weejonnie Posted March 7, 2016 Report Share Posted March 7, 2016 Am just trying to get round this. "Players are required to disclose their agreements, both explicit and implicit. If a player believes, from partnership experience, that partner may have deviated from the system this must be disclosed to the opponents. If a player properly discloses this possibility, the player will not be penalised for fielding it, although there may be a penalty for playing an illegal method." - EBU white book 1.4.1 Suppose a pair is playing Ghestem (what else!) and after a 1 Heart bid, partner bids 3 Clubs, ostensibly showing spades and diamonds. The player alerts Holding 5-5 in the two suits and a void club, the player suspects that partner has misbid and intends to act on that assumption. a) What does he say if asked?b) Does he do anything if not asked? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
gordontd Posted March 7, 2016 Report Share Posted March 7, 2016 Note the important phrase "from partnership experience". Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weejonnie Posted March 8, 2016 Author Report Share Posted March 8, 2016 So this means you can field misbids (providing AI fully duplicates UI) - but if partner often forgets then you have to tell the opponents. Suppose the bidding goes (as above) W... N....E S1H 3C(A) P P!P East was expecting a response from South since he'd looked at the convention card and seen (Ghestem - and a description) on it - and therefore would have another chance to make a call. Have EW been damaged?Would EW be held to account for not protecting themselves?How could South have disclosed the propensity of his partner to forget conventions if not asked? Is NS supposed to mark their convention card. "** Warning *** North often forgets conventions?" How would I rule? (EW had 4 Spades on but a 3 Spade bid by East would have been supporting hearts - West didn't want to bid Spades as it looked as if there was bad distribution around (Spades 4-5-4-0)) Is a suitable ruling NS were playing 1H : 3C as Either Clubs or Spades and Diamonds? (Which I believe is illegal at level 4 BB 7E2) Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
gordontd Posted March 8, 2016 Report Share Posted March 8, 2016 So this means you can field misbids (providing AI fully duplicates UI) - but if partner often forgets then you have to tell the opponents. I'm not sure what your phrase in parentheses means, but if you have no UI you are able to guess that your partner has misbid. However, you may then be considered to be playing an illegal agreement. Suppose the bidding goes (as above) W... N....E S1H 3C(A) P P!P East was expecting a response from South since he'd looked at the convention card and seen (Ghestem - and a description) on it - and therefore would have another chance to make a call. Have EW been damaged?. Yes, they have been misinformed. Would EW be held to account for not protecting themselves?. I can't see why. How could South have disclosed the propensity of his partner to forget conventions if not asked? Is NS supposed to mark their convention card. "** Warning *** North often forgets conventions?" What NS are supposed to do is to remember their conventions, or else expect to get ruled against on the basis of this regulation. How would I rule? (EW had 4 Spades on but a 3 Spade bid by East would have been supporting hearts - West didn't want to bid Spades as it looked as if there was bad distribution around (Spades 4-5-4-0)) Is a suitable ruling NS were playing 1H : 3C as Either Clubs or Spades and Diamonds? (Which I believe is illegal at level 4 BB 7E2)Yes, that seems to me to be what we envisaged with this regulation. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
barmar Posted March 8, 2016 Report Share Posted March 8, 2016 Is NS supposed to mark their convention card. "** Warning *** North often forgets conventions?"You're not supposed to play conventions that you often forget. We're only human, so mistakes happen, but if they happen often enough that you have to ask the above question, you need to fix the root cause, not disclose it. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
blackshoe Posted March 8, 2016 Report Share Posted March 8, 2016 Have EW been damaged?The answer to that question cannot be determined until the hand is over. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
robert2734 Posted March 8, 2016 Report Share Posted March 8, 2016 You're not supposed to play conventions that you often forget. My partners make me play conventions I don't know. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Join the conversation
You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.