junkanoo Posted October 11, 2016 Report Share Posted October 11, 2016 I have heard that under one circumstance a player can withdraw his bid even though the next player has bid. Nobody at my club thinks that this is correct but can it be done? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
pran Posted October 11, 2016 Report Share Posted October 11, 2016 I have heard that under one circumstance a player can withdraw his bid even though the next player has bid. Nobody at my club thinks that this is correct but can it be done?Yes, see law 25A. ("Until his partner has called...") Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
wank Posted October 11, 2016 Report Share Posted October 11, 2016 if you consider the previous reply to be useless, as i expect you do, it pertains to bids made through a mechanical error, i.e. getting out the wrong bidding card. you can't change your bid just because you changed your mind or were distracted by your RHO's low cut top. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
pran Posted October 11, 2016 Report Share Posted October 11, 2016 if you consider the previous reply to be useless, as i expect you do, it pertains to bids made through a mechanical error, i.e. getting out the wrong bidding card. you can't change your bid just because you changed your mind or were distracted by your RHO's low cut top.Remember that Law 25A has remained essentially unchanged for more than 80 years, since long before anybody had the faintest idea of bidding cards. The Director must judge whether the replaced (first) call was inadvertent (e.g. "slip of the tongue") or the replacement (second) call was the result of a change of mind. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
blackshoe Posted October 12, 2016 Report Share Posted October 12, 2016 Yes, you can change your call if you really did not intend to make that call (not just "oops, was distracted" or some other oops) and you change it, or attempt to change it, before your partner has called. Whether LHO has called is not relevant. If the director is called when you change your call, and he determines that the original call was not unintended — that it was the call you had in mind to make when you made it — then a different law applies. Your LHO may choose to accept the change. If he does not, the substitute call is cancelled, the original call stands, and your partner now has unauthorized information. The withdrawn call is AI for your opponents. In the first case, if LHO has called before you change your unintended call, and your change is allowed, he may withdraw his original call and as it is now his turn (again) he may make any legal call. Information from LHO's withdrawn call is authorized only to his side, not to yours. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
junkanoo Posted October 13, 2016 Author Report Share Posted October 13, 2016 Great, all is now clear. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ggwhiz Posted October 13, 2016 Report Share Posted October 13, 2016 Not the same but similar.... Partner in 1st 2♥ - dbl - p - 2ntp - p - 3♦ by me on ♠AQT8, ♥T, ♦KJ9xxx, ♣J doubled by my lho and then my rho woke up and alerted 2nt as lebensohl. I was allowed to change my 3♦ bid to pass and 2nt is the final contract. Partner cashed a heart and switched to a diamond through the Qx. A Correct ruling including the AI and UI of my bid and change of call that I had never experienced before. Happy days? A spade switch sets 2nt (they were just in) and the 2nt bidder said he was going to bid 3nt after an alert and bid by his partner :blink: Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weejonnie Posted October 14, 2016 Report Share Posted October 14, 2016 You may also 'change your call' if LHO advises you that RHO's call has a different meaning from what you were originally told. e.g. 1♠: 3♣ (not alerted): 3♥ by you: LHO calls 4♣ and then suddenly wakes up and alerts the 3♣ bid and says it shows e.g. Clubs and Hearts. Note that this is incorrect procedure. LHO must call the director immediately under 20F4 (who will then apply law 21B) Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Join the conversation
You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.