blackshoe Posted August 19, 2017 Report Share Posted August 19, 2017 How about "a revoke does not call attention to itself"? But I do think that the act of playing another card to the trick, and moving the first card aside, leaving it face up on the table, does call attention to the revoke. So when a player does that, the director should be called. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
barmar Posted August 19, 2017 Report Share Posted August 19, 2017 How about "a revoke does not call attention to itself"? But I do think that the act of playing another card to the trick, and moving the first card aside, leaving it face up on the table, does call attention to the revoke. So when a player does that, the director should be called.Which was the point I was trying to make. I suppose if the revoker were a sleight-of-hand artist and he managed to do the card swap without anyone noticing, he could avoid this. But we're told that dummy did notice his replacement, so the replacement drew attention to the revoke. In Toronto, while we were waiting for a midnight zip to start, up-and-coming junior Kyle Rockoff entertained us with some card tricks, so I suspect he could pull this off if he wanted. :) Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
blackshoe Posted August 19, 2017 Report Share Posted August 19, 2017 Heh. Yeah, he probably could. Once, as dummy, I called the director (club game) because one of the opponents was badgering my partner, a ZT violation. The director got about ten feet from the table, saw I was dummy, said "Ed, you know dummy's not allowed to call the director", turned around, and started to walk away. I immediately said, again, "Director, please". He came back and somewhat testily asked "what?" I told him. He said "oh", told the opponent something to the effect of "don't do that" and walked away. Sometimes I wonder why I bother. :blink: Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
pran Posted August 19, 2017 Report Share Posted August 19, 2017 How about "a revoke does not call attention to itself"? But I do think that the act of playing another card to the trick, and moving the first card aside, leaving it face up on the table, does call attention to the revoke. So when a player does that, the director should be called.I favour great care when applying laws, whether they are gamelaws, penal code, civil laws or whatever. And my legal thinking here tells me that playing another card to the trick is a separate irregularity. Dummy may not be the first to call attention to this irregularity, nor may he use this second irregularity as a permission to call the Director on the first irregularity (which is now disclosed but not yet called attention to by anybody). I still understand the clause "call attention to an irregularity" as referring to an action (usually a statement) by a player to the effect that there has been an irregularity.An attempt to prematurely rectify an irregularity is not as such calling attention to that irregularity. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
blackshoe Posted August 19, 2017 Report Share Posted August 19, 2017 I favour great care when applying laws, whether they are gamelaws, penal code, civil laws or whatever. And my legal thinking here tells me that playing another card to the trick is a separate irregularity. Dummy may not be the first to call attention to this irregularity, nor may he use this second irregularity as a permission to call the Director on the first irregularity (which is now disclosed but not yet called attention to by anybody). I still understand the clause "call attention to an irregularity" as referring to an action (usually a statement) by a player to the effect that there has been an irregularity.An attempt to prematurely rectify an irregularity is not as such calling attention to that irregularity.Sloppy of me. When a defender whose turn it is to play puts a card face up on the table, presumably he's playing to the trick. When he puts a second card on the table, he may be playing a second time to the current trick (Law 45E1), leading to the next trick (Law 53A if it's out of turn), or correcting a revoke (Law 62A). The context, in particular the lead to the trick and the first card the player in question played, may give us a clue. If he's correcting a revoke, then his second play is not a second irregularity. If attention is called to the second card played to this trick by someone other than dummy, dummy can certainly call the director. When the director arrives, dummy can certainly give the facts to the declarer, including which card was led to the trick, which card the defender played first, and the precise sequence of events, including any comments or facial expressions or other physical mannerisms by any of the players. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
pran Posted August 19, 2017 Report Share Posted August 19, 2017 Sloppy of me. When a defender whose turn it is to play puts a card face up on the table, presumably he's playing to the trick. When he puts a second card on the table, he may be playing a second time to the current trick (Law 45E1), leading to the next trick (Law 53A if it's out of turn), or correcting a revoke (Law 62A). The context, in particular the lead to the trick and the first card the player in question played, may give us a clue. If he's correcting a revoke, then his second play is not a second irregularity. If attention is called to the second card played to this trick by someone other than dummy, dummy can certainly call the director. When the director arrives, dummy can certainly give the facts to the declarer, including which card was led to the trick, which card the defender played first, and the precise sequence of events, including any comments or facial expressions or other physical mannerisms by any of the players.Absolutely Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
nige1 Posted August 19, 2017 Report Share Posted August 19, 2017 As usual, the law is as clear as mud. Nevertheless, IMO, as far as dummy is concerned, attention is drawn to the infraction neither by the defender's failure to follow suitnor by his immediate correction thereof. It would be interesting to discover whether there's an official interpretation. Or is this another situation where the director is free to rule on a whim? :) Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
blackshoe Posted August 19, 2017 Report Share Posted August 19, 2017 Using one's judgement to try to decide what's best is hardly "ruling on a whim". Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
barmar Posted August 20, 2017 Report Share Posted August 20, 2017 I still understand the clause "call attention to an irregularity" as referring to an action (usually a statement) by a player to the effect that there has been an irregularity.While I think this is what the lawmakers probably intended, we've had lots of threads here where people have tried to interpret the vague phrase fairly liberally. I wonder what language would make it clearer, without being too specific to a particular action. Maybe something like "inform the other players that an irregularity has occurred". Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
pran Posted August 20, 2017 Report Share Posted August 20, 2017 While I think this is what the lawmakers probably intended, we've had lots of threads here where people have tried to interpret the vague phrase fairly liberally. I wonder what language would make it clearer, without being too specific to a particular action. Maybe something like "inform the other players that an irregularity has occurred".To me there is nothing vague about that phrase. "Calling attention" means just that - raising an alarm. But then all my training as Director has been to understand (the intention of) the laws rather that finding ways to bend them. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weejonnie Posted August 21, 2017 Report Share Posted August 21, 2017 At my TD training we were given the scenario: 1) LHO shows dummy his hand - dummy calls director - who issues a PP to defender.2) Dummy draws attention to revoke by declarer - later in hand Is this an established revoke? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
pran Posted August 21, 2017 Report Share Posted August 21, 2017 At my TD training we were given the scenario: 1) LHO shows dummy his hand - dummy calls director - who issues a PP to defender.2) Dummy draws attention to revoke by declarer - later in hand Is this an established revoke?1) A defender may not show dummy his hand and dummy may not be the first to call attention to this irregularity.Therefore PPs may be imposed both on Dummy for calling the Director and/or on the defender for showing his hand to dummy. 2) Dummy has not violated neither 2007 Law 42A2c nor 2017 Law 43A1 or 43A2, so regardless of which laws aew in force Dummy has not lost any of his rights.Consequently Dummy has only executed his right under Law 61B to ask about a possible revoke so the revoke is not established. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Join the conversation
You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.