Jump to content

Law 22A not satisfied


jallerton

Recommended Posts

I said a long way back that I think they have some responsibility.

I realise this but pran posted otherwise, hence the discussion. Apparently the Norwegian translation has a clause stating sole responsibility for N-S; or perhaps there was some language confusion and he meant to agree with you. In any case, that combined with his ruling that not pushing the tray after placing a bidding card is indicative of passing seemed worthy of further investigation.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

I realise this but pran posted otherwise, hence the discussion. Apparently the Norwegian translation has a clause stating sole responsibility for N-S; or perhaps there was some language confusion and he meant to agree with you. In any case, that combined with his ruling that not pushing the tray after placing a bidding card is indicative of passing seemed worthy of further investigation.

North was clearly the only offender in this case.

 

However the other three players at the table may be held responsible for not noticing and/or for accepting the irregularity.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

The one appointed as Tournament organizer for this event - See Law 80B

That would be the European Bridge League, according to the thread title.

 

Was this really a European championship?

 

(Don't confuse the Regulating Authority and the Tournament Organizer!)

Link to comment
Share on other sites

North was clearly the only offender in this case.

 

However the other three players at the table may be held responsible for not noticing and/or for accepting the irregularity.

North was clearly responsible for not pushing the tray through completely. But does that really make him responsible for the bidding problem that resulted?

 

This is kind of like the more common threads we've had about players picking up their bidding cards instead of pulling a Pass card from the box on the last round of bidding. If the auction goes "1NT Pass 3NT Pass" and then opener picks up his bidding cards, would that really be an excuse for the next two players to think the auction is over?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Was this really a European championship?

 

(Don't confuse the Regulating Authority and the Tournament Organizer!)

I don't confuse them. My deduction is that this took place in the European Opens at Montecatini. jallerton will be able to confirm or correct this.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

I don't confuse them. My deduction is that this took place in the European Opens at Montecatini. jallerton will be able to confirm or correct this.

And I stand by my statement (only modified to fit any kind of organizer):

 

Apparently the club tournament organizer in question has established its own private screen regulation?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

North was clearly responsible for not pushing the tray through completely. But does that really make him responsible for the bidding problem that resulted?

 

This is kind of like the more common threads we've had about players picking up their bidding cards instead of pulling a Pass card from the box on the last round of bidding. If the auction goes "1NT Pass 3NT Pass" and then opener picks up his bidding cards, would that really be an excuse for the next two players to think the auction is over?

 

Yes, I believe it is a common rule that any person violating a law is liable for the direct consequences from such violation?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

And I stand by my statement (only modified to fit any kind of organizer):

 

Apparently the club tournament organizer in question has established its own private screen regulation?

Is there any evidence that this tradition is actually incorporated in any established regulation?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

And I stand by my statement (only modified to fit any kind of organizer):

 

Apparently the club tournament organizer in question has established its own private screen regulation?

Actually you modified your statement more than that. But I don't think the WBF/EBL screen regulations can be described as "private".

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Actually you modified your statement more than that. But I don't think the WBF/EBL screen regulations can be described as "private".

Of course not.

But if a tournament organizer makes (or recognizes) its own special regulation for a particular event in conflict with the published official regulation then that special regulation is certainly "private", even if the tournament organizer happens to be EBL.

 

However, I cannot imagine WBF, EBL or even an NBO acting like this. That was why I automatically assumed that the happening must have occurred in a local club of soome sort.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Of course not.

But if a tournament organizer makes (or recognizes) its own special regulation for a particular event in conflict with the published official regulation then that special regulation is certainly "private", even if the tournament organizer happens to be EBL.

 

However, I cannot imagine WBF, EBL or even an NBO acting like this. That was why I automatically assumed that the happening must have occurred in a local club of soome sort.

Acting like what? We haven't been told what was ruled.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Acting like what? We haven't been told what was ruled.

True.

But what action (if any) was actually taken by the Director?

 

Obviously he should have imposed a PP to North for not making his double and East's subsequent pass visible to the other side of the screen.

