Jump to content

something for nothing


olegru

Recommended Posts

[hv=pc=n&s=shad32c2&n=sakh2dca]133|200[/hv]

 

Trump is .

4 card ending. Exact cards does not matter.

Declarer (South) has two trumps (nobody else has trumps), top and small in his hand

Dummy has top club, two top spades and a .

East on lead plays .

Obvious claim position, declarer cannot lose a trick by any normal play.

 

Unfortunately, there were no claim.

Declarer, very old person who forgot his glasses, trumped the , played to the dummy, from the table trumped in his hand and the Ace of , thinking it is the Ace of .

 

Now opponents called a director because of revoke. How many tricks out of last 4 should be given to them?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Law 64A says:

When a revoke is established:

and the trick on which the revoke occurred was won by the offending player, at the end of the play the trick on which the revoke occurred is transferred to the non-offending side together with one of any subsequent tricks won by the offending side.

Declarer revoked and won that trick, so that trick and one of the subsequent tricks are transfered. 2 tricks to the opponents.

 

There's nothing that allows reducing the number of tricks transfered; it makes no difference that it would be a simple claim. TD can transfer more if he deems that the standard rectification is not enough to restore equity (64C1).

 

A more interesting case would be if he claimed and his line of play included the revoke. I think we might have had a thread about something like this before (maybe RR was involved).

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Opps should be embarrassed!

 

Why?

 

I will admit that this is an unfortunate case, but everyone who plays is subject to the rules.

 

Following suit is one of the more basic rules of the game. It is not the opps fault that declarer revoked. If they want to call the TD and have a penalty enforced, that is their right.

 

Suppose this player is doing the same thing at other tables. If this pair waives the penalty, they will be at a disadvantage to those who do not.

 

Everyone has to play by the rules. It is unfortunate that this player made an error due to faulty eyesight or whatever. But he is subject to the same rules as everyone else.

 

This player may be making mistakes against other players that are not subject to penalties - such as throwing away winners or other "bridge" mistakes. The opps are entitled to gain any advantage set forth in the rules of the game.

 

 

 

 

 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Opps should be embarrassed!

This is always a tough call. There is the argument that you should simply give him all the tricks and move to the next board. Others would say this gentleman is going to be giving tops to many other opposing pairs and we need to get our top when it is offered just to keep up with some of the other pairs in our direction.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Loading...
×
×
  • Create New...