Hanoi5 Posted September 29, 2016 Report Share Posted September 29, 2016 Declarer's trump suit is: JTxxx AK9x He starts with the Jack, small, Ace and the defender seems to be deciding what to play and then produces a small spade. Declarer decides to play for the drop (3-1 could be more likely on the bidding). The defender now discards. - What would a Director do in this scenario when called by declarer?- What would be an extenuating circumstance? (For example, the defender is not a good player, the defender is a beginner, the defender thought he was void in spades and was trying to decide what to discard when s/he found the spade)- Should a defender who thought s/he was void and then found a card say something like 'Sorry, nothing to think about' or maybe 'Is it my turn? Sorry' Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cyberyeti Posted September 29, 2016 Report Share Posted September 29, 2016 Defender never has anything to think about here, declarer knows that, no adjustment, warn the defender what might happen if he might have had something to think about. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hanoi5 Posted September 29, 2016 Author Report Share Posted September 29, 2016 Defender never has anything to think about here, declarer knows that, no adjustment, warn the defender what might happen if he might have had something to think about. Exactly. If the defender doesn't have anything to think, why would s/he think? You don't think unless you have a choice of plays, isn't that an assumption declarer can take (at his own risk, I suppose, but notheless it is there). 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vampyr Posted September 29, 2016 Report Share Posted September 29, 2016 Defender never has anything to think about here, declarer knows that, no adjustment, warn the defender what might happen if he might have had something to think about.This is not true, eg defender might be trying to decide what suit preference signal to give. I would definitely adjust. 2 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
nige1 Posted September 29, 2016 Report Share Posted September 29, 2016 This is not true, eg defender might be trying to decide what suit preference signal to give. I would definitely adjust. Agree with Vampyr. A defender might pause momentarily, to recall partnership trump agreements (if any). Many defenders peter with 3 trumps. Some play Vinje shape signals. A few use Smith peters, even at suit contracts. For a defender with a singleton, however, options should be limited. Some players (not all beginners) believe that hesitating with singleton is a cunning and legitimate bluff. Here damage is obvious. If you are not damaged, however, you should probably still call the director in the hope that he'll educate the hesitater Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
RMB1 Posted September 29, 2016 Report Share Posted September 29, 2016 This is not true, eg defender might be trying to decide what suit preference signal to give. I would definitely adjust. The defender is thinking about whether to play Q from Qx to show a higher-ranking suit?? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vampyr Posted September 29, 2016 Report Share Posted September 29, 2016 The defender is thinking about whether to play Q from Qx to show a higher-ranking suit?? It depends on how the trump suit was played. Perhaps for lack of entries the other top trump was played from hand. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kaitlyn S Posted September 29, 2016 Report Share Posted September 29, 2016 My own personal feeling is that you would never adjust unless declarer could give a legitimate reason why he would have gone against the odds and finessed. Not that I would adjust anyway, but declarer is unlikely to have finessed without a reason. Let's see how much credibility that reason has in appeal. And I agree, the person who has the singleton should be educated. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
nige1 Posted September 29, 2016 Report Share Posted September 29, 2016 The defender is thinking about whether to play Q from Qx to show a higher-ranking suit?? Or (more likely) deciding which pip to play from Qxx or doubleton xx. As long as LHO has a choice in the suit, there's no reason for declarer, missing Qxxx, to risk re-entering dummy, to finesse against RHO. The drop/finesse decision is close; but LHO's hesitation with a singleton deprives declarer of the opportunity to make the winning choice. Once again, It's instructive to players who might regard this as a simple application of the rules, that top directors take an unexpected view that seems to condone and encourage putative infractions. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cyberyeti Posted September 29, 2016 Report Share Posted September 29, 2016 Unless declarer is in dummy really early and dummy is very short of entries, he can rule out any chance of LHO having anything to think about. I would consider adjusting only if this is the case. I first saw this ruling with Kx/AJxxxxx with the singleton played behind the AJ slowly, and the ruling was that he couldn't have anything to think about with Qx or x. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
