Stefan_O Posted July 19, 2016 Report Share Posted July 19, 2016 Against a trump contract, I lead A+K from AKxxxx in a side-suit.Dummy has xx, my gib-partner plays 10+8, and gib-declarer plays small+Jack.Is there anyway to tell from this, who has the remaining Queen, and who is void? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
iandayre Posted July 19, 2016 Report Share Posted July 19, 2016 duplicate Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
iandayre Posted July 19, 2016 Report Share Posted July 19, 2016 None that I am aware of. I wish there were. It's funny now that I think about it. They give GIB declarers the ability to falsecard, but they don't give GIB defenders the ability to signal. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
johnu Posted July 19, 2016 Report Share Posted July 19, 2016 Maybe this is one of those restricted choice situations :P Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
smerriman Posted July 20, 2016 Report Share Posted July 20, 2016 According to the GIB System Notes: When it's following to partner's opening lead, it will give an attitude signal: High spot card with an Ace or King High spot card with a Queen behind dummy's Ace or King Low in any other situation If that's true, then your partner must have the queen. (Not 100% sure if this is to be trusted though.) Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stefan_O Posted July 20, 2016 Author Report Share Posted July 20, 2016 According to the GIB System Notes: When it's following to partner's opening lead, it will give an attitude signal: 1. High spot card with an Ace or King2. High spot card with a Queen behind dummy's Ace or King3. Low in any other situation If that's true, then your partner must have the queen. (Not 100% sure if this is to be trusted though.) Umm... how can you conclude that?Dummy did not have Ace or King.Seems to me the third option would apply... In this case, gib-pard actually did have the queen, refuting these rules then...? 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
smerriman Posted July 20, 2016 Report Share Posted July 20, 2016 Huh. I have no idea what I was thinking there. Probably that Gib always seems to signal with an honour rather than a doubleton on the lead, but yeah, those rules are clearly not true then. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Join the conversation
You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.