Laird Posted March 31, 2005 Report Share Posted March 31, 2005 Hello all A situation arose at local club where my partner made a bid out of turn... how should this be reolved please? Partner placed stop card on table, and before she made her bid lho told her it was not her bid... How should this be resolved as I had received partial information but not full knowledge of bid ? It was really my turn to open the bidding ? Thanks John Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rebound Posted April 1, 2005 Report Share Posted April 1, 2005 There are actually several options, all of them belonging to the opponents lol. Mind you, they apply when partner has made a call... I really have no idea if putting down a stop card means partner should complete the action with a call. In any event, here are the options: 1. Your partner's LHO may accept the call, in which case the auction proceeds as normal. Otherwise, it goes back to being your turn to bed, then:When a player has bid out of rotation (and the bid is canceled, as the option to accept the bid has not been exercised - see Law 29): A. RHO's Turn When the offender has bid (or has passed partner's call when it is a convention, in which case section A2(:) applies) at his RHO's turn to call, then: 1. RHO Passes If that opponent passes, offender must repeat the call out of rotation, and when that call is legal there is no penalty. 2. RHO Acts If that opponent makes a legal bid, double or redouble, offender may make any legal call; when this call (a) Repeats Denomination repeats the denomination of his bid out of rotation, (penalty) offender's partner must pass when next it is his turn to call (see Law 23). (B) Does Not Repeat Denomination does not repeat the denomination of his bid out of rotation, the lead penalties of Law 26 may apply, and (penalty) offender's partner must pass whenever it is his turn to call (see Law 23). B. Partner's or LHO's Turn When the offender has bid at his partner's turn to call, or at his LHO's turn to call if the offender has not previously called , (penalty) offender's partner must pass whenever it is his turn to call (see Law 23 when the pass damages the non-offending side), and the lead penalties of Law 26 may apply. -------------------------------------------------------------------------------- An illegal call by RHO is penalized as usual. Later bids at LHO's turn to call are treated as changes of call, and Law 25 applies. The upshot of all this, is that if putting down the stop card constitutes a bid out of turn (and i feel that it should), then you are barred from the auction but your partner can bid anything. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Echognome Posted April 1, 2005 Report Share Posted April 1, 2005 There was a discussion about this topic on bridgetalk, but I can't find the post in the few minutes I looked for it. I believe this is simply an incomplete call. I think the ruling is that the original dealer (whoever that is) bids as normal and that the 'Stop' part of the bid is UI to offenders. Otherwise, it carries on as normal. Someone can correct me if that's wrong. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
MickyB Posted April 1, 2005 Report Share Posted April 1, 2005 Alternatively, someone can agree with you if you are right - stop is not a call. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
helene_t Posted April 1, 2005 Report Share Posted April 1, 2005 I think Echognome is correct. The same question was raised to Marc van Beijsterveld in the Dutch "Bridge" monthly, and the same answer was given. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
mycroft Posted April 1, 2005 Report Share Posted April 1, 2005 To agree with other posters..."Stop" is no more a call than "One..." It is, however, UI to partner (actually, the Stop card is considered UI to partner if it is used inconsistently (or perhaps, very consistently..."stop" bid is weak, bid is strong - yes, I have seen this)). Especially if you get 1S-Stop - oops - 2H or the like (or the one that I did - Stop 1H - I had forgotten until the stop card was out that I'd agreed 2H was Flannery). Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Laird Posted April 1, 2005 Author Report Share Posted April 1, 2005 Hello all thanks for your replies... The way our TD(several in fact ) decided to resolve the dilema was to ask my partner to complete her bid lho then didnt accept and in the interests of keeping the club functioning an average was assigned... probably to the offenders advantage as she bid 'stop 2nt' ,,, as that was all that could be made as others failed in 3nt attempt... Still not sure if this is a correct ruling? As one responder mentioned. ''saying ; stop' as being no different to saying 1... does not seem to be correct either? What if it had been 2,or 3 or 4 or some other such number 6 even... ? kind regards John Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Join the conversation
You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.