Jump to content

Transfers over 1C. Allowed where?


Phil

Recommended Posts

I looked at the Midchart today:

 

It's not terribly obvious where transfers over 1C are allowed but maybe Section 3 allows its use: "All Constructive rebids and responses...."

 

And there's nowhere that indicates it is allowable in a NABC pair game.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

I looked at the Midchart today:

 

It's not terribly obvious where transfers over 1C are allowed but maybe Section 3 allows its use: "All Constructive rebids and responses...."

 

And there's nowhere that indicates it is allowable in a NABC pair game.

 

That is what allows it. Is there some reason you think it doesn't apply?

 

It applies in an NABC pair game because it says the chart applies to "All NABC+ events with no upper masterpoint restrictions played at an NABC."

Link to comment
Share on other sites

That is what allows it. Is there some reason you think it doesn't apply?

 

It applies in an NABC pair game because it says the chart applies to "All NABC+ events with no upper masterpoint restrictions played at an NABC."

 

I wasn't sure. I suppose the confusion stems from not having it specifically listed

Link to comment
Share on other sites

The UK is more inclusive. "From responder’s first call onwards all partnership understandings are permitted."

We have the advantage that you can be "destructive" as well as "constructive".

 

I play 1 (p) 2/2/3/3 as 6+ card weak (natural) long suits. Is this constructive or destructive? Are these responses not allowed in the USA? EDIT : I expect these must be allowed in another section than your quoted section 3.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

From responder’s first call onwards all partnership understandings are permitted.

 

Sweden has the same rule. All kind of overcalls are also permitted. It is only the opening bids that are regulated. We do not have any forbidden opening bids either, its just that the "ammount of artificiality" can not surpass a certain level. That level depends on what kind of tournament you're playing.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

What's a destructive response? I can't think of many opposite 1, but I assume we're talking things like:

 

After 1 8-12, 4+, 3 level jump shifts show weak (0-7ish) hands either long or short in that suit, does not deny spade support; and

after 2 "weak preempt in any suit", 3 of a major is "to play undoubled opposite anything, even your suit. Thou shalt not raise, especially if that's your suit."

 

Natural weak jump shifts, especially ones that have expected length, are nowhere near the level the ACBL describes as "destructive" - spelled out in the GCC as: "primarily designed to destroy the opponents' methods".

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 2 weeks later...
It applies in an NABC pair game because it says the chart applies to "All NABC+ events with no upper masterpoint restrictions played at an NABC."

So it applies in some NABC pair games. This in a nutshell is the reason I don't currently have any Midchart conventions on my card: I could play them in a main event, but not play them the day before to practice (except online), and not play them the day after if I didn't qualify.

Maybe there are a handful of districts where Midchart is allowed in the A/X part of a strataflighted pairs game at regionals. (Good luck finding more than two days of that in a week-long regional, too.) I proposed it once when I was a D19 board - even had a list of players who would travel to play in our tournament if we added a couple of Midchart events - and struggled to even get a second for the motion.

Where I live currently, I get one 2-session pairs game per year where the Midchart applies (the district finals of for NAOP.)

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Loading...
×
×
  • Create New...