Jump to content

Wrong Board - major change?


weejonnie

Recommended Posts

Previously, if a pair starts playing a wrong board and it is spotted during the auction period, then the rectification is pretty complicated: -

 

If, during the auction period, the Director discovers that a contestant is playing a board not designated for him to play in the current round, he shall cancel the auction, ensure that the correct contestants are seated and that they are informed of their rights both now and at future rounds. A second auction begins. Players must repeat the calls they made previously. If any call differs in any way from the corresponding call in the first auction the Director shall cancel the board. Otherwise the auction and play continue normally. The Director may award a procedural penalty (and an adjusted score) if of the opinion that there has been a purposeful attempt by either side to preclude normal play of the board.

 

 

Once the new rules come into force at your RA. (for pairs/ individuals not teams) then life is now simpler.

 

2. if none of the four players have previously played the board the Director shall require the

auction and play to be completed. He allows the score to stand and may require both pairs

to play the correct board against one another later.

 

So the rules for the play period have been extended to the auction period. (which starts, remember, for a side when one of them has withdrawn their cards from the board - this means that if only the correct pair have withdrawn their cards then the TD can move the pair incorrectly seated.)

 

There seem to be two different circumstances when this applies: of course each set of circumstances will cause the bridgemates to start smoking.

 

a) right pairs, wrong set of boards:

 

i) Move the other boards for the round to the correct table. Of course the problem may be occurring at the table where the 'correct' boards have ended up.

ii) Once the incorrect boards have been played then move them to the correct table.

iii It is likely that the boards won't be played in time so the TD "may require both pairs to play the correct board against one another later." - or he can award an AAS based on culpibility. This ensures that each pair will play the same number of boards in the event (subject to movement)

iv When the set of boards are due to be played correctly then obviosuly the one already played will have to be skipped.

v. PPs to the pair handing over the wrong set of boards/ pair failing to check correct boards are being played?

 

 

b) wrong pair, right set of boards:

 

i) move the players after the wrong board is played.

ii Only question: what about the pair that should be at the table (and the pair waiting for the pair playing the wrong hand)? Do we tell them to 'take 5'? - if the table has two incorrect pairs then we can hopefully set up a table to play another board of the set while waiting.

iii Although there may be time for the missing boards to be played, it would seem that the TD does not have the authority to 'require' the players to play the hands.

iv. PPs to the pair stationary at the table (if applicable) for not checking correct opponents? What about the pair who arrived at the wrong table?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

For AAS, do you mean assigned adjusted score or artificial adjusted score?

 

"Although there may be time for the missing boards to be played, it would seem that the TD does not have the authority to 'require' the players to play the hands."

 

No? Why not?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

For AAS, do you mean assigned adjusted score or artificial adjusted score?

 

"Although there may be time for the missing boards to be played, it would seem that the TD does not have the authority to 'require' the players to play the hands."

 

No? Why not?

If he had - then why add in the bit about "The TD may require ...." in the laws?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

If he had - then why add in the bit about "The TD may require ...." in the laws?

"may require" means he has the authority to require, but it's optional whether he exercises. Basically, he can treat this like any other late play -- some clubs have a policy against late plays, some leave the decision to the TD.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Note that that is an Artificial Adjusted Score, which is why blackshoe asked. Assigned Adjusted Score is "after the UI, we can't allow the 4 pull. So we're assigning a contract of 3X, which will make. +730 NS, -730 EW."

 

As long as we know what you meant, it's not a big deal (well, except to SBs. Oh look).

  • Upvote 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Loading...
×
×
  • Create New...