nige1 Posted September 29, 2016 Report Share Posted September 29, 2016 I first saw this ruling with Kx/AJxxxxx with the singleton played behind the AJ slowly, and the ruling was that he couldn't have anything to think about with Qx or x. That seems different to me. Nevetheless, assuming thatDeclarer leads a small card from dummy's AJxxxxx andAs declarer's RHO, you hold Qx andYou haven't peeked or otherwise worked out declarer's actual holdingThen you have something to think about. e.g. If declarer has singleton ten, then you must rise with the queen or lose your trick e.g. If declarer has doubleton ten, you may need to rise with the queen in order to lead through declarer. With a singleton, however, you have nothing to think about :( -- and that is the point of this thread :) Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cyberyeti Posted September 30, 2016 Report Share Posted September 30, 2016 That seems different to me. Nevetheless, assuming thatDeclarer leads a small card from dummy's AJxxxxx andAs declarer's RHO, you hold Qx andYou haven't peeked or otherwise worked out declarer's actual holdingThen you have something to think about. e.g. if declarer has singleton ten, then you must rise with the queen or lose your trick Even if declarer has doubleton ten, you may need to rise with the queen in order to lead through declarer. With a singleton, however, I concede you have nothing to think about :( -- and that is the point of this thread :) Declarer had opened 1N so was known to hold 2, also he led the K not to it. The contract was 6N so leading through was not likely to be important Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
nige1 Posted September 30, 2016 Report Share Posted September 30, 2016 [hv=pc=n&s=SAJ8765HKQ4DAKCAK&w=SQTDQJT98CQJT987&n=S432HA32D432C5432&e=SK9H9876543D6c76&v=e&d=s&a=2C(Strong)p2H(A or 2Ks)P2SP4S(No more to show)P6SPPP]320|240| Just for fun... It depends on context but...When declarer cashes an Ace, LHO shouldn't automatically play low with doubleton queen.Defenders have triumphed in high level play on deals like this. 6N would be better but South reaches 6♠.You lead ♣Q won by declarer's ♣A.When declarer next cashes ♠A,you follow with the ♠Q! ... preferably, in tempo :)Believing this might be a singleton, declarer decides to lead the next ♠ from dummy.He attempts to cross to dummy's ♥A but you ruff and lead a ♣ for partner to ruff :)[/hv] Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
nige1 Posted September 30, 2016 Report Share Posted September 30, 2016 (edited) Declarer had opened 1N so was known to hold 2, also he led the K not to it. The contract was 6N so leading through was not likely to be important The correct play with Qx depends on context. The correct signal with Qxx or xx also depends on context. Ideally a player should plan the play so that he can maintain constant tempo; but when he has a choice of plays, even if the correct answer is obvious, he might be forgiven for sometimes taking an extra second or two to assess the context and decide on his best action. Except, perhaps, at trick one, however, he shouldn't think about the play of a singleton. Cyberyeti's example is different from the OP. But even in that case, if you appear to have a choice of play when declarer cashes the king, then declarer will play you for Qxx, Qx or xx. The inferential count might also effect his play in other suits. Declarer certainly won't waste time, considering a finesse in this suit. Of course, if directors judge that it's permissible to hesitate with a singleton, in such situations, then all bets are off. Edited September 30, 2016 by nige1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cyberyeti Posted September 30, 2016 Report Share Posted September 30, 2016 The correct play with Qx depends on context. The correct signal with Qxx or xx also depends on context. Ideally a player should plan the play so that he can maintain constant tempo but he might be forgiven for sometimes taking a second or two to assess the context to decide on his best action. Except at trick one, however, he shouldn't think about the play of a singleton. Conceivably, CyberYeti's example could be the exception to this general rule but in that case it's of doubtful relevance to the OP problem It's the exact same situation as the original problem if we could see all 4 hands and there were plenty of entries to dummy, one of which is risk free, you play J to the K, cross to dummy, lead the 10 and see a small card ruling out xx on the left, there is no cost in doing this. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weejonnie Posted September 30, 2016 Report Share Posted September 30, 2016 It's the exact same situation as the original problem if we could see all 4 hands and there were plenty of entries to dummy, one of which is risk free, you play J to the K, cross to dummy, lead the 10 and see a small card ruling out xx on the left, there is no cost in doing this.And if LHO has QXX you have no winning action anyway! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
