prevent usage of data, only that there must be awareness by the data subject of how the data is used and be willing to apply their rights to have the data sent to them, corrected and, in some cases, removed. "Legitimate Interests as a bridge RA", would almost certainly include the right to record things such as psyches (which the EBU, and many clubs, do anyway) and activities subject to penalties at the bridge table. What it wouldn't include would be selling the database of members to,say, an insurance company, for marketing purposes (without the active consent of the members whose details are in the database), as that would be an unusual action.The general principle is that certain types of information about a person may not be filed and used without that person's general beforehand express consent. Records of actions by a TD against a player will most certainly be of such type (unless the recorder has been issued a special license for such registration). Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
gordontd Posted June 9, 2018 Report Share Posted June 9, 2018 The general principle is that certain types of information about a person may not be filed and used without that person's general beforehand express consent. Records of actions by a TD against a player will most certainly be of such type (unless the recorder has been issued a special license for such registration).This is simply not true. Have you actually read the GDPR? Special category data includes:race;ethnic origin;politics;religion;trade union membership;genetics;biometrics (where used for ID purposes);health;sex life; orsexual orientation. Even for those categories of data, consent is not the only lawful basis for processing. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
blackshoe Posted June 9, 2018 Report Share Posted June 9, 2018 Maybe you should.I'm not in Norway either. Really, why should I care what craziness is produced by governments in far away places? I have enough troubles with the idiocies promulgated in my back yard. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
paulg Posted June 9, 2018 Report Share Posted June 9, 2018 I'm not in Norway either. Really, why should I care what craziness is produced by governments in far away places? I have enough troubles with the idiocies promulgated in my back yard.Perhaps you don't, but the ACBL has to worry about the GDPR because EU players can join and renew membership of the ACBL from home. To me it is just analogous to the businesses I worked for in the UK, mainly subsidiaries of US companies that were governed by the US Foreign Corrupt Practices Act (FCPA): this led to strange situations where a business practice was legal in the UK but illegal due to FCPA: such as bribing a public sector employee with a $2 pen. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Join the conversation
You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.