 

The consequence of this irregularity was that South and West must assume that North curtailed the auction leaving the contract at 1NT undoubled.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

This is a total mess, caused by not uncommon carelessness. It's impossible to figure out what would actually have happened, should S and W have seen the double, especially so since we don't have the hands. So I'm with blackshoe with an AAS, but it's going to be A- for both sides. I don't think it's right to make N, and thus NS, more responsible for maintaining proper conditions of play at the table than the other contestants. I, for one, would refuse to be put in that position and nowhere in the laws it says so. IMNSHO the wording of Law 7D should be "All contestants at a table are equally responsible for maintaining proper conditions of play at the table".

Anyway, I maintain that the TD made a mistake by changing the score without hearing EW, especially since it was to their disadvantage. He should have decided that the score that was entered in the Bridgemate was agreed upon by both sides and should thus stand.

 

I haven't supplied the hands because I am more interested in the legal side of the case. Assuming that the hands were available, would you consider a (possibly weighted) adjustment based on your judgement of what would/might have happened had South & West seen the double?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

In fact it appears the full but incomplete auction actually was 1NT Pass Pass Double Pass.

 

I don't understand "he doubled, but actually signaled that he had passed". How is only passing the tray partway through any kind of signal? is this a matter of regulation? What does the regulation say?

 

I suspect that pushing the tray partway through is a habit or custom to allow all four players to remove their cards from the tray after the auction is over. I also suspect that the regulation does not authorize this custom.

 

Would West or South have bid (or redoubled) had they realized the auction wasn't over? That would probably affect the ruling.

 

Who's at fault for this incomplete auction? It being North's responsibility to properly remove the tray, I see him as directly at fault. I agree with gordon that EW, particularly E, are partly at fault. If it can be determined to the TD's satisfaction that both West and South would have passed had they realized what was going on, then I would say the score might be 1NT doubled making whatever it made. There is the question whether South would have defended differently had he known his partner had doubled, so that's a factor. If all that's just too hard, I would award an ArtAS, probably A- to NS, A to EW.

 

I don't think you can rule that the contract should be scored as undoubled, because it was in fact doubled. A club director might award the score for 1NT undoubled to the declaring side and for 1NT doubled to the defending side and call it a night, but I don't think that's legal.

 

Whether NS rate a PP depends on how experienced they are with screens, and what the screen regs actually say. I might not give a PP in IMPs, but if not I would certainly caution N not to cause this problem again. In fact, I'd tell all four players to be sure the tray is fully passed through until both sides of the screen have had a chance to see the full auction, including the terminal passes.

 

 

Yes, pushing the tray part way through after the auction is over is a custom/habit amongst some players (typically the ones who plan to remove the tray from the table at the end of the auction) and yes the regulations do not authorise this practice.

 

The EBL 2017 screen regulations say the following:

 

The North and East players sit on the same side of the screen throughout. The sequence is this: North places the board on the bidding tray after which the aperture is closed (and remains so during the whole of the auction period) so that the bidding tray can just pass under it. The players remove the cards from the board. Calls are made with the cards from the bidding box. The player places the selected call in the bidding tray, which will be visible only on the player's side of the screen.

A player's first call should touch the extreme left of his own segment of the bidding tray, with subsequent calls overlapping neatly and evenly to the right.

Players should make every effort to perform these actions as quietly as possible. With screens in use a call is considered 'made' when placed on the tray and released.

A player who removes one or more of his bidding cards from the tray in an apparent attempt to “pass” is indeed deemed to have “passed”.

After two players on the same side of the screen have made their calls, North or South (as the case may be) slides the bidding tray under the centre of the screen so as to be visible only to the players on the other side.

They then make their calls in like manner and the bidding tray is slid back again. This procedure is continued until the auction is completed. It is considered desirable that players should vary the tempo randomly when returning the tray under the screen.

After all four players have had the opportunity to review the auction (equivalent to the right of having the auction restated) the players replace their bidding cards in their respective bidding boxes.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Yes, pushing the tray part way through after the auction is over is a custom/habit amongst some players (typically the ones who plan to remove the tray from the table at the end of the auction) and yes the regulations do not authorise this practice.

 

This confirms that they have indeed made up their own screen regulation.