sfi Posted September 30, 2016 Report Share Posted September 30, 2016 It depends on how the trump suit was played. Perhaps for lack of entries the other top trump was played from hand. This would seem to be the most likely cause of damage. If dummy only has one entry and declarer has two finesse options, then the hesitation may have steered them away from the winning line. I don't see a case for adjusting based solely on the trump suit, but the entire hand may be a different matter. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
mcphee Posted September 30, 2016 Report Share Posted September 30, 2016 No fumble no foul, a couple of seconds in no way should be viewed as an attempt to deceive. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
nige1 Posted September 30, 2016 Report Share Posted September 30, 2016 This would seem to be the most likely cause of damage. If dummy only has one entry and declarer has two finesse options, then the hesitation may have steered them away from the winning line. I don't see a case for adjusting based solely on the trump suit, but the entire hand may be a different matter. I feel that sfi's opinion is closer to Vampyr's and mine. But I still sympathise with Hanoi5. I don't understand why but I accept that I'm wrong again about how directors interpret the rules. I'm grateful, however, to BBO, blackshoe, gordontd, trinidad, pran, and others for providing ordinary players with expert legal advice on these common situations. Thank you all. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
lamford Posted September 30, 2016 Report Share Posted September 30, 2016 The defender is thinking about whether to play Q from Qx to show a higher-ranking suit??No, the defender is thinking about whether to play the queen to win the trick, but then notices that declarer has played the ace, so plays low. After a couple of seconds just to "make assurance double sure" as the bard said. "Thou shalt not live", would be my ruling as TD if I thought the defender had tried this with a singleton. Automatic adjustment whenever someone hesitates with a singleton (in this situation), and gains, as the White Bible tells us. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kaitlyn S Posted September 30, 2016 Report Share Posted September 30, 2016 [/b][/i]Except, perhaps, at trick one, however, he shouldn't think about the play of a singleton. I'd like to talk about this, because this is a very large part of why I don't play tournament bridge anymore and haven't for years. Partner led against 3NT, and I thought about the hand for maybe 15 seconds before playing my singleton. At trick 6 or so when I showed out, an argument ensued, with my point being that if I don't think, partner will have the UI that I have a singleton because I always think third hand. I stated that somebody needed to be educated. Well, the one who was educated was me. My pleas that I would be giving partner UI fell on deaf ears. Partner was so upset at what was being said that she had forgotten the play of the cards when play resumed and gave up a trick and many matchpoints. I went to the head director after the game and explained my situation. (Not trying to get any MP back, but trying to understand why the rules would force me to give my partner UI.) He said firmly, "you are not allowed to take time with a singleton." That made absolutely no sense to me, and I really didn't see playing any game where the rules don't make sense. That was the last straw for me as far as tournament bridge was concerned. I haven't been back since. Your comment "perhaps at trick one" makes me think that I was given bad information by the director and the head director. Am I right? Should I have started a new thread? 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
pran Posted September 30, 2016 Report Share Posted September 30, 2016 I'd like to talk about this, because this is a very large part of why I don't play tournament bridge anymore and haven't for years. Partner led against 3NT, and I thought about the hand for maybe 15 seconds before playing my singleton. At trick 6 or so when I showed out, an argument ensued, with my point being that if I don't think, partner will have the UI that I have a singleton because I always think third hand. I stated that somebody needed to be educated. Well, the one who was educated was me. My pleas that I would be giving partner UI fell on deaf ears. Partner was so upset at what was being said that she had forgotten the play of the cards when play resumed and gave up a trick and many matchpoints. I went to the head director after the game and explained my situation. (Not trying to get any MP back, but trying to understand why the rules would force me to give my partner UI.) He said firmly, "you are not allowed to take time with a singleton." That made absolutely no sense to me, and I really didn't see playing