axman Posted March 24, 2016 Report Share Posted March 24, 2016 I wouldn't define it by comparing apples and oranges either, and if you're saying I did that I'd like to know how you come to that conclusion. As for your definition, it's unclear, to start with, too wordy, and contains stuff which has nothing to do with a definition to boot. Maybe a soliloquy is in order. Consider a generic example: W1H-2S-3H-*PP - 3S-P -P4H-P -P - XPPP 1H= 5+H, if balanced 2.5+QT2S= preemptive, does not promise (or deny) forward going strength3H= invitational values in hearts (no assertion of speed bid causing tempo break)* = pause of 3-4s (normal tempo of .5s)3S= not defined by system After play W asserts 3S was an infraction given that the pause of S suggests that he has working values, and after N's preempt N would have no reason to act again absent UI (indeed, N's hand suggests that it could be disastrous to reopen; and south- spades and hearts, and honors that he needn't have had for his bidding). It is reasonable, upon verification of the efficacy of the assertion, to conclude that 3S was an infraction having the consequence of preventing the other side from declaring 3H. In other words, the expectation prior to the infraction was 3HW compared to the expectation after the infraction of 3SN. The difference is damage. For this hand the limit of the cards was 2S. Which is to say that the expected outcome of the hand absent the infraction was 3H-1. After the infraction the expectation was 3S-1. Therefore, the infraction had the effect of breaking the connection to its damage. The principle of continuity states that once the connection to damage is broken it remains broken (it does not matter if it is broken by the NOS or the OS). The connection having been broken, there is no expectation of a score adjustment; notably, west's judgment (also known as his bidding system) to carry on merely results in a score that is earned, however painful that may be when he achieves his 8 tricks. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
barmar Posted March 24, 2016 Report Share Posted March 24, 2016 The Laws currently make an exception when the NOS causes their own damage due to SEWOG. So if the 4♥ call were considered to fall into that criteria, we'd say that they broke the connection to the infraction. But by limiting the exception to just SEWOG, the Lawmakers clearly indicated that the NOS is indemnified against lesser errors after an infraction. If West believes North's bid, which suggests that he had an unusual hand for his original WJO, he could be excused for taking this phantom sacrifice. And absent the infraction, he never would have been in the position to make this error. That's why damage is defined the way it is. Also, I suspect that trying to compare two hypothetical results may be a bit too abstract for most directors. It's much more tractable if you take the actual result as given, and only have to imagine the hypothetical result without the infraction. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fluffy Posted March 25, 2016 Report Share Posted March 25, 2016 I Always theough the card play didn't start untill a lead was made. And I didn't see West nor East make an opening lead. I would treat all cards as exposed during bidding. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zelandakh Posted March 25, 2016 Report Share Posted March 25, 2016 I would treat all cards as exposed during bidding.Technically they have been exposed during the clarification period, which is the part of the auction period between the end of the auction and the beginning of the play period. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fluffy Posted March 25, 2016 Report Share Posted March 25, 2016 Technically they have been exposed during the clarification period, which is the part of the auction period between the end of the auction and the beginning of the play period.I am a bit rusty on rules, but you could also argue the 3♥ bidder never passed 3♠. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Join the conversation
You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.