 

They prevent the other side of the screen from inspecting the complete auction before the opening lead, a possibility that is explicitly required both by law and by official regulation.

 

And North and East did in fact signal to South and West that they had completed the auction by passing, so I see no legal alternative to ruling that the contract was 1NT undoubled. (The actual hands make no difference for my opinion here).

Link to comment
Share on other sites

This confirms that they have indeed made up their own screen regulation.

 

They prevent the other side of the screen from inspecting the complete auction before the opening lead, a possibility that is explicitly required both by law and by official regulation.

 

And North and East did in fact signal to South and West that they had completed the auction by passing, so I see no legal alternative to ruling that the contract was 1NT undoubled. (The actual hands make no difference for my opinion here).

Under which law are you removing North's double? It was clearly made according to the EBL regulations:

With screens in use a call is considered 'made' when placed on the tray and released.

 

And as asked previously, would you still insist on the contract being 1NT undoubled if it made 7+ tricks and therefore North gained through their infraction? You seem to me to be on very shaky legal ground here pran.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

This confirms that they have indeed made up their own screen regulation.

 

They prevent the other side of the screen from inspecting the complete auction before the opening lead, a possibility that is explicitly required both by law and by official regulation.

 

And North and East did in fact signal to South and West that they had completed the auction by passing, so I see no legal alternative to ruling that the contract was 1NT undoubled. (The actual hands make no difference for my opinion here).

 

Under which law are you removing North's double? It was clearly made according to the EBL regulations:

With screens in use a call is considered 'made' when placed on the tray and released.

But although the double was placed on the tray it was never "released"!

 

How North fumbled with the tray is not important, what counts is what was "released" to the other side of the screen. Here the only message "released" was that the auction had ended, and the only way this could happen is by North completing the auction with a pass.

 

And as asked previously, would you still insist on the contract being 1NT undoubled if it made 7+ tricks and therefore North gained through their infraction? You seem to me to be on very shaky legal ground here pran.

East was party to the infraction by not insisting that the tray should be pushed all the way through the screen according to regulation, so yes, I would not let him gain from a doubled contract.

However, I might take this alleged gain for the North/South side into consideration when assessing a PP on North..

Link to comment
Share on other sites

But although the double was placed on the tray it was never "released"!

 

How North fumbled with the tray is not important, what counts is what was "released" to the other side of the screen. Here the only message "released" was that the auction had ended, and the only way this could happen is by North completing the auction with a pass.

 

 

East was party to the infraction by not insisting that the tray should be pushed all the way through the screen according to regulation, so yes, I would not let him gain from a doubled contract.

However, I might take this alleged gain for the North/South side into consideration when assessing a PP on North..

 

Released just means that they have removed their hand. The bid was made.

  • Upvote 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

I wouldn't have expected you to have trouble with this word - I usually think your knowledge of the English language is outstanding.

I don't

To me "released" here means released for the rest of the table (i.e. to the other side of the screen) to see.

 

There would not have been any problem if the regulation had been followed to the letter.

 

Consider a similar situation where regulation is indeedd adhered to:

North places 1 on the tray and East points out that this bid is insufficient, he must now call the Director.

 

According to reegulation the bid may not be accepted by East, North must replace it with a legal call and there is (normally) no further rectifications.

 

Is the insufficient bid considered having been made? No, not legally, it is simply ignored.

 

Back to our situation: Does it make any sense at all to consider the double made when neither South nor West had any reason to be aware of it?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

To me "released" here means released for the rest of the table (i.e. to the other side of the screen) to see.

It means exactly what you want it to mean, never mind what it says!

 

So you would allow a change of call after it has been released onto the tray, before the tray has been passed through the screen, even though this was precisely what the current wording was created to prevent?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

It means exactly what you want it to mean, never mind what it says!

 

So you would allow a change of call after it has been released onto the tray, before the tray has been passed through the screen, even though this was precisely what the current wording was created to prevent?

Yes if:

- it illegal in any way

- it was unintended and the opponent (on the same side of the screen) accepts the assertion that it was.

 

BTW, one of the synonyms for "release" is "publish", I think that says it all.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Loading...
×
×
  • Create New...