Jump to content

Trick Question


weejonnie

Recommended Posts

You are called at the end of play of a board.

 

North pulled out the 1 card from the bidding slot - but only East noticed.

East, Dealer, bid 1

South passes

West Passes

North bids 2NT - alerted as showing the majors

East Passes

South bids 2 (not alerted)

West passes

North bids 2 - which is the final contract[hv=pc=n&s=st95hj76da75cj853&w=s87h54dk864cqt762&n=saq643haqt83dt3c9&e=skj2hk92dqj92cak4&d=e&v=n&b=2&a=1dpp2np2cp2sppp]399|300|Bidding sequence after 2NT not shown - final contract 2 Spades by North[/hv]

 

FWIW the results on the hand are:-

2 N Making and +1

3NT E -2 and Making

3* by South -1

2NT E +2

4 S -1 and -2

3 N -1

2 N making (this table)

4 W Making.

 

I didn't think about polling if there was UI as it was unlikely that the same bidding sequence would have been followed.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

So ... who called and what is their concern? Offhand I don't see anything that needs dealing with at this point.

 

More specifically, the insufficient bid was accepted by West and it doesn't look like South used UI even if they saw the 2NT bid (but they didn't so this point is moot).

Link to comment
Share on other sites

So ... who called and what is their concern? Offhand I don't see anything that needs dealing with at this point.

 

More specifically, the insufficient bid was accepted by West and it doesn't look like South used UI even if they saw the 2NT bid (but they didn't so this point is moot).

I assume you mean if South saw the 1 call...

 

That is why it is a trick question. We had an opening call out of turn that wasn't recognised as such (in EBU land the call is made when the bidding card is removed from the box with apparent intent): a call of 1 that was made as dealer rather than accepting the call out of turn (otherwise it would have been an insufficient bid), a genuine insufficient bid (accepted as having been called over) and UI from a failure to alert (which is irrelevant as there is no call over 2 that is demonstrably suggested by the UI).

 

So all I could do was to rule: result stands and remind players that if attention is drawn to an irregularity then the director should be summoned at once.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

I assume you mean if South saw the 1 call...

 

That is why it is a trick question. We had an opening call out of turn that wasn't recognised as such (in EBU land the call is made when the bidding card is removed from the box with apparent intent): a call of 1 that was made as dealer rather than accepting the call out of turn (otherwise it would have been an insufficient bid), a genuine insufficient bid (accepted as having been called over) and UI from a failure to alert (which is irrelevant as there is no call over 2 that is demonstrably suggested by the UI).

 

So all I could do was to rule: result stands and remind players that if attention is drawn to an irregularity then the director should be summoned at once.

 

Yes - 1S rather than 2NT. Here the call isn't made until place on the table (or close enough to look like the bid was made). The situation as you described would merely provide UI to South. But as you say, there doesn't seem to be anything to be done now except tell them all you are posting it on the internet for humour value.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Whatever irregularity has occurred here (i.e. the 1 bid card pulled and replaced, the insufficient 2 bid) has been accepted by the proper player and deserves no action by the Director.

 

And as far as I can understand no question about UI has been raised so i see no reason for any rectification whatsoever.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Loading...
×
×
  • Create New...