Jump to content

UI During The Bidding


jerdonald

Recommended Posts

BBO forum,

I played in a mentor/mentee game today with a man who

fought in and was wounded in the Battle of The Bulge.

It was quite an honor.

 

A bidding error occurred on one board. I had a 4 looser

hand and I was busy looking at it when I noticed my RHO

put his pass card on the table. I put my 2 Club card

down and then noticed that my partner had opened the

bidding with 1 spade. I pulled my bidding card back

and said "I didn't realize my partner had opened".

 

Of course this is UI since it was obvious I thought

I was opening a strong 2C. The director should have

been called but it was the third board of three and

we were quite a bit behind on the time so the OPS said

"just make your 2C bid".

 

The final contract was 5C by me which made 6.

What would have been the ruling?

 

Jerry D.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

I would add that, regarding the IB itself, the opps accepted it, so there's no further rectification for that.

Incorrect. The statement that he didn't see opener's bid is UI. IE. opener knows partner has 22+ pts or similar. Accepting a bid does not allow this info to become known.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

I would add that, regarding the IB itself, the opps accepted it, so there's no further rectification for that.

There was no IB. There was an attempted 25B1 change of call, not accepted. So the auction continues with the 2C bid and lots of UI to avoid taking advantage of.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Incorrect. The statement that he didn't see opener's bid is UI. IE. opener knows partner has 22+ pts or similar. Accepting a bid does not allow this info to become known.

 

There was no IB. There was an attempted 25B1 change of call, not accepted. So the auction continues with the 2C bid and lots of UI to avoid taking advantage of.

Okay. I misread the auction. Not surprising, considering it was buried in a wall of text. But "incorrect" is, well, incorrect. I said that the IB was accepted. That was incorrect because there was no IB. I did not say there would be no rectification for anything else.

 

Is "just make your 2!C bid" a violation of Law 10A?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Without seeing the auction, you cannot conclude that.

 

That's why I said "looks probable" rather than making a conclusion.

The things that make it look probable to me are 1M opening, 4-loser hand, 12 tricks made, poorly scoring contract.

Of course 5 clubs might still be the most reasonable contract.

Hopefully we will see the auction and hands.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Loading...
×
×
  • Create New...