Jump to content

Director error on IB


BudH

Recommended Posts

Because all players' choices after an error are void when the Director has given incorrect information on the options after that error.]

Do we know that he told the players that the IBer wouldn't be able to replace it with an equivalent call before asking his LHO whether he accepts the IB? At may not be technically correct, but many directors treat situations like this as two-part processes -- first they ask the next player if they'll accept it, then if it's not accepted they go to the IBer and tell them their options regarding the replacement call (and the corresponding implications).

 

This came up last night at the club. My partner made a lead out of turn. The TD first asked declarer if he'll accept it.

 

My partner did later ask me why the TD didn't tell declarer all the options he'll have regarding the penalty card if he doesn't accept it. I told him that directors often do this to avoid giving declarer a confusing array of implications all at once.

 

That's probably wrong, although in this case declarer was one of the most clueless players in the club, so his head probably would have been spinning if the director tried to follow the complete procedure.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Do we know that he told the players that the IBer wouldn't be able to replace it with an equivalent call before asking his LHO whether he accepts the IB? At may not be technically correct, but many directors treat situations like this as two-part processes -- first they ask the next player if they'll accept it, then if it's not accepted they go to the IBer and tell them their options regarding the replacement call (and the corresponding implications).

 

This came up last night at the club. My partner made a lead out of turn. The TD first asked declarer if he'll accept it.

 

My partner did later ask me why the TD didn't tell declarer all the options he'll have regarding the penalty card if he doesn't accept it. I told him that directors often do this to avoid giving declarer a confusing array of implications all at once.

 

That's probably wrong, although in this case declarer was one of the most clueless players in the club, so his head probably would have been spinning if the director tried to follow the complete procedure.

That is a dilemma for any Director when the ruling depends on several choices (by NOS as well as by OS).

He may feel that he should try to simplify matters for the players and not confuse them, but it is still a Director's error if it turns out that a player has been deprived of some of his rights because of insufficient information from the Director.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

This came up last night at the club. My partner made a lead out of turn. The TD first asked declarer if he'll accept it.

 

My partner did later ask me why the TD didn't tell declarer all the options he'll have regarding the penalty card if he doesn't accept it. I told him that directors often do this to avoid giving declarer a confusing array of implications all at once

 

Directors do this"often"? I guess I am just lucky that I have never encountered this.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

No. I see no reference to 12C2 in 12C1d and no indication that the artificial scores assigned under 12C1d are limited to the narrow range mandated in 12C2.

 

 

There is an implied cross reference between 12C1d and 12C2:

 

12C1d simply allows the Director to award an artificial adjusted score in certain situations.

 

12C2 specifies how the Director shall proceed when awarding artificial adjusted scores and it includes a reference to 12C1d to make it clear that 12C1d cases are indeed subject to this procedure.

 

 

That's not how I read it. 12C2 specifies how to proceed when a result has been unable to be obtained. It also notes the existence of 12C1d, which applies in other situations, when a result has been obtained.

Okay, Gordon, I'll bite. What is the procedure for awarding an artificial adjusted score under 12C1{d}, and where in the laws is it specified?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Okay, Gordon, I'll bite. What is the procedure for awarding an artificial adjusted score under 12C1{d}, and where in the laws is it specified?

No procedure needed, and I checked with one of my colleagues that I'm not a lone voice in this. You just award an artificial score but are not subject to the constraints of 12C2 so you could for example award 80/40 if you thought that reflected the numerous likely outcomes. In practice I've never encountered the need to do this as it's not usually necessary to award artificial scores in these cases.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

I see. Why then does 12C2 refer to 12C1{d} in the way that it does? Will the "disconnect" between 12C1{d} and 12C2 be clearly identified in the new laws?

I would have thought it was to distinguish between the two different situations. But prompted by your post I've looked at the new laws and see that a reference to 12C2 has been added to 12C1d, so perhaps I'm wrong. It doesn't seem to me to be completely unambiguous though, but I doubt either of us is ever going to be in a situation where it matters!

Link to comment
Share on other sites

No procedure needed, and I checked with one of my colleagues that I'm not a lone voice in this. You just award an artificial score but are not subject to the constraints of 12C2 so you could for example award 80/40 if you thought that reflected the numerous likely outcomes. In practice I've never encountered the need to do this as it's not usually necessary to award artificial scores in these cases.

 

I am inclined to see blackshoe's view as so strong that this view has no merit. 12C2 gives the parameters for the range of art scores such that when a (different) law specifies an art score it is important to look to 12C2.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Loading...
×
×
  • Create New...