any game where the rules don't make sense. That was the last straw for me as far as tournament bridge was concerned. I haven't been back since. Your comment "perhaps at trick one" makes me think that I was given bad information by the director and the head director. Am I right? Should I have started a new thread?This surprises me, unless Declarer first delayed his play to trick one by approximately 10 seconds. Although I am too busy at the moment to search laws, minutes and regulations I know that somewhere have I seen a rule on this. It says something like: It is correct procedure by declarer to take a break of approximately 10 seconds after Dummy has been faced before he plays from Dummy to trick one. And if he plays earlier to trick one then his RHO is entitled to compensate for this by taking a break giving him a total time of approximately 10 seconds for considerations before he plays to this trick. This rule is (to my knowledge) enforced rather strictly where I play or direct, I cannot think that it is purely a Norwegian "invention", and I don't believe anybody here would be ruled against from hesitating like that to trick one even with a singleton in the suit led. Edit: I stumbled across this regulation while preparing for a tournament tomorrow. It is part of our STOP regulation and states that STOP procedure is compulsory when playing to trick one after Dummy's hand is faced. The specified delay is "between 10 and 15 seconds" (from the moment Dummy's hand was faced), and this part of our STOP regulation came into force on July 1st 2011. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
axman Posted September 30, 2016 Report Share Posted September 30, 2016 I'd like to talk about this, because this is a very large part of why I don't play tournament bridge anymore and haven't for years. Partner led against 3NT, and I thought about the hand for maybe 15 seconds before playing my singleton. At trick 6 or so when I showed out, an argument ensued, with my point being that if I don't think, partner will have the UI that I have a singleton because I always think third hand. I stated that somebody needed to be educated. Well, the one who was educated was me. My pleas that I would be giving partner UI fell on deaf ears. Partner was so upset at what was being said that she had forgotten the play of the cards when play resumed and gave up a trick and many matchpoints. I went to the head director after the game and explained my situation. (Not trying to get any MP back, but trying to understand why the rules would force me to give my partner UI.) He said firmly, "you are not allowed to take time with a singleton." That made absolutely no sense to me, and I really didn't see playing any game where the rules don't make sense. That was the last straw for me as far as tournament bridge was concerned. I haven't been back since. Your comment "perhaps at trick one" makes me think that I was given bad information by the director and the head director. Am I right? Should I have started a new thread? Each side is typically allotted 3 1/2 minutes on average to bid, play, and score a hand. It is sage to use your time wisely. If you need 10sec, 20 sec, 30sec at T1 you ought to take** it prior to playing your card- and it should not prejudice your side regarding UI or improper deception....improper delay of game is a different matter. ** presuming that you maintain your practice; I think the Norwegian regulation specifying 10sec is out of line- All hands are not equal and it makes for inequity to treat them so. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
lamford Posted September 30, 2016 Report Share Posted September 30, 2016 my point being that if I don't think, partner will have the UI that I have a singleton because I always think third hand.You were right and the TD was wrong. If you always think third in hand at trick one, then playing immediately with a singleton would be wrong. It is the variation in tempo that is relevant. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
sfi Posted September 30, 2016 Report Share Posted September 30, 2016 Your comment "perhaps at trick one" makes me think that I was given bad information by the director and the head director. Am I right? Yes, you are right. It's common and accepted practice to think at trick one, and little or nothing should be read into a break of tempo here. It seems the discussion may have gotten out of hand at the table, but I would not have expected anyone to claim or receive an adjustment on the facts stated. On the other hand, you can still show doubt about which card to play from actions other than tempo. Doing so could lead to the ruling you received. It's worth saying - and this is relevant to the original post - that singletons should be played in tempo. This means they should also not be played too quickly, and the time taken in the original situation may actually have simply been normal tempo. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Join the conversation
You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.