zenbiddist Posted December 18, 2017 Report Share Posted December 18, 2017 [hv=pc=n&s=saqthk32dat9863ca&d=w&v=n&b=12&a=ppp1d2n(%22Majors%22)p3s]133|200[/hv] What are logical actions for a club player sitting South here?What would they be if West's bid had been alerted as "Minors"? The ruling hinges on whether North-South have been damaged by a mistaken explanation, because East-West's agreement for 2NT is "minors". (Yes - that's a poor agreement but that's what it is.) Thanks! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
blackshoe Posted December 18, 2017 Report Share Posted December 18, 2017 I don't understand why you're concerned with South's bidding, unless you think he's done, or is about to do, something crazy. I would pass, btw. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
zenbiddist Posted December 18, 2017 Author Report Share Posted December 18, 2017 I don't understand why you're concerned with South's bidding, unless you think he's done, or is about to do, something crazy. I would pass, btw. South's call over 3♠ was 4♦. I guess I'm wondering how to interpret the Laws - I'm not sure if the mistaken explanation damaged South so much as their own bid did :) Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
gordontd Posted December 18, 2017 Report Share Posted December 18, 2017 South's call over 3♠ was 4♦. I guess I'm wondering how to interpret the Laws - I'm not sure if the mistaken explanation damaged South so much as their own bid did :)What would South do with the correct explanation? Would they have got a better result in that case? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
sfi Posted December 18, 2017 Report Share Posted December 18, 2017 Well, I've been looking at this hand on and off today and I still don't know what I would do. The one thing I do know is that 4D would be in consideration when 2NT shows the majors but not when it shows the minors. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
gordontd Posted December 18, 2017 Report Share Posted December 18, 2017 I wonder what the player said they would do. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
sanst Posted December 18, 2017 Report Share Posted December 18, 2017 With the explanation given, 4♦ is probably not very clever, certainly not given the vulnerability, but it's not a serious error as defined in the commentary to the 2007 Laws: "When considering the damage related to an infraction, a player should not be punished for making such a mistake unless this is considered to be really unacceptable". Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
nige1 Posted December 18, 2017 Report Share Posted December 18, 2017 [hv=pc=n&s=saqthk32dat9863ca&d=w&v=n&b=12&a=ppp1d2n(%22Majors%22)p3s]133|200|What are logical actions for a club player sitting South here?What would they be if West's bid had been alerted as "Minors"?The ruling hinges on whether North-South have been damaged by a mistaken explanation, because East-West's agreement for 2NT is "minors". (Yes - that's a poor agreement but that's what it is.)[/hv]South's call over 3♠ was 4♦. I guess I'm wondering how to interpret the Laws - I'm not sure if the mistaken explanation damaged South so much as their own bid did :)If South knows that 2N shows minors, then he wouldn't bid 4♦. He'd probably pass.If 4♦ resulted in a poor score then NS were damaged by the failure to alert and the director should adjust, unless he's certain that South would still embark on some costly Balkan adventure, with correct information. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
barmar Posted December 18, 2017 Report Share Posted December 18, 2017 Logical Alternatives only apply when discussing a player's action after receiving UI, not misinformation. The Law that's relevant to this case is 21B:1. (a) Until the end of the auction period (see Law 17D) and provided that his partner has notsubsequently called, a player may change a call without other rectification for his sidewhen the Director judges that the decision to make the call could well have beeninfluenced by misinformation given to the player by an opponent. Failure to alertpromptly where an alert is required by the Regulating Authority is deemedmisinformation....3. When it is too late to change a call and the Director judges that the offending side gained anadvantage from the irregularity he awards an adjusted score.I think it's pretty clear that the 4♦ bid was influenced by thinking that West has majors rather than minors. It might not be a great bid (the ♠Q and ♥K are likely to be useless, although West might lead a spade because East bid them), but he obviously wouldn't have bid it with the correct explanation. So if South bids 4♦ and the explanation is corrected before North calls, South can change his call (and the fact that he wanted to bid 4♦ is AI to his partner, UI to the opponents). If the explanation isn't corrected in time for South to change his call, the score should probably be adjusted to whatever happens to 3♠. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
steve2005 Posted December 18, 2017 Report Share Posted December 18, 2017 EW are both passed hands. I would have doubled 3♠ . Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zelandakh Posted December 21, 2017 Report Share Posted December 21, 2017 EW are both passed hands. I would have doubled 3♠ .Does that make a difference to the case of damage caused by the MI? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ggwhiz Posted December 21, 2017 Report Share Posted December 21, 2017 4♦ isn't my first choice either but would never happen without the infraction so imo protection is due. Chances are pretty decent that 2nt was a wilder more gambling action than 4♦ and I might take that into account if I knew the west hand. However, with the correct info south would certainly double(maybe?) and if the score for 3♠ undoubled is not enough compensation say, if 3nt made a few times n/s, I would go with avg+, avg-. Not at all sure but it feels like too many hoops to jump through to divine any other result. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Join the conversation
You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.