weejonnie Posted March 8, 2017 Report Share Posted March 8, 2017 You are called at the end of play of a board. North pulled out the 1♠ card from the bidding slot - but only East noticed.East, Dealer, bid 1♦South passesWest PassesNorth bids 2NT - alerted as showing the majorsEast PassesSouth bids 2♣ (not alerted)West passesNorth bids 2♠ - which is the final contract[hv=pc=n&s=st95hj76da75cj853&w=s87h54dk864cqt762&n=saq643haqt83dt3c9&e=skj2hk92dqj92cak4&d=e&v=n&b=2&a=1dpp2np2cp2sppp]399|300|Bidding sequence after 2NT not shown - final contract 2 Spades by North[/hv] FWIW the results on the hand are:-2♥ N Making and +13NT E -2 and Making3♥* by South -12NT E +24♥ S -1 and -23♠ N -12♠ N making (this table)4♦ W Making. I didn't think about polling if there was UI as it was unlikely that the same bidding sequence would have been followed. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
sfi Posted March 8, 2017 Report Share Posted March 8, 2017 So ... who called and what is their concern? Offhand I don't see anything that needs dealing with at this point. More specifically, the insufficient bid was accepted by West and it doesn't look like South used UI even if they saw the 2NT bid (but they didn't so this point is moot). Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weejonnie Posted March 8, 2017 Author Report Share Posted March 8, 2017 So ... who called and what is their concern? Offhand I don't see anything that needs dealing with at this point. More specifically, the insufficient bid was accepted by West and it doesn't look like South used UI even if they saw the 2NT bid (but they didn't so this point is moot).I assume you mean if South saw the 1♠ call... That is why it is a trick question. We had an opening call out of turn that wasn't recognised as such (in EBU land the call is made when the bidding card is removed from the box with apparent intent): a call of 1♦ that was made as dealer rather than accepting the call out of turn (otherwise it would have been an insufficient bid), a genuine insufficient bid (accepted as having been called over) and UI from a failure to alert (which is irrelevant as there is no call over 2♠ that is demonstrably suggested by the UI). So all I could do was to rule: result stands and remind players that if attention is drawn to an irregularity then the director should be summoned at once. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
sfi Posted March 8, 2017 Report Share Posted March 8, 2017 I assume you mean if South saw the 1♠ call... That is why it is a trick question. We had an opening call out of turn that wasn't recognised as such (in EBU land the call is made when the bidding card is removed from the box with apparent intent): a call of 1♦ that was made as dealer rather than accepting the call out of turn (otherwise it would have been an insufficient bid), a genuine insufficient bid (accepted as having been called over) and UI from a failure to alert (which is irrelevant as there is no call over 2♠ that is demonstrably suggested by the UI). So all I could do was to rule: result stands and remind players that if attention is drawn to an irregularity then the director should be summoned at once. Yes - 1S rather than 2NT. Here the call isn't made until place on the table (or close enough to look like the bid was made). The situation as you described would merely provide UI to South. But as you say, there doesn't seem to be anything to be done now except tell them all you are posting it on the internet for humour value. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
pran Posted March 8, 2017 Report Share Posted March 8, 2017 Whatever irregularity has occurred here (i.e. the 1♠ bid card pulled and replaced, the insufficient 2♣ bid) has been accepted by the proper player and deserves no action by the Director. And as far as I can understand no question about UI has been raised so i see no reason for any rectification whatsoever. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Join the conversation
You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.