Jump to content

Challenged Claim


MrAce

Recommended Posts

But my own logic says I should rule 7 NT -1 even if Q was dropping.

On a spade lead, if the queen of hearts is doubleton onside, I think the laws require you to award the contract. If it is doubleton offside, I think the heart finesses is a "normal" line and therefore it is one off. If the queen of hearts is onside but sufficiently guarded, I think you award one off, but there are TDs who would award 7NT= in that playing for the drop in hearts is not a "normal" line (depending on the class of player). 70E1 has been modified in the 2017 laws preventing a finesse even if it is the only "normal" line of play, unless it becomes marked because someone shows out.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

On a spade lead, if the queen of hearts is doubleton onside, I think the laws require you to award the contract.

 

I'm not so sure about that. Claiming on a spade lead suggests to me that declarer thinks there are 6 club tricks. On a similar BridgeWinners topic, Laurie Kelso says that it is not normal play for declarer to fail to notice that the CJ is still outstanding when running a suit (this one was AK9xx opposite QTx). However, the ten is a much easier card to miss, so why would you not assume that declarer has just miscounted clubs and award down one?

  • Upvote 2
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Loading...
×
×
  • Create New...