Jump to content

Fielded Misbids - EBU


weejonnie

Recommended Posts

Am just trying to get round this.

 

"Players are required to disclose their agreements, both explicit and implicit. If a player believes, from partnership experience, that partner may have deviated from the system this must be disclosed to the opponents. If a player properly discloses this possibility, the player will not be penalised for fielding it, although there may be a penalty for playing an illegal method." - EBU white book 1.4.1

 

Suppose a pair is playing Ghestem (what else!) and after a 1 Heart bid, partner bids 3 Clubs, ostensibly showing spades and diamonds. The player alerts

 

Holding 5-5 in the two suits and a void club, the player suspects that partner has misbid and intends to act on that assumption.

 

a) What does he say if asked?

b) Does he do anything if not asked?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

So this means you can field misbids (providing AI fully duplicates UI) - but if partner often forgets then you have to tell the opponents.

 

Suppose the bidding goes (as above)

 

W... N....E S

1H 3C(A) P P!

P

 

East was expecting a response from South since he'd looked at the convention card and seen (Ghestem - and a description) on it - and therefore would have another chance to make a call.

 

Have EW been damaged?

Would EW be held to account for not protecting themselves?

How could South have disclosed the propensity of his partner to forget conventions if not asked? Is NS supposed to mark their convention card. "** Warning *** North often forgets conventions?"

 

How would I rule? (EW had 4 Spades on but a 3 Spade bid by East would have been supporting hearts - West didn't want to bid Spades as it looked as if there was bad distribution around (Spades 4-5-4-0))

 

Is a suitable ruling NS were playing 1H : 3C as Either Clubs or Spades and Diamonds? (Which I believe is illegal at level 4 BB 7E2)

Link to comment
Share on other sites

So this means you can field misbids (providing AI fully duplicates UI) - but if partner often forgets then you have to tell the opponents.

 

I'm not sure what your phrase in parentheses means, but if you have no UI you are able to guess that your partner has misbid. However, you may then be considered to be playing an illegal agreement.

 

Suppose the bidding goes (as above)

 

W... N....E S

1H 3C(A) P P!

P

 

East was expecting a response from South since he'd looked at the convention card and seen (Ghestem - and a description) on it - and therefore would have another chance to make a call.

 

Have EW been damaged?.

 

Yes, they have been misinformed.

 

 

Would EW be held to account for not protecting themselves?.

 

I can't see why.

 

 

How could South have disclosed the propensity of his partner to forget conventions if not asked? Is NS supposed to mark their convention card. "** Warning *** North often forgets conventions?"

What NS are supposed to do is to remember their conventions, or else expect to get ruled against on the basis of this regulation.

 

How would I rule? (EW had 4 Spades on but a 3 Spade bid by East would have been supporting hearts - West didn't want to bid Spades as it looked as if there was bad distribution around (Spades 4-5-4-0))

 

Is a suitable ruling NS were playing 1H : 3C as Either Clubs or Spades and Diamonds? (Which I believe is illegal at level 4 BB 7E2)

Yes, that seems to me to be what we envisaged with this regulation.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Is NS supposed to mark their convention card. "** Warning *** North often forgets conventions?"

You're not supposed to play conventions that you often forget.

 

We're only human, so mistakes happen, but if they happen often enough that you have to ask the above question, you need to fix the root cause, not disclose it.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Loading...
×
×
  • Create New...