Jump to content

Missing Alert


phoenix214

Recommended Posts

Question about missing alert:

By local alert regulations players must alert 1N, if they have 5M.

Playing the following hand:[hv=pc=n&s=sqj92h75dakqj76c9&w=sak654hkqtd53cat3&n=s8ha986432d42cqj6&e=st73hjdt98ck87542&d=w&v=e&b=16&a=1n3hp4hdppp&p=s3sjsks8cac6c2c9sah2s7s2cjc4h5c3s9s4h3stcqc5h7ctdad3d2d8dkd5d4]399|300[/hv]

Arriving at the following situation, I have a choice to go to hand by diamond or spade - from the play it is likely that spades split 5-3, although from not having the alert I figure they are 4-4, and I do have small making chances if the H are 2-2, alternatively I can go for a diamond for down 1.

What I am curious for is do I have protection from the law on the case spades are as they are(Taking into account that there has to be alert if 1N can contain 5M.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

it depends. if west opened 1nt anti-systemically, then it's in the same category as a psyche. tough luck to you.

 

if 1nt is their normal opening on this hand, east should have alerted and you've been misinformed and you're in principle entitled to redress.

 

by the way, this regulation is a bit pathetic. but pathetic regulations are still regulations.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

I hope you should have written:

By local alert regulations players must alert 1N, if according to their partnership understandings they can have 5M.

because what you wrote is actually meaningless, such a regulation would be illegal (sorry!).

 

But I doubt whether you should have protection if you select to play for the spades breaking 4-4 in spite of the missing alert.

1: You write that from the play it is likely that spades split 5-3,

and

2: Why not just ask if the 1NT opening bid should have been alerted?

 

I would most likely rule that failing to ask for possible misinformation and then play for the spades 4-4 is attempting a "double shot".

 

(And if the partnership understanding is indeed no 5M with a 1N opening bid then there is no misinformation here, just a misbid)

Link to comment
Share on other sites

@Wank - I honestly find the local regulations silly as they are, but the point is - if there is one, then we all are equal under the rule.

 

@pran - As I side note I have been bumed in a similar situation as 1N bidder in a different situation with a similar idea, that I had a shape, I should not have, and it could have made a difference, that time it was in Europian Youth Championships - Figure the TD knows what he was doing at the time.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Ruff 1 club, play a heart to the ace followed by diamonds is the called for line of play after the double so I think the result was self inflicted. Either that or ruff the 2nd spade and lead a low heart if you really think the hearts may be 2-2.

 

You may have been damaged under other circumstances but I can't save you from an unfortunate line of play that has no bearing on the spade split.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

What am I missing? After ruffing a club, cash Q pitching remaining club, then A and a heart. I would be embarrassed to call the director after the original line of play. On the original line of play, why not ask opponents if 5 card major is possible (even though there wasn't an alert) before making a decision?
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Loading...
×
×
  • Create New...