Jump to content

Correcting a revoke


shevek

Recommended Posts

[hv=pc=n&s=sh86da986543ca854&w=skqj53h32dk7ckqjt&n=s6haqt975dqtc7632&e=sat98742hkj4dj2c9&d=e&v=e&b=6&a=3s4d6s7ddppp]399|300[/hv]

 

From "Swings and Arrows"

 

The Hog plays 7x on K lead.

He wins and leads 6, which West ruffs with 7-5-4.

East asks "Having no hearts?" and the trick is replayed: 6-2-5-4.

Declarer ends up with 13 tricks because West has to under-ruff the third heart.

 

Law 62C.2 says

"After a non-offender so withdraws a card, the player of the offending side next in rotation may withdraw his played card, which becomes a penalty card if the player is a defender ..."

 

I assumed this applies to subsequent tricks, that East was allowed to to win J then be obliged to return 4.

 

Am I wrong here?

I am guessing this is one of the Laws that was changed. When?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

[hv=pc=n&s=sh86da986543ca854&w=skqj53h32dk7ckqjt&n=s6haqt975dqtc7632&e=sat98742hkj4dj2c9&d=e&v=e&b=6&a=3s4d6s7ddppp]399|300[/hv]

 

From "Swings and Arrows"

 

The Hog plays 7x on K lead.

He wins and leads 6, which West ruffs with 7-5-4.

East asks "Having no hearts?" and the trick is replayed: 6-2-5-4.

Declarer ends up with 13 tricks because West has to under-ruff the third heart.

 

Law 62C.2 says

"After a non-offender so withdraws a card, the player of the offending side next in rotation may withdraw his played card, which becomes a penalty card if the player is a defender ..."

 

I assumed this applies to subsequent tricks, that East was allowed to to win J then be obliged to return 4.

 

Am I wrong here?

Once attention was called to the unestablished revoke West had to follow suit with one of his hearts and the 7 became a major penalty card.

Declarer now had the option to change his play from Dummy, and if he had done so then East would have had the option to replace his play of the 4 With his J.

However, as no change of play from Dummy was made East was not allowed to change his play to this trick.

Consequently South wins his contrat exactly as described.

 

I am guessing this is one of the Laws that was changed. When?

East (in this case) has never been allowed to win the trick with his J and then play his 4.

 

The relevant Law was changed in 1987 giving East the option to change his play of the 4, but only after a change of the play from Dummy.

 

Edit: And just to avoid any possibility of a misunderstanding (which I have noticed during my experience):

 

When a player has a major penalty card he may never win a trick with a card from his hand if he can legally play his penalty card to that trick.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

We occasionally see examples of "rulings" from Mollo's writing in these forums.

 

Mollo was writing entertaining fiction.

His writing should not be taken as a manual of how to apply the (rubber or duplicate) laws in the 1960/70/80s and are certainly not applicable to the current laws.

 

Pompous Moi! :)

Link to comment
Share on other sites

We occasionally see examples of "rulings" from Mollo's writing in these forums.

 

Mollo was writing entertaining fiction.

His writing should not be taken as a manual of how to apply the (rubber or duplicate) laws in the 1960/70/80s and are certainly not applicable to the current laws.

 

Pompous Moi! :)

And this story was entertaining and with a correct ruling. :D

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Loading...
×
×
  • Create New...