jillybean Posted January 4, 2016 Report Share Posted January 4, 2016 [hv=pc=n&s=s95hkdjt9cakj6432&w=s7hqjt876d7632cqt&n=sjt643h532dakq85c&e=sakq82ha94d4c9875&d=e&v=e&b=6&a=1s2cp2dp3cppdp4hppp]399|300[/hv] I had a great time playing JEC today, I thought we were quite competitive other than a couple of oops. Here's one of them, I'm north, We play negative free bids so a direct 2♦/2♣ shows a hand happy to play in 2♦, double is a standard negative double or a strong hand.With a bad hand and a void in partners suit, I chose the weaker 2♦ bid. At the other table, S supported diamonds, bid 4 nt over E/W 4♥ bid and played 5♦-3. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
manudude03 Posted January 4, 2016 Report Share Posted January 4, 2016 Do negative free bids allow you to double your partner? Anyway, I think 2D is normal, regardless of how you play it (assuming natural). Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
mike777 Posted January 4, 2016 Report Share Posted January 4, 2016 1) neg free bids do not apply when pard overcalls. you cannot make a double. Perhaps you mean 2d was constructive but nf.2) your 2d was fine3) pard forget to show support. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
jillybean Posted January 4, 2016 Author Report Share Posted January 4, 2016 Ignore NFB, mixing this hand up with another I'd just discussed. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
rmnka447 Posted January 4, 2016 Report Share Posted January 4, 2016 I think 2 ♦ is OK. I agree that South should rise to 3 ♦. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
gszes Posted January 4, 2016 Report Share Posted January 4, 2016 so what happened after club ACE followed by a small club for N to ruff (preventing a later ruffing finesse against you club J) and p innocently trying to cash the dia AK (never suspecting you would hide support from them)? did declarer try to finesse N for the heart K or just play for the drop I am curious? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
neilkaz Posted January 4, 2016 Report Share Posted January 4, 2016 so what happened after club ACE followed by a small club for N to ruff (preventing a later ruffing finesse against you club J) and p innocently trying to cash the dia AK (never suspecting you would hide support from them)? did declarer try to finesse N for the heart K or just play for the drop I am curious? Declarer might likely get it right and play for the drop noting that there was an overcall and rebid rather than a preemptive 3♣ direct bid. 5♦ wasn't doubled at the other table? Ouch! Here I raise 2♦ to 3♦ rather than rebidding my ♣ as south. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
BillPatch Posted January 5, 2016 Report Share Posted January 5, 2016 so what happened after club ACE followed by a small club for N to ruff (preventing a later ruffing finesse against you club J) and p innocently trying to cash the dia AK (never suspecting you would hide support from them)? did declarer try to finesse N for the heart K or just play for the drop I am curious? Since the proposed line of play requires a lead out of turn we should not accept it, by Ockham's rule we can assume it did not happen that way. Even if one doesn't see that advancer was on lead in 4 hearts; the coloring in the heading over his hand indicates that he is on play. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts